We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget accomodation”

Gasthof Wilder Mann
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Wilder Mann
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Linz
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There are many good points about the hotel. It is very centrally located, my room was spacious and very clean. It was shared shower and toilet facilities but I didn't find this a hardship. In fact, maybe I was just lucky but I never found either occupied!

The breakfast was pretty good too. I arrived early morning but was allowed to leave my case there until check-in time. The only reason really I haven't given a 5 rating is the erratic wi-fi. It was always ok down in the common room but I didn't want to sit down there with the smokers. In the room it was very hit or miss, so if I wanted to be sure of getting on-line, I had to leave the room, lock it and head downstairs.
Overall though I would have to say it was a pleasant experience staying here and I would certainly recommend it.

Thank PeterDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were only stopping through for one night on our way between Salzburg and Budapest. We wanted a location near the train station to make travel more convenient. We walked easily to the hotel from the train station. We were early for our check in, but our room was empty, so the allowed us to store our bags in our room, change for the day, and they cleaned the room after we had left for the morning. The room was quite large, the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had a high end feel. The hotel was close to everything, we walked into the Center for dinner and it took less than 10 minutes. It was just far enough out that it was quiet, even though we were on a heavy street traffic road.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It's not the best hotels i stayed in, but for one night or two it's OK. The shower in the room is not the bets idea i'd say; your room gets all steamy and smelly. Go for the one with shower on the floor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PImre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed there for a short trip, and i love the originality of this place. The hospitality made me feels like home.
The breakfast was fresh and vary! I tasted different cheese and ham like everyday! :)
totally recommended, and would love to stay there again and again..

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b33p2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Good location close to the train station, clean, and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

When I arrived I was asked to pay cash in advance, and I agreed. I then saw the room that I had reserved "with a shower." It did have a shower that looked like it had at one time been cleaned, but a communal toilet. I had stupidly assumed that I would have my own toilet to go with the shower. The toilet was down the hall and there were cigarette burns everywhere. There was no soap to even wash my hands in the room. The sheets had holes in them. The only other guest we saw looked truly scary and possibly drunk around noon on a Monday. The downstairs smelled terrible, maybe like rotten food. To their credit, this hotel did refund part of my money, but not everything. I was so happy to be leaving that I consider it part of the "learn to check the room before I pay" tuition fee. I really felt uncomfortable here, and if I had stayed I would have been worried about the room locks. I wouldn't let any of my friends stay here. It honestly felt quite creepy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nindubsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
ibis Linz City
#5 of 32 in Linz
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#12 of 32 in Linz
409 reviews
ibis Styles Linz
#10 of 32 in Linz
576 reviews
Altstadtviertel
Star Inn Hotel Linz Promenadengalerien, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Wilder Mann

Address: Goethestrasse 14, Linz 4020, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Volksgartenviertel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Linz
Price Range: £56 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof Wilder Mann 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gasthof Wilder Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing