We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Hallstatt!”
Review of Gruner Anger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gruner Anger
Ranked #1 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Hallstatt!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

If you are used to North American service standards, stay here! The owners are extremely polite, helpful and provide a clean environment - which is quite a big difference from the rest of our experience with the locals in Hallstatt (it seems as if you are the biggest burden upon them, even though their economy is based off tourism. Avoid the lady at the gas station in town...). Great breakfast and bikes are available to use free of charge. Overall I am so thankful we were able to stay at such a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    52
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
45
140
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We booked our two night stay last minute. You have to take a ferry across the lake from the train station. The owner picked us up at the dock in a van, which was nice since we didn't know where the hotel was. Hallstatt is not a big town, and the hotel was in a great location, at the end of the Main Street. Breakfast was great and even included eggs. Dinner was fantastic and a great deal for the price (included soup, salad and desert). We even got to borrow the hotel bikes for free!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jendubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room was quite compact, but very well decorated and very clean. There was a fridge on the landing for guests to use, so you could keep drinks etc cool. Breakfast was very good, but the evening 3 course meal, which is offered to guests only, was exceptional value (11 euro) and of a very high standard, better than some restaurants we had eaten in at other places. Very good location for old town and salt mine cable car. Free car parking was a bonus, and free push bikes if you are a cyclist. Hallstatt is a lovely village, and one of the nicest places we visited on our tour of Austria.

Room Tip: Balcony room on front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights in early July, and I can safely say we agree with most of the positives of the posted reviews online. A great location, a spotlessly clean room, and a wonderful daily breakfast made our visit the Hallstatt a winner, and the free available bikes are a big plus in the summer ,and when the weather's pleasant. With a town as incredibly beautiful as Hallstatt is, our great hotel stay at Gruner Anger was a nice bonus

Looking forward ro returning to beautiful Hallstatt, and the Gruner Anger again someday soon
Srpilo

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srpilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Is an above average B&B. Family run business. Staff are friendly. Simple breakfast. Nice dinner at the restaurant at reasonable price. Location a bit far from popular areas. Room rate a bit over priced.

Room Tip: with balcony room, is good for Summer visit but not Winter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjohnny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed one night only with a car. The best thing for me was free parking space. In Hallstatt, you must have permit to park in town with very limited space. Otherwise, you need to park to the Parking next to the Cable Car Station of Salt Mine.
The hotel location is closed to the Cable Car station of Salt Mine. With less than 10 minutes walking, you can reach the lake and the town with great view. However, it means you are required to walk 10 minutes from the bus stop or pier to the hotel if you are not driving.
The breakfast was good. The hotel was clean and quiet. The mountain view from the balcony was excellent.
The staff gave me a 2 euro coupon to the Salt mine was a great surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanlohk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I couldn't think of better ways to phrase my review than my predecessors. It sure doesn't have a lake view but why insist when the lake can be reach within 10 minutes of leisure walking surrounded by mountains and passing through a little creek? Staff service is excellent, restaurant is great too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheng-Yi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruner Anger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruner Anger

Property: Gruner Anger
Address: Lahn 10, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gruner Anger 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gruner Anger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruner Anger Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing