We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Linz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Linz
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here on business for two nights. As you would expect it is a comfortable hotel and actually
better value than a small rural hotel we stayed at on the same trip. Better value in so much as the room rate goes that is, but when you take in to account that parking is 19 Euros a day and the internet not much behind. Yes there is free WIFI in the lobby but that is beside the point.
Other shockers were the 4.5 euro charge for bottle of water in the room and the 19 euro charge for a full breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and the one meal we had in the restaurant was very good.
The hotel is in a relatively quiet area of the city and driving to and from is hassle free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisgHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    216
    46
    7
    9
See reviews for
51
93
29
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Very comfortable and quite place, close to railway station and to city centre (15 minutes walking). Various choice of food for breakfast. Cozy and clean rooms with pleasant view; smiling and friendly staff. Strongly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marcusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Unfortunately due to last minute bookings 3 business colleagues and I were forced to stay in this Hotel. My best advice is to avoid it if at all possible. Ground Floor is nearly open plan and smoking is allowed in the large bar. Thus the whole ground floor inclusive reception and restaurant reek of stale cigars. We reserved 4 non-smoking rooms which were guaranteed but on arrival two of my colleagues were given smoking rooms as they had run out of non-smoking. I was put into a dirty room next to the lifts which operated noisly all night. Dinner was a car crash. Only five tables occupied in the large restaurant, four members of staff serving and it still took 35 minutes to get a bottle of wine (third choice as they had run out of my first 2 requests) and 50 minutes for the obviously microwaved overcooked veal in a gloopy sauce to arrive. Disgusting. Expensive for what is barely a 2 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

One of the more expensive business hotels in Linz and one that really needs to consider its place in this market.

I have stayed at quite a few hotels in Linz and chose this one due its location to my work. From a positive point of view I have always found Marriott hotels to be extremely comfortable with wonderful beds. On this occasion I wasn't disappointed.

However, there were just far too many things wrong with the hotel to give it other than an average rating ...and a low one at that !

Arriving early on a Sunday evening the only place to eat at the hotel was in the bar as the restaurant was shut. Not a problem, but the area was full of smokers and no where else to eat that was smoke free. A most unpleasant experience. Monday, the restaurant was open with a good buffet selection on offer. Going back there in Wednesday night, no buffet and the a la carte meal was awful (steer clear of the veal cheek dish as it is just fat and no meat). The breakfasts are pretty good though !

Other issues I have - paying extortionate rates for internet when other hotels in the area give it for free, noisy kids running up and down the corridors all night and "strange" people constantly sitting around the reception area at all hours (reminded me of the old Eastern bloc hotels with dodgy Government officials in leather coats and hats watching the clientele) and its not the closest hotel to the city centre.

If you are looking for a hotel in Linz I would certainly have a look around for better deals. The Schillerpark is comfy enough although a bit dated.... but with a great location, The Park Inn is modern and up to Marriott standards and very close to the city and the Arcotel is right on the Danube.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzerbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlauf, Österreich
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was not my first stay at the hotel but this time I suggested to review my travel experiance here as it was such a pleasure to stay again in this wonderfull house.
The team always friendly, from the welcome to the check-out, the atmosphere charming and unexpected, the bar-service just exzellent. Also from rate value point of view a permanent suprise as the "snack" in the bar for dinner called "Heard Attack Burger" was tasty and huge.
A little small talk, this feeling of "coming home", although the bar was crowded and a very attentive staff .... I realy can recommend :-)

Room Tip: the rooms are all sound proof ... so it does not mention, but located to the Design Center Conferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSchrabauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed couple of times at this hotel, last time with our 8 month old baby. The staff is very polite both at the reception and restaurant. Hotel is simple with basic amenities. I was impressed about the baby cot and baby bath products. In my view it is more of a business hotel but they are perfectly equipped to receive families with small children. Breakfast is very good. We would return there if we travel to Linz.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for over 100 nights while on business, most recently in June 2013. I have found this a pleasant place to stay.

The positives:
- rooms are nicer than many other Courtyards I have been to
- good Marriott bed
- very friendly staff
- efficient check-in/out
- good breakfast
- serviceable gym

Could be even better if:
- smoking was banned in the bar (I guess they would be ahead of Austrian law then)
- food quality in the bar were the same night in and night out. I've found this to vary greatly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tupelo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
ibis Linz City
#5 of 30 in Linz
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#9 of 30 in Linz
362 reviews
Altstadtviertel
Hotel am Domplatz
Hotel am Domplatz
#7 of 30 in Linz
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Linz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Linz

Property: Courtyard Linz
Address: Europaplatz 2, Linz 4020, Austria (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Linz)
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Linz
#3 Family Hotel in Linz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Linz
#4 Business Hotel in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Courtyard Linz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Linz is located adjacent to the Design Center (Congress & Exhibition Center). 236 comfortably furnished rooms and suites make your stay as relaxing as possible. Unwind in our large fitness center with sauna and steam bath. FESCH, our outstanding and trendy restaurant & bar offers high quality cuisine In the evenings, FESCH is a discerning social venue with chilled music and a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Linz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linz Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing