We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most exquisite location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hallstatt, Upper Austria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stacie H
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most exquisite location!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lake Hallstatt is an unbelievable location. We felt like we were stepping back in time. Our family of five - two teenagers and a six-year-old, had wonderful quality time here.
Some things we did that I would recommend: We rented a boat and motored to Obertraun. That was a highlight. The Salt Mine tour was educational and helped us understand the history of the region. Within about 15 minutes of our arrival (by car from Munich - pretty easy drive and very beautiful!) we jumped in the VERY COLD lake for a quick dip. Also: We woke up the first morning in time to see the sunrise over the mountains and we have never seen a more peaceful place on earth!
The house itself is fine - the floors are a little squeaky so I did feel like we had to tip-toe a little since the flat is on the second floor. However, our hostess Ruth was so wonderful and even brought us a homemade cake to eat for breakfast on the second night of our stay.
On Ruth's recommendation we ate twice at Gastof Zauner, down the road.
We would now love to return to Lake Hallstatt in winter! What an extraordinary place!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mornings on the lake
Liked least: Squeaky floors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E V
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nIce house, beautiful view, less privacy”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We are a family, 2 kids ages 9 and 12. The house has a perfect location, wonderful view on the lake. Very comfortable with all essentials.
Nonetheless we do not recommend this house. The landlady is very present all the time. She entered her house through ours. She came complaining about the jumping of our kids; the house has wooden floors, hence we had to walk on our toes. At the last day of our stay she came watering her flowers on our balcony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Panoramic view
Liked least: Landlady
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannonan...
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best vacations of my life!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A lovely home in a gorgeous location with a very kind hostess! Hallstatt is everything we thought it would be and much more and Ruth was wonderful to work with. The house is so comfortable and has everything you will need. We stayed for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Our days were spent hiking and enjoying the stunning view from the deck on the house. Absolutely wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
critternl...
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Some of the best view on earth & a cozy place to stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This adorable home was a 5 minute walk from the ferry drop-off. It was perfect for a relaxing getaway. We only wish we'd spent longer than 2 days here because it was SO beautiful!!! We couldn't stop taking pictures. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredpop...
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Village”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Unit was in a perfect location that took you away from the general tourists that visit Hallstat. It is the most beautiful wee town and has such a stunning view. Visiting the salt mine is a must do & you get a wonderful view of the area.

Unit was fully equip with everything you need ie kitchen facilities and towels, only a couple of downsides, we found the main bed very very hard + you have shared access with the owner who is really lovely and chatty but we were unaware of this when booking so gave us a bit of a fright the first time her and her son popped in as they stayed on the second level while were were staying in the unit. It would have been good to have access to the washing machine but there is a note advising this is out of bounds.

Ruth the owner is lovely and even made us some treats which was really nice :)

Definitely a great area to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of unit
Liked least: Shared access with the owner, would be good to have separate access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
200Mary
Prescott, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was the most beautiful place we stayed during all of our month in Europe!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Hallstatt is now at the top of my list of places in Europe to recommend to my friends, and this lovely home sitting right on the lake was the perfect place to stay! Due to recent flooding in the area, the trains were off schedule and it took us many more hours to get from Munich to Hallstatt than planned. We finally arrived by taxi from a nearby town and were thrilled at the location and comfort of this vacation home. It had everything we needed and the yard and garden were beautiful. It was a quick walk into town and all the activities it offers. We loved the tour of the salt mine and eating at a fabulous restaurant on a terrace overlooking the lake. We'd love to go back and spend more time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and privacy
Liked least: the torrential storm that hit the town the second day we were there!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanling
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment with excellent host”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The apartment is spacious, clean, and very comfortable. It has a well equipped kitchen, so that you can prepare your meals. The apartment faces the lake, which has a very beautiful scenery. Most important of all, the host is superb. She treated us a home-made cherry cake which was very delicious. Due to misunderstood of the ferry schedule and block of rail track, she was so kind to take us to the a small town which was 25 minutes drive from Hallstatt to catch an early train on our day of departure.

I would definitely stay here again and will recommend the apartment to friends traveling to Hallstatt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing