We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!!!”
Review of Haus Gummerer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haus Gummerer
Ranked #11 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I'll begin by warning anyone unable to climb numerous steps with their luggage to stay elsewhere. That said, we had heavy bags for our two week Austria trip and arrived in the rain. We had no idea how difficult those steps would be, both outside and then inside of the house. Luckily we were able to temporarily leave our car in the narrow main (and only) street below the haus and make three trips up and down all of those steps with our bags. DO NOT LET THAT SCARE YOU AWAY. Once in your room, you are in a comfy little slice of heaven. This is a VERY special place to stay and I would not stay anywhere else in beautiful Halstatt.

We have been lucky enough to have stayed at some of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Haus Gummerer is NOT a luxurious experience, In fact, we shared a toilet (though we had our own private bathroom) with the other room on our floor. Still, we will remember Haus Gummerer as one of our absolute favorites.

As the others have commented, AnneMarie is fantastic. She is just one of those people who you like immediately. She was helpful with advise and fun to talk to about the town's (and the house's) history. Her husband (I am embarassed I forgot his name) is equally likeable, though he speaks almost zero english. The day we left, he and his friend poured my boyfriend and me some homemade pine nut liquor and drank with us. It turned out to be a highlight of the trip. We laughed hard and had a conversation although we didn't speak each other's languages.

Another highlight of our stay was breakfast each day. Was the food cooked to order? No. Did we care? Not when sitting in that small stunning breakfast room with only a single table, surrounded by windows overlooking the lake, drinking fine coffee and eating the simple breakfast. We could have sat there forever. I'll post a few photos of the view. We had almost the same view from our room's private balcony! It rained the entire time we were there so we didn't get to use it. We also determined that Halstaat is equally gorgeous in the rain. We took the ferry trips, enjoyed walking around town, and enjoyed the salt mine tour, all in the rain but it was all still great.

I hope someday we are able to return to Halsatt and Haus Gummerer. Until then, we'll just dream of the lake and the lovely little guesthouse where we were fortunate enough to spend two glorious, cozy nights.

Room Tip: I think there are only 2 rooms. We asked for ta room with private balcony and our balcony was magif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freebirdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This B&B is an absolute GEM!!! Just a dream come true for our stay in Hallstatt. Perfectly friendly and helpful hostess and the coziest, most comfortable beds we slept in on out 2 week trip through Europe. I am not sure which room we stayed in but I will post pictures at a later time. Our room had a small balcony that had stunning views. The shower and sink was in the room but toliet was directly next door. I was actually nervous about this arrangement but it was no different than if it were in the room with me really. I am already dreaming of returning with my husband and now that I am pregnant with our little one. The room was HUGE and the breakfast perfectly filling and fresh!

Room Tip: I am not sure which room we stayed in but it had a small balcony and the room was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My girlfriend and I simply cannot rave enough about Annemarie and Haus Gummerer. For starters, Annemarie is an incredible host. She booked a taxi for us when we found out the ferry didn't leave early enough, and she had her friend come and serve us a great breakfast when she had an emergency and was forced to whisk off and babysit her grandson -- a friend who owns a gift shop in town and later gave us free schnapps!

But as wonderful as Annemarie is, her B&B speaks for itself. We came just before the heavy tourist season kicked in and she was able to squeeze us into a double room with a private balcony for 60 Euro when other more-expensive, less-spectacular inns in town had no room.

The B&B is outstanding -- charming and traditional, yet very well-updated and renovated. It's in a perfectly location; just off the ferry and about a 2-minute walk to the center town. It's close enough so that it's in town and far enough to be away from the noise of the bigger inns. It also sits up high, away from the bustle of the street, but still on the water.

If you're going to Hallstatt and this place has room, book it. No matter your budget -- big spender or penny pincher, this B&B is everything you're looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SirWilliamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

If you have no issues with stairs, then this B&B is excellent value for your money in beautiful Hallstatt. The location is ideal, close to but not in the middle of the town core, and it is within walking distance of the boats, museum, cable-car lift, shopping, and many major attractions. Haus Gummerer's setting offers incredible views of Lake Hallstatt from your private deck or bedroom window. It is a family-run hotel whose owners were wonderfully helpful, friendly, and attentive to any requests. Free parking is available, but be aware that it is outside the town core, as is the case for most accommodations in Hallstatt. Over-all, a most enjoyable and memorable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Renate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The location is within 5 minute's walk either from the church or from the bus terminal, yet it is not in the most popular/crowded area in Hallstatt, so it's very quiet in the night to have a good sleep. The room balcony provides spectacular views of Hallstattersee, you can enjoy reading a book at the balcony with a world class view in front of you. The hostess Annemarie is very kind and informative. If you have limited budget but still hope to keep your vacation quality in Hallstatt, this place is definitely a good choice!

Room Tip: Not many rooms in Haus Gummerer, they all have lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Restaurant zum Muhlbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Gummerer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Gummerer

Property: Haus Gummerer
Address: Dr.-Friedrich-Morton-Weg 162, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Gummerer 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing