We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Linz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Linz
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is my first review of the hotel but I have stayed here many times over the years. All my visits are on business so my comments relate to a person travelling alone. The reception staff are always friendly and my Marriott Reward status always shows at the correct level.

My recent visit was in the height of summer when the air conditioning in the bedroom is a real boon. Breakfast is buffet style and the quality is first class. If the hotel is full the staff can be overwhelmed by demand when it comes to refilling the hot buffet trays.

I did not dine in the restaurant on this visit but have eaten here before and the quality is very good.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in Austrian hotels so make sure you ask for a non-smoking room, unless you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Being a Platinum Member, I was in contact with the Hotel before to ask them kindly to be upgraded and was lucky to be confirmed before my stay that i got one of the very few suites.
The Suite was large, quiet and had a great shower. The bed was comfy.
The breakfast had a lot to offer and due to the nice weather one could sit outside. The parking garage is directly linked to the Hotel on the Ground Floor.
Check in and out was fast and friendly. If in the area, would definitely choose this Hotel again.
A little bit out of the city, but not too far.

Room Tip: upgrade to a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lufthansa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in linz and I stay there for business quite often. Breakfast is excellent and rooms are good. There also is a very good fitness club guests can make use of. There is one big problem that has been solved in most European countries. Smoking in public areas is still allowed. There is a separate restaurant where smoking is not allowed but you don't want to sit there to just have a drink. My opinion is to just forbid smoking.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Vincent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The standard of this hotel is ok but the service is poor. The staff at check-in was annoyed to be on duty and was working as per the rules. She refused us the check-in before 2pm because it is the rule. The hotel is a bit outside of town and it is a good 1.2 km walk to where the action happens. The rooms are noisy with some aircon plant or other annoying noise and the hotel charges extra for internet which - in today's time really should be free. Not a place I will come back - change my next stay to another brand of hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. It is quite a long walk from the old town but right next to the Convention Centre. Rooms were very clean and spacious and the bed was so comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

So, after my disappointing one night down the road a bit (Steigenberger), I decided to bail and made a reservation here. It wad 85 E, which was actually less. Check-in was slightly slow, the clerk was not very attentive. My Marriott status was also not recognized (ie. welcome amenity was credited later). But, I got to my room and turned my A/C way down to cool off. The room was nice, not great. Large sitting area and my window faced the exhibition center. The bathroom was ok size, a shelf for my stuff. I guess, after staying the night before in a hotel with only a ceiling fan, no iron/board, and facing a courtyard with birds chirping - this was heaven. I did visit the bar - and other than the hotel prices for drinks, not a bad selection or atmosphere. The downtown area is about a 10-15 minute walk, which was nice, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We, a couple of two had to spend two nights on a business package (EUR 168 per night) in "the only 4 star superior hotel in Linz", as it says on the hotel website. The street-side room in the sixth floor was as expected, sound proof windows successfully kept outside the traffic noise and a continuous loud sound from the Nestlé factory opposite the hotel. Overall the room was fine, however, the little things were not: check-in was very slow; the room was way to too hot during night, the air condition did not allow to lower the temperature, it just blew out hot air, and we could not open the window due to the noise outside; the water pressure in the shower was pretty low; there were neither bath room slippers nor a bathroom robe nor a shoehorn; there was just one small bottle of hair shampoo for two persons; a bottle of water (0.75 l) was offered for EUR 4,10; basically, the breakfast buffet offered everything what one could want, but on a rather cheap and low level; one could see that the coffee was brewed using real coffee beans, but it tasted awful. Good bye, Courtyard Marriott Linz, this was our last stay.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this hotel ask for a room at the backside; it would be much quieter in case y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Altstadtviertel
Comfort Hotel, Star Inn Linz Promenadengalerien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#11 of 31 in Linz
420 reviews
Altstadtviertel
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Linz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Linz

Address: Europaplatz 2, Linz 4020, Austria (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Linz)
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Linz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Linz
#4 Business Hotel in Linz
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Linz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Linz is located adjacent to the Design Center (Congress & Exhibition Center). 236 comfortably furnished rooms and suites at our hotel in Linz, Germany make your stay as relaxing as possible. Unwind in our large fitness center with sauna and steam bath. FESCH, our outstanding and trendy restaurant & bar offers high quality cuisine In the evenings, FESCH is a discerning social venue with chilled music and a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Linz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Linz
Linz Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing