We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nazi pictures on display” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seewirt Zauner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seewirt Zauner
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nazi pictures on display”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hallstatt is a pretty village and Gasthof Zauner has nice rooms and is centrally located. However, the charm of this hotel disappeared for us when we discovered several pictures hanging nearby the reception desk with Nazi motifs. The first picture, dated 1937, shows the facade of Gasthof Zauner covered by a huge Nazi flag hanging from the roof. The date is significant, since 1937 was one year before the annexation of Austria by Nazi Germany. The second image is a wedding picture of the father of the current owner in a Wehrmacht uniform. Finally, there is an official document giving Gasthof Zauner a license to serve meals. The document bears a Nazi stamp (the eagle with the Swastika) and the hotel's address is referred as Afolf-Hitler-Platz.

I cannot either confirm or deny if the current political sympathies of the Zauner family are in line with the content of those pictures, but the fact that they are shown without any further context or critical distance was troubling to say the least. In an email exchange, Mr. Sepp Zauner pointed out that an overwhelming majority of Austrians were in favour of the annexation, that Germany and Austria suffered much after the war and that the pictures are a part of history. My request to keep the pictures as a historical document but to provide them with context was ignored, as far as I know. Their setting among a collection of pictures portraying the family history suggests nostalgic undertones. It would be naive to believe that guests will see those pictures and not associate Gasthof Zauner with their content. Mr. Zauner's reaction and handling of the issue, regardless his political leanings, was completely unsatisfactory.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Mithrandir826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    38
    27
    9
    15
See reviews for
27
78
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a large spacious area, like an apartment without a kitchen. A balcony overlooked the main square. Homey and comfortable, we could relax and gaze at the lovely surroundings. Staff was very low profile, though very pleasant and accommodating when we saw them. If you needed to talk to someone, including check in and check out, you had to go to the restaurant kitchen to find them. Breakfast was quite good. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Gasthof Zauner is a beautiful alpine lodge right in the main town square of little Hallstatt. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the balcony gives you a view of the town and the lake. The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdechill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent two nights in this beautiful hotel, centrally located in the Market Square of Hallstatt. It has lots of character and lots of wood furnishings. Our Mountain View room had a view to the hillside and the waterfall, but not really any mountains (unless you stuck your head out of the window). The room was very clean and spacious, with a couch, table and chairs, as well as the bed (our double bed was two single beds pushed together). There was a bright streetlamp outside the window. Although this is not the hotels fault - and they have provided curtains to try and decrease the brightness - it means that the room stays light during the night.

The hotel staff were wonderful. Everyone spoke English, and were incredibly helpful in providing advice on transport and places to see. The breakfast was extensive and very delicious. It was very romantic to sit on the balcony in the morning with a hearty breakfast, and small birds keeping us company.

The ensuite was small, but did the job - no complaints. There was no wifi access available.

Had a wonderful stay - would highly recommend, and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is in 3rd floor of Gasthof Zauner, i booked from booking.com which the name of hotel is a bit different, just see a remark "Zauner".

It seems hotel owner focuses at restaurant more than residential section, there is no official reception, you will check in at the counter in restaurant area (2nd floor). And you will not see anyone "standby" , you just have a key and then it is self-service. But i can notice that their restaurant is very famous, they are very proud of the restaurant business (not a hotel!). All area in 1st & 2nd floor are decorated with fish-head stuff and other animal-head stuff e.g. duck. I guess their fish menu is famous, but i did not try.

There is no wifi, and if your luggage is heavy, be careful because you have to carry it to 3rd floor by staircase. Breakfast is poor, in a "luxurious area" of restaurant and it is 8.00-10.00 am, but a lady who works in the B/F area is friendly.

I choose this hotel because i misunderstand about the rail station & hotel location. Actually if you come to Hallstatt by train, you have to take ferry to cross to another side. It's not necessary to stay at the Markplaz, i guess if i choose other hotel, i will get a better price ! (I got 1 night for 108 Euro!, for twin room).

Room Tip: Choose lower floor if possible, there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomAndJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in room 23 (I think...maybe room 24) and loved the balcony we had overlooking the main square. This hotel wasn't luxury by any means, but it came with a lovely breakfast, and the decorations fit the "feel" of the hotel well (wood paneling, many pictures of the family who owns it on the walls, etc.). We were happy with the bed, the food, the balcony/view, and the bathroom (which was small, but what do you expect in such an old hotel in an old town?). It served as a great place to stay in the little town!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hallstatt is an incredible picture postcard of a little village on a mountain lake. We have never been to a place so serene and beautiful. Our hostess at Zauner was gracious, friendly and helpful. Wonderful quaint building overlooking the market square and lake. rooms are very nice and nice breakfast. We only stayed a day but wished we had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishAudity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.0 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.0 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cafe Restaurant zum Muhlbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seewirt Zauner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seewirt Zauner

Property: Seewirt Zauner
Address: Marktplatz, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seewirt Zauner 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and fine Guests may stay in one of your 12 rooms and can decide between view onto the lake or to the mountains - whatever you choose, you will not regret it. Cupboards and chairs are eco-furniture made of solid Swiss stone pine wood a local joiner manufactures for our hotel. Since the extensive refurbishment in 2014 all rooms have been equipped with box spring beds, high-end bathrooms as well as WiFi, TV, radio and telephone. The large wooden balconies and the comfortable small pub garden on the market square offer opportunies for a big breakfast, as does the breakfast room itself, where you may start your day in a most enjoyable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seewirt Zauner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Zauner Hallstatt
Gasthof Zauner Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing