We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in central Melk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location in central Melk”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were traveling to Vienna and spent the night in Melk. The hotel was in an ideal location in Melk. A plus was the fact that the hotel's restaurant was excellent and appeared to be the busiest restaurant (by far) in town. The food was excellent. Our room was spacious and we stayed in a typical room with a double bed. After staying in Salzburg and Hallstaat, we were surprised at how large our room was. We had a second floor room and our windows framed the abbey perfectly. Loved the rain shower. The only downside to the room was we were not able to find the air conditioning, but the hotel had placed a fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    72
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
43
109
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stumbled upon the Hotel zur Post after deciding that the village where we booked an apartment was too sleepy for us. I had no idea that we had just found the number one hotel in town according to TA. We stayed for two nights in the Barock Suite. It was a little cramped for the four of us, but there wasn't anything else available and they willingly made up a second bed for the kids to sleep on. The room has been recently reconstructed and was of top quality. The only complaint about the room itself was that the poor design of the shower glass (it led to easy flooding if not positioned just right). The wifi was very strong and reliable, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly, and the view from our room was amazing. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant, but I will review the restaurant separately.

The thing that left the strongest impression on me, however, was the breakfast. Hotels often neglect breakfast, which is stupid because it is the last impression that the hotel can leave on a guest. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels in my life and I cannot think of a single one with a better breakfast. Eggs done just right, crispy bacon, fresh fruit salad, tasty pastries, a wide selection of high-quality teas, homemade jams, gluten-free bread on request, real 100% juices, etc., etc., etc. Amazing!

The only negatives about staying at this hotel are three things that they cannot control: 1) the bells from the abbey, which ring loudly and frequently throughout the night (especially Saturday night to Sunday), 2) the construction on the main square in front of the hotel (should be finished by September 2014) and 3) the mosquitos, which come from the nearby stagnant water of the Donauarm. Perhaps the hotel could put screens on the windows so you could open them without letting in the mozzies, or they could provide earplugs to the guests.

Otherwise, a perfect hotel in a nice, quaint town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, don't stay in a room at the front of the hotel unless you bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel, our room, the location, the view, the staff, everything was amazing! Located in the heart of beautiful Melk, with breathtaking views of the Abbey and cobblestone streets lined with quaint shops and restaurants. it was like a fairly tale. Our room, the Marille Suite was large, clean, and quiet with a fantastic view of the street and the Abbey! The breakfasts and restaurant were both excellent! Melk is one hour away from Vienna, easily accessible by train, and a beautiful bike ride away from wine-tasting in the picturesque Wachau Valley.The hotel even provided us with bicycles! The entire staff was very welcoming and friendly and did everything possible to make this a very memorable and wonderful 3 day stay! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Marille Suite was large, roomy, and had amazing views of Melk Abbey and the cobblestone street below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropiCal303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkans
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Chance find on a trans Europe Bike trip. Found last minute on booking dot com. Wasn't expecting too much as all I wanted was a bed for the night! On arrival very pleasantly surprised.
Great position in the Centre of Melk over looking the Monastery.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Garaged parking very close by.
Room was comfortable and very clean. As was the en-suite bathroom.
Dinner in the restaurant was superb as was the service. Following morning I enjoyed a plentiful breakfast with unhurried attentive service. Wished I could've stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the property overlooking the Monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our room was comfortable and extremely clean. We were in the front and had a spectacular view - particularly at night - of the Abbey. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and we also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solnaphiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Room was really nice. The staff were friendly and helpfull and the breakfast was very good with nice variety for a buffet. We only stayed the one night and even though it was raining we couldn't fault the hotel. The main attraction in the town is the abbey but we decided not to go in the rain. Other than that there's not much else going on in the town.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and was nice and quiet. Buffet breakfast was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Hotel Restaurant zur Post is a nice, ideally located hotel in Melk, an easy walk to everything. The rooms are basic, but nice and clean. We loved the food and atmosphere at the Poststüberl. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveFromBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melk
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stadt Melk
Hotel Stadt Melk
#3 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#2 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
17.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#2 of 4 in Durnstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant zur Post

Property: Hotel Restaurant zur Post
Address: Linzer Strasse 1, Melk 3390, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Melk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant zur Post 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zur Post

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing