We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant”
Review of Hotel Kolping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kolping
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

stayed here on our bike tour. Good location to town. The breakfast was very nice and a huge selection.

Room was spacious and had good air con and a mini bar. The bar didn't seem to be open for a night cap but alas the vending machine sells Austrian Beer

I would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Relayponey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Even its right in the city it was quiet as it is located in a side street and our room was in the back.
The room was big modern and clean with aircon and fridge
Disappointing was that the bar downstairs was closed due holiday break we only found a machine for €2.30 for 0,5l a beer can
Breakfast was good they have a few extras like a juice maker and a waffle iron

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WorldWiser1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We enjoyed this hotel on our bike tour from Passau to Vienna. It's central. The room and bathroom are large. The breakfast is large. I especially liked the juice machine. That is a nice touch. I would return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traveltheworld0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Kolping as part of a bike tour along the Danube. We spent a second night so that we had some time to visit Linz - a lovely city. We were very pleased with the hotel: it was clean, conveniently located and the staff were very helpful and gave us good advice on sightseeing. The rooms were well designed, with good closet space, and the breakfast - included in our package - offered much choice. There was a small separate storage room for bicycles that was very crowded, but we did manage to store our bikes for the period of our stay. I can certainly agree with other reviewers that have indicated that the Kolping is an excellent choice in Linz. We also appreciated the free access to the Feel Well Fitness club that was nearby.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Good standard of rooms with clean bathroom etc and free wifi. Check in was swift and friendly. Just a few minutes walk to the centre. Arrived early and no problem with us leaving our bags. Decent breakfast choice
Would stay again and recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyMFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

At first you may think that the Hotel Kolping looks like an “upscale” youth hostel, but in fact it’s a great hotel at an affordable price with fantastic service.

The rooms have basic but very comfortable furniture. There is enough room to store your belongings, and a comfortable desk. I had a room with two single beds and they are arranged at opposite corners of the room, creating a lot of space to move around. Each bed has its own reading light and electrical socket in case you want to recharge your phone at night.

Wifi is free and super fast. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choices, it is really comparable to what you get in much more expensive hotels.
The staff was very cordial and sympathetic.
The location is very good, it takes 15 min to walk to the hotel from the central station, or 2 trams stops. From the hotel you can walk anywhere, since it is right in the center of Linz. Most of the trams stop just a couple of minutes from the hotel. There are many good restaurants close by.

Finally, if you stay at the Kolping you get free access to the Feel Well fitness club, a state of the art gym with a very nice sauna and outdoor terrace as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bingo_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The affordable prices and wide range of rooms and services and its location in city center have made this hotel one of the bests in Linz. The cleaning and dining services are very good and the rooms are very clean simple and comfortable. the hotel offer very good discounts for long stay especially for students!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alireza160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linz hotels
Volksgartenviertel
Austria Trend Hotel Schillerpark
Altstadtviertel
Comfort Hotel, Star Inn Linz Promenadengalerien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARCOTEL Nike
#11 of 31 in Linz
420 reviews
Altstadtviertel
Austria Classic Hotel Wolfinger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kolping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kolping

Address: Gesellenhausstrasse 5, Linz 4020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Linz > Volksgartenviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Linz
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kolping 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are joining humanity with expertise! Our hotel is located in a side street of the city centre of Linz. The city's main shopping street is just around the corner, the train station is 800 metres (a 15-minute walk) away and all sights are within easy reach. Hotel Kolping is easily reached by car as the motorway exit is only 1 km away and we have our own car park. Enjoy our comfortable and hospitable atmosphere and relax in our newly renovated, air-conditioned rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kolping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing