We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Museum Hallstatt
from US$838.39
More Info
from US$537.49
More Info
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
94
72
22
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
72
22
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

A well laid out and interesting museum.

A wide range of languages were catered for in the written material, and there were plenty of interactive exhibits.

It's not cheap, but is worth it, especially if you are curious why on Earth Hallstatt is a World Heritage site.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Who would expect so much history in this one little lakeside Austrian town. This museum was excellent, and very well done, and well worth the nominal entrance fee. When visiting Hallstat, make the time to visit this museum. It really gives historical context to the whole visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Lots of exhibits. Cards in English. Good movie explanations. Easy to find. We'll laid out and understandable.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank tdsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We didn't expect all that much from a museum about salt mining in a small town. What a surprise! It's well-done and full of information with interactive exhibits that should put many big-city museums to shame. Fortunately, we went the day before our tour of the salt mine, so we were well-prepared for what we saw the next day. We now appreciate and understand so much about the importance of the Hallstatt region. So glad we didn't skip it.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We probably would not have gone to this museum if it hadn't been recommended in one of Rick Steves' travel guides. Small town museums are usually not that good and who wants to be inside a museum when visiting beautiful Hallstatt?

What a surprise! Excellent museum, well thought out and well laid out. Very interesting history of the town and the salt mines. We actually went to this museum the day before the salt mine tour and we're so glad we did. Put this on your "must see" list if you are going to visit Hallstatt.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank jeanb1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews