We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, suberb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, suberb location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Historical style of this hotel may not suit to everyone although I liked the ancient charm. The location in the main square, on the other hand, simply can´t be better. Parking is in a public garage only few minutes away. The breakfast was satisfactory, in line with similar austrian hotels. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wifi functioning everywhere within the hotel.

The only disadvantage is the missing air conditioning - especially those rooms in the 4th floor, with the best view over Linz are on hot summer days quite hot and sleeping with open windows is far of being quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    104
    32
    8
    1
See reviews for
39
80
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Would have liked to stay longer. Great location, elegant stately rooms. Comfortable and spacious with updated ex. Ask for the first floor as there is no lift. Antique filled breakfast room with fabulous buffet. Central square just off the bridge over the Danube River, with cafés for people walking. At the beginning of the pedestrian street with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is simply charming. The main areas are decorated with antiques so that it really fells like you have stepped back in time. I stayed in a single room on the top floor and found that it was plenty big enough. My room overlooked the square, but I had no trouble sleeping at night due to noise. The manager greeted our group with free champagne upon arrival. It was a very nice touch. The breakfast room was delightful and had an ample selection of food to eat. It is in a great central location with all the necessities nearby. The staff spoke English and was very courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just stayed one night in this old picturesque hotel at the old main square of Linz. For a three-star hotel it is really outstanding. The staff was friendly, my room in the fourth floor overlooking the roofs of the old city clean and quiet. WLAN was free and fast, about 580 kB/sec. The breakfast was European style, everything you may like, but on a more basic level. If you are on a sightseeing trip I strongly recommend you this hotel, close to everything you may be interested in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the fourth floor overlooking the backyard, they rooms facing the main square may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is a must stay. Right on Hauptplatz with access to everything. Restaurants below hotel and surrounding area. Trams at the door as well as sightseeing bus. Breakfast was plentiful. Staff obliging and helpful. I booked a single room and was pleasantly surprised with a queen sized, super comfy bed and pillows. Room was larger than anything else I have had in Europe. Hotel is old but nicely furnished with period pieces. No AC but the windows open wide. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay again. Only negative is the lack of lift to the first floor. Difficult to manage luggage on your own. There is a lift to all other floors though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanIneW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We chose a room in the courtyard which was very quiet.Our room was large,traditionally furnished and very clean.The bed was extremely comfortable with feather duvet.The staff were always very friendly and helpful.There was a good selection on the breakfast buffet and tea and coffee were available all day, to help yourself, in the dining room.The hotel was very central and we would make this our first choice to stay if we visit Linz again

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happybunny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel has a terrific location on Hauptplatz, Linz's main square. Our room was really huge, with a long corridor between the bedrooms and five windows. There were two bathrooms, both of them clean and with everything we needed. Breakfast was tasty, with a good choice of bread and homemade fruit salad; the breakfast room had a great view on the square. We left our car in an underground park close to the hotel, which gave us a little discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Altstadtviertel
Hotel am Domplatz
Hotel am Domplatz
#7 of 30 in Linz
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#9 of 30 in Linz
363 reviews
Courtyard Linz
#2 of 30 in Linz
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger

Property: Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Address: Hauptplatz 19, Linz 4020, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Altstadtviertel , Landstraße
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Linz
#8 Business Hotel in Linz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Linz
Linz Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing