We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little B&B”
Review of Haus Lidy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haus Lidy
Ranked #7 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely little B&B”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Room was clean, homely and a reasonable size. It is a little out of town, 10-15min walk into town, which I think would be lovely in good weather. Unfortunately we were there in the middle of winter and it didn't stop raining/snowing. Lidy was lovely and served a good breakfast including eggs, bread, cheese, cold meats and jam. We had a private bathroom (there are three rooms and the other two rooms share a bathroom). The room had a large flat screen TV, a table, lots of cupboards and a balcony. Great sleep, although the pillows were a bit thin (this seemed to be a consistent problem in Austria). I'd definitely recommend it as a great B&B to stay whilst in Hallstatt.

Room Tip: There are three rooms, I think only one has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

What a gem! It was extremely reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our accommodations. Our room was upstairs. It had two bunk-beds and a double bed, a large en-suite bathroom, and a nice private balcony with a lovely view. The room was very clean. There was ample parking on the house ground. Lidy was our host. She was personable, wonderful and very helpful about getting around in Hallstatt. She spoke good English. Her breakfast and coffee was great! It was a nice ten minute walk to the centre of town. The lake is in the centre of town and it is so tranquil and beautiful. The town had nice shops, restaurants, churches. We visited the Bone Chapel and found it very interesting! It was a short drive to the Ice Caves and 5 Finger Lookout and we highly recommend this! The cable car ride to see these attractions is fantastic! We stayed in Hallstatt for two nites but wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eringobragh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My friend and I stayed in this guesthouse earlier this month for 2 nights. Hallstatt is a small village with not much going on at night in the city. though our room was not too big, it was cozy & comfy enough for us to stay in after dinner time.

ROOM: It was clean, neat and well decorated. Our room has a big double bed facing to a sky window on the roof (with curtain) and a big flat TV on the opposite wall. Around the bed, there is a little cute wooden table set on one side and a vanity w/mirror on another. All the furniture was laying out so neatly inside the room without taking up too much spaces for us to move around.

BATHROOM: it was a little bit small with only 20 minutes supply of hot water.

BALCONY: Another set of table and chairs were set on the balcony. The mountain view from the balcony was gorgeous and stunning. We spent a night having our take-out dinner on the balcony. Though it was a bit cold due to the snow it has a day before, we still enjoyed having our dinner on the balcony with such a beautiful mountain view in front of us.

LOCATION: It is not very close to the town center but still within walking distance.

SERVICE: Lidy, the host, was extremely nice and friendly. Lidy serves her guests tasty & homey breakfast every morning in her beautiful dining room. We enjoyed it so much.

OVERALL: It was a great experience of us being Lidy's guests in her beautiful guesthouse. I would definitely recommend friends to stay in this beautiful guesthouse when they go to visit Hallstatt in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollycToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This was a lovely guesthouse really calm and quiet. The mountain view from the balcony was wonderful. Only 10 minutes walk from downtown and a good starting point for hicking paths. The room was clean and the welcome was warm. The breakfast could have been more consistent. I will not hesitate to go there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laikalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had an amazing stay at Haus Lidy, our room must have been the family room because there was both a bunkbed and a double bed, a large bathroom and an even bigger private balcony with a mountain view. It was situated a couple of minutes from the lake and ten minutes from the centre of the town but this was actually quite nice. It's around the corner from the salt mines so we went the first thing one morning and didn't have to wait in line for tickets. Breakfast was lovely and the coffee was great. Lidy was there if we needed her but respected her guests privacy. The room had extra blankets, a hairdryer and a kettle. No air con, but it wasn't needed even during the hottest days in august since the window in the ceiling caught the cool mountain breeze. All in all, a wonderful stay at a price that is hard to beat in anywhere else in Hallstatt. 

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohannaAndHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Clean, amazing location and views, nice host, quiet - all in all, a rewarding trip.
The only downside was an incredible tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

This was a lovely homely guesthouse with everything youl could ask for....a lovely host, beautiful views from the balcony, large clean room and generous breakfast. We thought this was excellent value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taznben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.7 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gruner Anger
Gruner Anger
#1 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Lidy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Lidy

Property: Haus Lidy
Address: Kohlstattweg 186, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing