We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glockl Brau

Glockl Brau
Ranked #5 of 639 Restaurants in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Innere Stadt
buenos aires
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very charming, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Beautiful terrace, traditional Austrian dishes, very reasonable prices. On the downside : very crowded, hard to get a table !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chulopalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    288
    53
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Waitress - Great Beer - Beautiful Flowers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The waitress explained the menu very clearly with English and suggested which one is the recommended dish. My friend said wrong menu when ordered and just realized it when it came out as menu that he could not eat. The waitress offered him to change the dish. Although that was my friend's mistake. What a super service!
And here was the first time I drink many glasses Beers. It taste really good. I really like it. I become fans of Beer since then. They make their own Beer.
Here, you also can give spontaneous flower to your partner or friend ;) When I come there for dinner, there was a man who sell the fresh flowers. And my friend bought the pink rose and gave me. Lovely surprise in such beautiful dinner.
Do not ask about the food! Because the answer must be delicious. Of couse with Austrian taste and speciality. Like it :)
Even the restaurant was full, it was not noise at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were lucky enough to enjoy an hour or so of people watching and relaxing outside this charming restaurant. Ordered the local weissbier and asked for pretzels which were 1 euro or so a piece and came out on a cute pretzel stand. Had dinner here another night which was wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is something of a favourite for me. Certainly the food is always very good, service is pleasant and the building attractive. I have always found it reliable as both a lunch and dinner venue, and it is obviously popular. Most of the staff speak excellent English and there is much variety in the very Austrian menu. Glockl beer is tasty. It isn't luxurious but comfortable and atmospheric.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelfranco Veneto, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat traditional food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Glocklbrau is big and nice, with a good selection of traditional food and multilanguage menus (even though the translation on the Italian one was really poor).

You should definitely try the soup with meat strudel and their self-brewed beer!

Prices are ok: we spent less than 20€ per person ordering one starter, one main course and a drink each.

Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glockl Brau also viewed

 

Been to Glockl Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing