We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Little Hotel with Problem Neighbors” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Muhlviertlerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Muhlviertlerhof
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Charming Little Hotel with Problem Neighbors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved this little hotel in Linz. Our room was comfortable and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. It's quite well-located, just a 5 minute walk to the trains and the main tourist area, only 10 minutes from an amazing, huge Gothic cathedral, 10 minutes the other way to the Danube River.

But it has a problem. It's just across the street from a bar that is open all night and the street in front is quite busy during the morning rush hour and the evening rush hour. Since the hotel sits right on the street, sleep quality is terrible.

Austria was quite hot when we visited, and the hotel staff was careful to put "ventilators", i.e. fans, in our rooms. But to cool down in 90 plus degree temperature, we really had to open the windows. The last bar patrons went home about dawn, and the city trucks began sweeping the streets an hour later.

Other than installing air-conditioning that would help block the noise and perhaps prevent the need to open the windows, I don't know what the hotel owner can do. As I said, the staff was lovely and the hotel charming, but we got very little sleep there.

Room Tip: Do not take a room that opens onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
5
7
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Such an unfriendly host, for a family owned and operated hotel. The women was worn out from years of unhappily running the place on her own. Terrible breakfast.....a kaiser roll on a plate with a spoonful of jam and a pat of butter. Forget about even getting a hard boiled egg for protein. Just some really crappy sliced meats. In our room, you had to hold the toilet seat cover up while you were using it, or else it would go crashing down. Very tricky for a guy! She came banging on our door at 10 am, telling us to be out by 10:30. Even though the place was empty! I think she's ready to retire..........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Linz hotels

Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I spent two nights at the hotel. The hotel is very simple with some basic facilities, but its location is really very good, just couple of minutes walking to the main square. People at the reception were very helpful. My room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a very limited choice, no yogurt and no sweets, just small croissants as sweets. I really hated the smoke smell in the lobby and in the doorway: I saw people smoking there!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Lovely staff, good breakfast w/ good coffee, and great location in the heart of Linz (but on a quiet street). I had a single room which was attached to the breakfast room -- odd but I had no issues and wasn't woken up by the breakfast noise. The downsides were an uncomfortable bed -- even by European single-bed standards -- which meant I didn't sleep as well as I could have, and a slight musty/smoky smell from the lounge downstairs (and perhaps accentuated by poor ventilation). But, a great full bathroom (with tub!). Also pretty affordable by local standards. The wifi worked well for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brassratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Being an Austrian by myself I have been through Austrian hotels and b&bs all over. The Hotel Mühlviertlerhof is an "honest" hotel in Linz, directly located within the city center. The rooms are clean, not totally new but OK.
The management and staff is totally nice and helpful, obviously being long in the industry.
They know about the rooms directly at the breakfast room but are willing to change you to another room if something is available - just ask.
The hotel is pretty simple, no splurge or extras - but for a fair price in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

they gave me a room directly next to the breakfast room, so i heard the kitchen noise from 6 a.m. beginning. especially the coffee machine was so loud that i could not take a sleep anymore after that. at 7 a.m. the reception rang at my room, asking me to remove my car - which was not mine at all! i personally find it unacceptable as a guest to get a ring at 7 a.m. in the morning! after i complained about that, the stuff was very unfriendly. i checked out at 8 a.m., because i found this behaviour untolerable. definitely not a hotel for young people who want to go to concerts and partys and sleep longer than 6 a.m.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Nice room, and friendly staff. Good location. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
Altstadtviertel
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Altstadtviertel
Zum Schwarzen Baeren
Zum Schwarzen Baeren
#14 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Altstadtviertel
Hotel am Domplatz
Hotel am Domplatz
#8 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Volksgartenviertel
Hotel Kolping
Hotel Kolping
#12 of 30 in Linz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muhlviertlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muhlviertlerhof

Property: Hotel Muhlviertlerhof
Address: Graben 26, Linz 4020, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Altstadtviertel , Landstraße
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muhlviertlerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Muhlviertlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing