We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely atmospheric small family run hotel with wonderful service in a fabulous location”
Review of Gasthof Hirlatz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Hirlatz
Ranked #10 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This small family run hotel is thoroughly recommended. It is situated down a narrow lane, alongside a rushing river, in the shadow of some spectacular mountains. Although the hotel has no lake views and is around 15 minutes walk to the lakeside and further to the centre of the village, we soon realised that the peace and quiet and the spectacular scenery more than made up for this.

We had a junior suite which comprised two rooms with a separate toilet and bathroom (so 4 rooms in all). The rooms were light and spacious with modern decor and lots of storage space. There was a fridge with a min bar. Our breakfast was excellent with a wide range of juices, hot drinks, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruits, breads, seeds etc. Six different home made jams were also available each day. There is a garden area for outside eating and drinking. The best part of the holiday, however, was the service. The family who run the hotel were friendly, helpful and extremely pleasant. They run off a daily news sheet with recommendations for sight seeing, a "saying of the day", weather forecast etc. We had dinner a couple of times - the menu was good with several vegetarian choices. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheProf1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Gasthof Hirlatz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

Stopped in Hallsy in the middle of a fast paced 8 country in 3 week tour of Europe. It was a much needed change of pace. Altough the Hirlatz was a bit farther from town than I had expected, It was worth the walk. The entire facility was clean and the staff was friendly. Our room was on an upper floor on the rear of the building. I sat on the back deck writing for hours while watching the clouds roll across the mountain tops. As the picture implies, there is nothing behind the Hirlatz other than tree, rock and sky. It was an inspiring setting. The beds were comfortable and the restaraunt had a delicious vegatable strudel. I would defintely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DistrictSelectman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

A clean, somewhat remote, family run B&B with a full-service restaurant...set up in the Lahn valley about a ten minute walk from the lake. The restaurant was little used..but this was off season.

Three floors...no lift, with standard amenities and spacious, quiet, comfortable rooms.
Easy access, free parking. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was standard offering.

This is simply a very good value B&B in this lovely remote and expensive lakes area location. Nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Truely fabulous place. Rooms and facilities just as their website portrays.
We stayed in Jnr Suite that had mountain views from all windows and our balcony. The breakfast was excellent. They have a restuarant that is great. We took up the option of 1/2 board. This was breakfast and a 4 couse meal at night. This included an appetizer, soup and a choice of main meal, then dessert. This was amazing as all up 53 euro per night per person for everything. They are very helpful and in a beatiful spot not far from cable car upto salt mines ( which is well worth a visit ).
You can drive to here or catch train that a ferry meets and takes you across the lake to this beautful village. From the ferry it is about 7 mins walk to the real centre of town and another 7 mins to Gusthof Hiraltz. A taxi is 10 euro. We walked. You can walk eveywhere here, just ask them to send the instructions if you are going to walk as we did from the ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latefourties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Silke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chiara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#3 of 16 in Hallstatt
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bergfried Gasthof
Bergfried Gasthof
#4 of 16 in Hallstatt
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirlatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirlatz

Address: Malerweg 125, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range: £96 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirlatz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Hirlatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing