We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, restaurant, sauna and swimming pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkhotel Styria

Parkhotel Styria
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parkhotel Styria
Ranked #2 of 8 Steyr B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, restaurant, sauna and swimming pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was in this hotel for two nights, in a business trip. It's a little far from the city center, but with a car this is not a problem, Steyr is not a big town.
My room was very large and comfortable, with a bathroom with both a shower and a tub.
There's an internal swimming pool with sauna, very quiet and comfortable.
The restaurant was good.
Only negative point: they had a problem with wi-fi, so I could not use internet. The staff said it was a temporary problem.
For sure I'll come back if I would have to go to Steyr again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
19
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had a 3 night stay at the Parkhotel Styria on a business trip. To summarise: I had a perfectly good visit and will most likely return. Details below.


The hotel has a pleasant overall atmosphere and staff are welcoming. Location wise it is just outside the very central part of Steyr, for my trip this had lesser influence though.

After having been assigned to a "non smoking room", that turned out to be smoky, I was (I think) bumped up to what looks like one of the larger rooms at the hotel. The quality was perfectly good with rustic furniture, although perhaps a bit on the sparse side. ALso, for my liking, the bed was a bit on the hard side. This room was situated in the "Guesthouse" (annex) and I one of the downsides of this is that the WIFI signal is extremely poor. The balcony and the view were nice bonuses however.

I enjoyed one dinner at the restaurant and booth food and service was of good quality. The breakfast buffet is not extravagant but will satisfy most (the assortment is quite on par with the size of the hotel). Coffee was surprisingly good (usually one of my main gripes when travelling in central Europe, UK, US,etc.).

All in all the Parkhotel provides value for your money and I would not hesitate to return, just need to make sure the room I get really is non-smoking.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the "guesthouse" offer balconies or patios with a view. The WIFI seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viskari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The rooms are clean - but that is the only positive thing to say. It is called "Parkhotel" but there is no park nearby. Location is for Steyr not the best - other hotels are more close to the city or in a better neighborhood. The rooms are loud - you can hear everything from the neighbor rooms. Actually I went to their restaurant for dinner as there is no other choice nearby. This was a terrible experience staff wise. Staff was not trained at all, very unprofessional. They talked about that they did not like the guests before in front of other guests. Never experiences something like that before.

Avoid!

Room Tip: Reception told me that booking through platforms is more expansive than booking directly. Never tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Steyr hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
254 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I think the Parkhotel is the best option if you had to stay in Steyr for one or more nights. They have a restaurant there (good and you will like it because it is some minutes to walk to the town center), the breakfast ist good and the service also. But don't expect something special

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiseprofi_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is old but has been refurbished. However, it was really shoddy, for example, although I had enough power outlets in my room, ony half of them worked... There is no internet and the lounge is a smoking area. The breakfast room looks shabby, too.
Service is not great, as it generally is bad in Austria.
But there are positive things, so
- take G rooms, the are very large, have three chairs and a terrace
- the pool and the mini spa are brand new and look really nice
- the restaurant is good.

Room Tip: Take aroom in the G annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

While I had staid in this hotel some years ago I was not expecting much from this stay. Unable to get into one of my first choice hotels, my agent booked this one. I checked the "Trip Advisor" reviews and then had concerns that the hotel had changed since my last visit. Well, I was unexpectedly surprised and can report that during my stay there was none of the lacking of service experienced by others.

This hotel is located about a 15 minute walk outside the old town centre of Steyr, and is located beside, but not serviced from, one of the main roads out of town. You also pass under the railway lines as you approach it from town. All of which does not give such a good impression. However once there you find a modern building that is adequately maintained. There is limited parking on the hotel grounds, but there is also an overflow car part close by. On the lower floor there is a small swimming pool. Quiet a surprise for a hotel in this area.

For me there was no delay in checking in and the greeting was cordial in good English.

My room was located facing the main road, but the traffic noise never proved a distraction, nor was I woken by it. This room was large. It had it's own walk in dressing room, lounge, bedroom and bathroom! Not my normal level of accommodation when I am away! The room was clean, and although not in the flush of youth was well maintained. My only real criticism was the lingering smell of cigarette smoke. While this was not strong it was a continuing underlying annoyance to this non smoker.

I did not eat in the restaurant in the evening, but did take breakfast. This was a cold only selection of local breads, meats, and cheeses, cereals, fruit etc. All self service.

Overall this was a good stay. I would have no hesitation to stay again unless I knew I had to walk into town when the weather was bad. I suppose there are always taxis somewhere! It was an unexpected surprise this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muchtravelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

On the Intternet this hotel might seem ok but trust me it is not....it is just for old folks groups, very old, terrible service, a very long walk from the town center, no point in staying there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steyr hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Christkindlwirt
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Minichmayr
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mader
Hotel Mader
#2 of 7 in Steyr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stadthotel Styria
Stadthotel Styria
#1 of 8 in Steyr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Pochhacker
0.9 mi away
Gasthof Bauer
Gasthof Bauer
#3 of 8 in Steyr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Styria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Styria

Property: Parkhotel Styria
Address: Eisenstrasse 18, Steyr 4400, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Steyr
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Steyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Styria 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Parkhotel Styria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing