We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, good rooms, some minor problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Certificate of Excellence
Trikala, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, good rooms, some minor problems.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. Its location is unrivaled, just by the lakeshore. It also has its own private patio where you can sit and have a drink or dinner. Unfortunately, we couldn't find a room with a balcony facing the lake, but our room had a window facing a big part of it. It was an attic type room, but it was very spacious. It also had a big modern bathroom with beautiful black mat tiles, but there weren't any kind of towel hangers in it ! The beds were very good. One word of advice: the hotel has not air conditioning and it may be a problem during hot summer days. Room service was inadequate. The first day they didn't change our towels and the second day they gave us only the bath towels, and not those for the face. There wasn't also a waste basket in the room. Staff was willing but they didn't fix our deposit box as they promised. On the other had they posted an item for me for free. Breakfast room was also facing the lake, offering excelent views. Breakfast buffet was typical for a three star hotel, with good variety and quality. What was spoiling the breakfast were the many flies flying over the buffet and sitting on the food. They should have the food covered with someting. Finally, mixed impressions, but the ideal location and the good rooms certainly take the upper hand. I would go back again hoping for a room with balcony and a breakfast without flies.

Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    169
    46
    26
    21
See reviews for
121
389
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I don't understand why this hotel is only #4 out of 6. There is nothing better. The terrace and the lake view alone worth all the money !!!!!!!! Very clean and authentic hotel in the very center of the town. The lady owner is very welcoming and nice. We were very happy with our two nights stay two years ago. I am still talking about my Hallstatt experience. As a matter of fact I recommended this town and the hotel to our friends who will be traveling to Austria soon and couldn't remember the exact name of the hotel so I turned to TripAdvisor to refresh my memory and saw the rating. (Originally we found this hotel in Rick Steves book). We paid 300.00 USD a night and I think it was a bargain. They have parking next door. To all of those who are traveling from US: Please do not forget it is not Hilton and not Sheraton. This is Europe - please enjoy the beauty of Old Europe and let it charm you!

Room Tip: Room with lake view !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

wonderful hotel!

lake view suite- excellent
buffet breakfast - excellent

only 2 minor complaints-

1. everytime when taking bath the bathroom all wet, due to the only 1/4 glass which cant cover the water fall out from shower bath...
2. its time to fix the door lock for patio

when the time i saw the earlier guest complaining about the lift, the owner has improve with the lift there and the free shuttle service from p1 car park are all in operating..

1 thing, its quite hot weather in early august and this hotel cant find 1 fan in the room....but is ok, i m still enjoying my very private patio...haha...is very big space if you book for junior suit..

there are 2 receptionist,i cant remember the name... but the one always there is very courtesy and helpful, but the other one receptionist (i think part time) like low pay wages or like i owe her lots of money...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Small_BuG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon and took the lake view. The room was great, the bathroom must have been renovated. The balcony was huge and facing the lake and the view is breathtaking. Just sitting there and looking at the view is worth millions. The room was very organized and cleaned everyday. There is no air conditioning and we had to keep the doors closed because of the mosquitoes, so it was pretty hot in the room at night.

The two main things that bothered me were that the bathroom sink was leaning down as if it was going to fall, I did tell them at the reception, but no one came to see it. One of the waiters was very rude to us: he rudely dismissed us when wanting to sit on one of the tables to have lunch (this was the minute we arrived and we were very hungry), the day after, at night we just walked down the terrace to look at the lake and he came rushing out and closed the doors as if telling us to get out. I would have appreciated him saying we are closed now. It was just that one waiter. There was another really nice waiter there (I think he runs their facebook page) and he offered us champagne or any other drink. The two receptionists were very nice as well and helped as much as they could and one of them even gave us a discount for being there on our honeymoon.

The hotel is central, you can't have the car with you so you have to keep it in the parking which costs about 8 Euros for 24 hours. It is best if you come by car because after you walk through Hallstatt and go up the mountain to the salt mines (the hotel gave us a discount for the salt mines), you should have a way of transportation to travel out of it. We took the car and drove around all the lakes.

Hallstatt was my favorite place. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is great, right on the lake. Our room view was on the main square, and there was an event that day with an orchestra, so it made it very special :) We felt like we had special sittings to a concert!
The room is very big, but as previously said there's the minimum: the room has a lot of space so it looks quite empty as there are only a few furniture.
The staff was absolutely lovely, from reception to restaurant. We arrived later than usual and they still accepted to provide us with food (which I didn't find so expensive, 13 or 14€ for a main of pork schnitzel with potatoes is fine). The restaurant view is divine, right on the lake.
The only downsize was the bus shuttle that we had to wait for over half an hour, it's not the hotel's fault as it belongs to the city but just FYI it can take a while to arrive :)

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra bucks book a room with lake view, it must be amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gininou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

As others have said its a super location although we missed out on the lake view rooms and were relieved not to have one overlooking the square as there was a lot of repair work going on as a consequence of the Flash flood. I am happy to report that there is free Wifi and a lift which were both lacking when others visited. The restaurant is superb with great views good food and service ( and prices to match) but we thought it worthwhile paying extra for such good food and the views.

But the room was not up to standard. It had a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom and designer minimalist décor of black tiles and cream walls. I suspect however that his was a designer who never stays in hotels as some basic requirements were lacking. In the bathroom there was nowhere to hang towels or wash bags and very little shelving despite a large empty alcove. In the room itself there was a battered old wardrobe which didn't fit in with the décor no curtains and no bedside lights- these are surely basic requirements.
When mentioned to the charming receptionist she blamed it on the floods saying they hadn't been able to get stuff in due the damage to the road but I note that reports of these deficiencies go back before the flood

We also stayed with Inntravel and hope they will use their influence to get rooms for their clients up to scratch

Room Tip: Go for Lake view rooms if you can afford the extra but check that they are properly equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Beautiful hotel recently redone with clean modern room decor.Rooms are huge by European standards many with balconies looking at lake or market square. Beautiful rustic wood floors covered with persian style rugs.Excellent restaurant with outdoor lakside terrace. Great for meals or cocktails. Lake views are stunning. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. FREE WI-FI in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSD92124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
7.0 mi away
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
#2 of 2 in Bad Aussee
222 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Gruener Baum

Property: Seehotel Gruener Baum
Address: Marktplatz 104, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Gruener Baum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seehotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Gruner Baum Hallstatt
Seehotel Gruner Baum Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing