We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gasthof Simony
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Seewirt Zauner(Hallstatt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Obertrauner Hof(Obertraun)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gjaid Alm(Obertraun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gasthof zur Post(Bad Goisern)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
33
56
33
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
56
33
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squareb bsguest house isprivate bathlake view balconybeautiful lakerestaurant downstairsno air conditioningtop floorgasthofaustriatownclaudia
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Pretty disappointed by this 'guesthouse' which had more of the feel of a student hostel.
The building is old and characterful and the location is wonderful that is true.
But for 105 euros in October one would expect a decent toilet.
The place looks as if nothing has been spent on it in a very long time and if Health and Safety were to visit I think it would be condemned.
They don't take cards or give receipt was given.

Room Tip: Book ahead-somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great stay at Gasthof Simony. The location can’t be beat. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the main square, which is what I requested and they were more than happy to provide. This is a very old and historic building, so the floors and stairs creak a little and the locks are a little giggly.
When looking at the hotel from the square, ours was the top window on the front of the building that has “Gasthof” under it, room #19. The room was very pretty and in good shape. We had a very nice double bed which creaked every time you moved, but it didn’t bother us. There was a couch, a nice table with 2 chairs and an old wardrobe. The bathroom was nice and clean but a little small and a little outdated, there was a shower, single sink, hair dryer and a toliet. We didn’t get our room cleaned one day, not sure why. Probably just a mix up.
We had free wireless internet in the lobby on the main floor, not sure if we even tried it in our room.
We had 4 windows, 3 in the room and 1 in the bathroom. Our windows overlooking the main square were amazing, you could see some very cool things form there, and take some pretty neat pictures.
I do not believe there was an elevator (lift), if that is important to you.
Breakfast was pretty sparse and the line was small and crowed. There was a small assortment of the normal Austrian breakfast fare, with meats, cheeses, breads, cereal, jams, juice.
The staff was friendly, but spoke limited English. But all in all no problems at all.
They do NOT take credit cards for payment, it is cash only, so keep this in mind.
They have a restaurant that they run on the ground floor that was pretty good. They also have outdoor seating on the lake (a nice size biergarten) which was very nice! We didn’t get to eat out there, but did go out and enjoy a bier with the spectacular view of the lake.
They have a bar that is with the restaurant, so since things in Hallstatt close down pretty early, it’s nice to have a place so close to have that last bier!
We would have no problems staying at Gasthof Simony again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room #19 has an excellent view of the town square!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This guest house located in very good area in this lovely town, price was reasonable. View from our room was excellent (room2). Room and bathroom was good but there is some noise when walk, like bed.
The pillows were very thin, the mattress was too soft .
I think this guesthouse need some improvement about room quality.
Service is adequate, but you need to check out before 10am.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a really tough review to write. I am only giving the place 3 stars partly because all the other places we stayed on our trip were so amazing. We had a room at Simony that had a wonderful view and was clean and comfortable. The place is very old and quite a bit run down, That didn't bother us too much - it just felt cozy. The reason for the 3 stars has to do with the atmosphere. The ladies who ran the front desk and breakfast areas were not friendly at all - they actually seemed like they were very unhappy. The breakfast area was really small and crowded and a bit uncomfortable. You couldn't ask about any local attractions etc. All in all not a bad place to stay just a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbpc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a balcony overlooking the beautiful lake, so our overall experience was wonderful. Indeed, the rooms are rustic, but the cozy atmosphere was great. If the weather is good, you can take out canoes, and sit on the shore of the lake, sunbathing. It is in the heart of the little town of Hallstatt. You can hear church bells throughout the day. Wifi is only available in the lobby. The restaurant below was very good, with excellent service. Breakfast at this hotel was just ok, but sufficient.

Room Tip: must get a balcony to enjoy the whole experience.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews