We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Bergfried Gasthof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bergfried Gasthof
Ranked #4 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

So for the price it was okay. We don't have crazy high standards but I probably wouldn't stay here again. Service was good, the rooms were a good size, really good location but it was pretty tired decor - I can see they are in the process of changing things in the rooms, parts looked older parts were newer. Breakfast wasn't great - but it was super cheap.

I think pretty much here - you get what you pay for. It's cheap and fine if you arent planning on spending lots of time in your room.

On the second morning we went to the bakery/cafe just at the entrance to the main part - it was AMAZING, lovely coffee, gorgeous pastries and food - I would suggest skipping the breakfast at Bergfried and going here instead, truly lovely food and similar price as what you pay at the hotel.

It's fine, nothing fancy, nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    51
    54
    12
    3
See reviews for
22
81
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found the Gasthof Bergfried to be very good value for money. It is a basic hotel but is situated in an excellent location, just a short walk from the salt mines, lakeside and village centre, making it an ideal base to explore Hallstatt from. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and offered a basic but good quality selection of food. There was ample free parking available during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel was excellently located, just at the edge of the old town & close to the waterfall walk & salt mine. This hotel is also closest to the best vantage point for the iconic photo of Hallstatt. The hotel was clean, quiet & comfortable & the breakfast was good value & having free parking was a bonus.

Room Tip: Be ready to turn hard right as soon as you exit the tunnel. The waterfall walk is well worth doing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hotel was nice and clean
Receptionist was helpful with local attraction maps directions.Parking was FREE
Our room had a lovely balcony that looked over the hills.
Breakfast is available for a minimum charge 5 Euro .
I would suggest that they (hotel staff), at the time of check in, tell you that your room number is the number on the breakfast table you are to sit at the next morning. (The host seemed a but frustrated at a few of us that were unaware)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verlajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was our 4-days holiday for skiing.
The Gasthof is very nice, clean. The biggest advantage is very kind personal.
We recommend it for the family with children. The city is very very nice, we hope in all the weather during the whole year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichalPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a simple pension / Bed & Breakfast where I think it is fair to say you get what you pay for. As this is not expensive then.... Not bad location for the Dachstein West ski resorts, close to the lake and a short walk to the centre of Hallstatt. Pretty much nothing to do in the evening (December).

Staff were friendly enough - particularly Anka (?), room was a decent size - a bit dated but ok. Struggled to get the room very warm and the pillows were strangely very small.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed one night while traveling though the area. This guest house was cheap, clean and in a great location. Me and 3 friends rented a two bedroom suite for about 40euro each, which included a simple all you can eat breakfast. The room had an amazing view despite the receptionist saying all the good views were taken.

I want to be clear this is not a five star resort. It was a very good option for us but is not luxurious. Great for a traveler on a budget.

The town clears out at night and most everything closes down. Except for a few bars and a swarma stand, that is recommended by this traveler

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLPayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
133 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#3 of 16 in Hallstatt
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergfried Gasthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergfried Gasthof

Property: Bergfried Gasthof
Address: Echerntalweg 3, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bergfried Gasthof 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Bergfried Gasthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing