We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful oasis in Hallstatt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haus Trausner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haus Trausner
Ranked #8 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in Hallstatt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

As mentioned in numerous other reviews, this is a lovely, quaint little B&B located very close to the main pedestrian walkway. It is also very close to the funicular which runs up to the salt mines attraction. The room was spacious and comfortable and we shared a toilet with one other room. The breakfast was okay by American standards but, very typical of European tastes. The coffee was exceptional! The B&B does not offer wifi but, Hallstatt is a place best enjoyed by disconnecting from the outside world and experiencing it's natural beauty! We drove over to Obertraun and hiked up to Wasserfall for an amazing view of the lake and surrounding mountains! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Maria is a terrific host. She's very welcoming and would do anything to make sure your stay is comfortable. The house was close to the bus stop/supermarket, just a 2-3 minutes walk. It's well-maintained, extremely clean and decorated with good taste. I love the signs she hung on the doors. The bed and pillow were comfy too. Our room was on the top floor. There's shower in our room which is a little bit strange but we have no problem at all. The toilet is shared but it's always clean. There's a wash basin in our room too. I was surprised to find a TV though! Really useful to check the weather and see what's going on in the world while we're travelling; and provided some late night entertainment of course (: There's a large cabinet and a table so you have plenty of room to put your stuff. I always enjoyed sitting by the huge window listening to the sound of birds and looking at the mountains.
I stayed for three nights and was really lucky to experience sunny weather most of the time, so breakfast was always served in the garden except the last day in our room as it was raining. The breakfast is sumptuous, with bread, jam, a selection of ham and cheese, coffee, sometimes yogurt or fruits. What's best though, was to have breakfast in the sun overlooking the surrounding mountains and beautiful houses. You wouldn't want to leave.
Oh, there's also a refrigerator and a kettle by the stairs landing to be shared by two rooms. We found it very useful when it comes to snacking (instant noodles/quick oats).
There's no wifi provided but this gave me a chance to do some reading and diary writing. If you do need Wifi, you can use the one by the Heritage Hotel. It's close to the church, just in front of the ferry landing. No password is needed and I think this is the only free Wifi in Hallstatt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-fun-ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned today from trip to Germany and Austria. Hallstatt was our last stop. Maria was the kindest person we met in all our travels. Many hosts will put on a happy face to greet you, but you know it's just business. Maria is different . . . she is a truly gracious, kind and caring person, and is interested in who you are and making your stay in Hallstatt more fun. I agree with every positive review on this site. I would highly recommend this b&b. If visiting in the summer, you'll want the window open (no air conditioning). Request the room on the "back yard" side of the house. The room on the road side will have road noise all night with the window open. There is no wifi here, but if you sit right outside the ticket booth for the funicular to the salt mine (5 minutes away) there is "free" wifi. This information courtesy of my wifi-addicted 16 year-old daughter! Laundry can be done self-served in a market in the old town, or at the campground a 5-minute walk to the left from Maria's for 8 euros a load.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phrogbubba .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Haus Trausner was a lovely B&B in Hallstatt. It was a little hard to find at first; we walked right past it! But, we were glad we made the effort. (From the boat into Hallstatt, you turn left down the lane and walk about 10 minutes. Soon after passing the information center the road splits, and you take the right split. Trausner is a lovely yellow home on the left side of the road.)

It is just far enough out of the main part of the small town that you feel you have a little quiet oasis, but you obviously are seconds away from everything. There is a SPAR grocery market within a few minutes walking of your room. Right down the street at the campground office there is a woman who will do a load of laundry for you for about eight euro, a Godsend for one who has been living out of a suitcase for weeks and is beginning to wonder if their togs are getting a rather earthy smell. Turn right out of the house and you go into town. Turn left from the house and past the campground, up the hill to the tiny, tiny church, you'll find some quiet, beautiful walking trails that most people don't find.

The room itself is spacious and airy, quite lovely. You really feel the hominess of it. Beds are comfortable, firm and have the standard feather pillows and duvet you'll see in most German and Austrian B&Bs and hotels. Windows are double insulated, so if they are closed you won't hear a peep from outside and can enjoy a very quiet nights sleep. If you asked for an en suite shower, be aware that by "in room" it means you have a shower stall right next to your bed. If you don't know your travel mates intimately, you will soon! The bathroom is right in the hall, but I didn't once have to wait for my turn.

Breakfast is served right in your room, with plenty of coffee, cold cuts, cheeses. Very pleasantly brought up by your cheerful host to your own breakfast table. That was a nice treat on a rainy day.

The host is the most cheerful woman you'll ever wish to meet. It would be impossible to dislike her, she's so friendly! The B&B is run rather casually, though, with no front desk and with the host often not in. When we first arrived, there was nobody there to check us in and we stood around unsure if we were in the right place for several minutes before she rode merrily up on her bicycle with a happy, "hello, hello!" If you do have her attention, though, she'll do everything in her power to see that you are happy.

Haus Trausner is a wonderful choice for your stay in Hallstatt. Don't pass this lovely B&B up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a wonderful time at this cosy bed and breakfast, even though the weather was disappointing. We had a nice view out of the window and breakfast was substantial. The owner could not do enough for us to ensure that we got the most out of our stay, including bringing afternoon tea to our room one rainy day! She even posted my sunglasses back to the uk after I left them in the room, which is above the call of duty! She was knowledgeable about the local area and helped us to plan our time. She was also very accommodating of an allergy to feathers, sourcing alternative bedding for me for the duration of the trip. The room was spacious, although it did feel a little odd having a shower in the room itself. The property was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruthii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is very nice, cosy haus!!! We had two nights in Haus Trausner. Maria was very friendly and kind to us!! We had two rooms with shared toilet (between these two rooms). The owner is joiner, so all furniture was made from wood and with a good taste. Rooms were amazingly comfortable and cosy - we felt like we're at home!! Breakfast was good and served in our rooms (if it's a good weather - Maria served it in the garden). There were nice views from rooms - one on the street and one on the garden. Also in the Haus was the balcony. Haus is very clean! We had an excellent time in Haus Trausner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenkaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

All the reviews here are true. Maria is warm but not intrusive, very laid back but the place is spotlessly clean and well maintained. How she runs this place I have no idea. It's a ten minute walk left when you get off the boat, near the bus terminal and the police station. A wonderful park is nearby that the kids will love.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hallstatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bergfried Gasthof
Bergfried Gasthof
#7 of 16 in Hallstatt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gruner Anger
Gruner Anger
#1 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Trausner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Trausner

Property: Haus Trausner
Address: Lahnstrasse 27, Hallstatt, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing