We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Mauthausen Memorial - KZ-Gedenkstatte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$175.46*
and up
Mauthausen Concentration Camp Day Trip from Vienna
More Info
US$758.76*
and up
Private Day Trip to Mauthausen Memorial from Vienna
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stopped by Mauthausen whilst on our drive from Salzburg to Vienna (which is a good place for a break as its about half way)....

Having visited both Auschwitz and Dachau previously we pretty knew what to expect, and as always these are sobering experience. We had one person with us that hadn't been to anything like this before and as expected it was a very emotional and eye opening experience for them.

The location is a tad hard to find, but it is signposted and with satnav its pretty easy. Parking is free for 4 hours (which is plenty of time) and the entrance fee itself is very reasonable (2 euros if I remember correctly).

The Memorial appears to be well looked after and new Museum is very informative and the photo galleries very moving (they put faces to the names). theres all the exhibits you would expect (barracks, gas chamber, crematorium) but what we really liked was walking around around the memorial park and seeing the difference each nation had when designing their memorials. Some are very somber and some are celebrations of freedom and life.

Overall Mauthausen is well worth a visit. Some people wont like the experience, some will find educational..... but most importantly its here so we can learn from it to never let this happen again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mushu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    137
    19
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“don't miss it”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

i'm really glad we made the effort to visit. as others mentioned, it's not easy to get to and there are no organized tours (that i could find) so we ended up renting a car for the day from vienna. the memorial sits in a pretty scenic location, which is a little weird considering the atrocities that took place there. the audio guide and museum were very informative (some graphic images) - but be sure not to miss "the stairs of death". i'd say that making my way down to the bottom of the old quarry is what touched me the most. a very insightful and moving experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peeleege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific, new and informative museum. Sits atop an eerily lovely hill.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Mauthausen concentration camp sits atop a lovely field with nice view of the surrounding countryside. The location is a disconnect with the attrocities that took place within the walls of the camp. The new museum is compact but very informative and signage is provided in English. I did not rent an audio guide and, unfortunately, the explanatory signage around the rest of the camp was not in English at the time of my visit. If I had one critique, it was that the barracks were almost too neat and clean. Immediately outside the walls of the camp are the "Stairs of Death" which one must walk down in order to even begin to comprehend the sadistic nature of this labor camp. While being driven to the camp we passed some still operational steel mills which, I was told, were used by the Nazis during WW2. Unfortunately, I can't speak to public transportation from Linz to Mauthausen as I was driven to the camp.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tpm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Insightful and thought-provoking memorial”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Set in the beautiful country-side about 20 to 30 minutes away from Linz, this memorial costs 2€ to enter and is filled with informative exhibits. Don't forget to stop at the quarry beneath the actual memorial as well. Most of the signs inside the walls are in German, but if you get an audio headset (they stop giving these out about an our before closing time), it might be more helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank angela y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sobering memorial”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visited Mauthausen Memorial in mid-October 2013. Drove from Vienna. The memorial is a little hard to find even with the signage indicating where to turn. GPS was a savior. Parking at the memorial is behind a gate which provides a ticket but parking is free for a limited time (4-hours?). We were there about three hours and had plenty of time to visit the various parts - prisoner barracks, gas chamber, crematorium, and SS barracks. The photo displays are very moving as well as informative. It is hard to understand man's cruelty toward man. It is also hard to understand the compassion(?) shown to the perpetrators of such widespread abuse. At the end of our visit, I had the feeling too many charged with war crimes got off too easily and too many avoided being held accountable at all. (I am retired career military, so that is saying a lot!) I now have a better understanding of the various types of prisoner camps during WWII and how they differed. This is a must see memorial if you are in the area. Well worth the time to find it. Plan for at least 3 to 4 hours. Not exactly ADA accessible as there are a number of stairs. We did not see an elevator.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauthausen Memorial - KZ-Gedenkstatte also viewed

Linz, Upper Austria
Linz, Upper Austria
 

Been to Mauthausen Memorial - KZ-Gedenkstatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing