We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Serenity” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Sarstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Sarstein
Ranked #3 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peace and Serenity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Pension Sarstein is every bit as good as all the tripadvisor reviews. It is one of the most peaceful places I have ever been.

We stayed in room #1 and had a lovely balcony with breathtaking views of the lake. We spent many hours relaxing in a chair by the lake, drinking wine and enjoying the view.

Breakfast is adequate with coffee, cereals, yogurt, rolls, jams and boiled eggs on request.

There is a shared fridge in the breakfast area that guests may use.

There is no parking at the pension, however the price of your room includes the use of the Hallstatt shuttle. We used the shuttle 3 times and did not have any problems. The owners can inform you of the shuttle schedule.

I really do not want to fault this hotel on anything because of the beautiful location and excellent price, but I feel there are a few things that need to be noted: Our reservation stated that we would have a bathroom "just for us." I assumed this meant that it was in the room, but it was not. There was a sink in the room, which was nice, but no shower or toilet. That was located across the hall. Upon check in, it was again mentioned that the toilet and shower were "just for us," but there were numerous occasions that proved otherwise (toilet seat left up, towel on the floor, dirty footprints in the shower...). This is the first bathroom that someone sees when they enter the hotel, so if they didn't realize it was not for public use, it is easy to see how someone would just use it. I think this problem could easily be eliminated by adding the word "private" on the outside of the door. Perhaps other rooms are better appointed?? You may want to ask about this when reserving a room.

One other thing to mention...the towels provided are washed (most likely without fabric softener) and then dried in the sun. They are adequate but very scratchy.

Even with my two little complaints, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to return again someday!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMForever28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    30
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
87
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Pension Sarstein and we were very happy with our choice. Close to the boat dock, about 5 to 10 minutes walk, it is ideally located on the lake. The rooms are cosy and face the water. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Word of advice: Be ready for the towels which are hung to dry so not soft at all. Another couple complained about it. Not a problem for us and better for the environment. The owners: Isabelle, who speaks french, and her husband helped us plan our hiking in the mountains. There is a sauna that you can use for an extra cost and with a reservation, but exploring the village and surrounding was our priority. Hallstatt is truly a magical little village and we hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Exploring the village and visiting the oldest salt mine in the world is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonsVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We can only confirm what most of the fellow travelers here have already written. The place is a gem, simple, but fantastic. We had the middle room on the upper floor, and the view over the Hallstatt Lake was nothing less than sensational, in particular at dawn and - if you are lucky enough to be there at the right time - when the full moon raises behind the Dachstein.
The service is very friendly, individual and competent. Mr Fischer was fantastic in helping us to find the right things to do. Also very valuable for travelers on a somewhat longer trip is the laundry service which is very good value. We were almost sad to leave that place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fotomate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here for one week...such a nice little pension...quiet and hidden away. The most beautiful thing about this place is its lakeview. It´s really uncredible!!! The location is fantastic too - nice sorroundings, quite location and just off the main road and easy 10 minutes stroll to the centre of Hallstatt. Rooms are small but comfortable and calm.There is a free wifi in the lobby and you can also use the sauna. I had to recomend it :-) ... The breakfast selection I´ve found a little thin (just boiled eggs and musli) but it is sufficient. Many thanks to Fam and her husband Klaus for everything :-) !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaPedroDeLaVedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed for 5 relaxing nights at Pension Sarstein in the beginning of July with my wife. Our room was on top floor with balcony, great view to lake.

Personally, I cannot imagine any better location and views in Hallstatt. If you don't want or can't walk for two minutes to the centre and back, maybe you should go to Hallstatt in the first place. There's a lot to see and experience nearby if you are up for a light/medium hiking. (Though, you could easily just stay in Sarstein's backyard relaxing for 5 days gazing at the lake, sipping some cold beer...).

The room was big, nice and clean, no complaints. The staff is just great, friendly and helpful.

The breakfast could be better, it's quite simple. If you want, you can buy your own additional stuff from supermarket and keep the in fridge in the breakfast room -- no problem. There's no elevator in Sarstein, but after all the biking/hiking/walking this was not a problem at all.

I would highly recommend Pension Sarstein. If you are looking for very modern hotel with luxurious accommodation, maybe it's not for you -- but personally I think the old-fashioned and simple style of Sarstein is just perfect for Hallstatt!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was one of the most peaceful places I have ever been. The town of Hallstatt is beautiful, and full of tourists. This B&B is at the quiet north end of town, past the noise and crowds of the business district. Our room was not large or fancy, but it was very comfortable. There was a bed, wardrobe, table and chairs and a sofa. There was a small balcony,overlooking the lake. Isabelle, the owner, was quite helpful at check in. After our visit, she was also helpful in mailing back my husband's sport coat, which we had mistakenly left in the wardrobe. Breakfast was simple -- nothing fancy. Wifi was hit and miss, and only worked intermittently in the downstairs lounge. The thing that made this place special was the lake access on the bottom level. I sat for a couple of hours in a lounge chair, watching the lake -- swans, boats, birds, etc. I can't remember the last time I felt so peaceful. You could even go swimming from here if you wanted. I would definitely recommend this simple, quiet place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We recently spent 4 days with our family in Hallstatt and stayed at Pension Sarstein. We rented 2 rooms and an apartment with a kitchen. The rooms and apartment were wonderful and the view from the balcony was amazing. The weather was unusually warm and we were able to swim in the lake from the back yard. Herr Fischer was so helpful in recommending places to visit and good hiking trails. He is the ultimate host.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.2 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sarstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sarstein

Property: Pension Sarstein
Address: Gosaumuehlstrasse 83, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Sarstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Sarstein Hotel Hallstatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing