We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Graz hotel”
Review of Schlossberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlossberg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Graz hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Possibly the best hotel in town, An excellent location, nestled under the Schlossberg hill by the river and adjacent to the old town. Most sights are within easy walking distance. Excellent front desk staff. The rooms are clean and of a very good size, and the beds are very comfortable. Rooms are individually styled in an eclectic mix of contemporary, original artworks and both modern and antique furniture and fittings. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that, but there is a very nice bar area, and also a good gym, sauna, radiation/relaxation area in the basement.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 271garp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    109
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
243
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very nice hotel,good location excellent staff,nice rooms,the pets are welcome.I hope I will come back.The staff was considerated,because we have been on new years eveand we can stay longer in room then is usualy.Nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasnamladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Jasmanladen,

thank you very much for your kind words and the great photos on Tripadvisor.

We fondly think back to the visit of your family including your lovely dog. We are always very happy when we can welcome pets in our hotel, as they always bring such a special atmosphere to our hotel. As you can see on our Facebook page also cats enjoy their time at the Schlossberghotel – Das Kunsthotel!

We wish you and your family a great start into the New Year and hope to welcome you again some time.


Best regards,
The Schlossberghotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

It is the staff that sets this hotel apart. Always helpful, polite and really can't do enough to help. Breakfast is superb and rooms are quirky, interesting and different. Have stayed many times and will continue to do so whenever I am in Graz.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Mr. Ross M,

thank you very much for your lovely words concerning your stay with us.

Your satisfaction and your well-being are our highest goals and it is very important for us to make sure you create new unforgettable memories every time you choose our hotel.

We feel the same way as you do as we strongly believe that it is the people who make all the difference. We live and love this fact and it makes us proud that our guests appreciate this. Thank you very much for noticing our passion and our enthusiasm.

Best wishes from Graz and we hope to welcome you soon again,

Your Schlossberghotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very nice hotel with large and well-designed rooms. I took advantage of the 3 for 2 nights offer which is a perfect offer, otherwise it would be quite expensive for my pocket. Generally I would say that it is a very nice hotel, very close to the centre with very warm service

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIMITRIOS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear DIMITRIOS21,

thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and appreciated our individually designed rooms.

We do offer a variety of packages for different occasions and on weekends and we hope to welcome you back, maybe with our weekend package, soon again.

Best regards from Graz,

Your Schlossberghotel - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great boutique hotel in a great location with absolutely wonderful staff. Only complaint is the smoking in the lobby which carries throughout the hotel. Rooms however were non smoking (which was a plus).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recently spent three nights at Schlossberg Hotel and we decided to stay here based on TripAdvisor reviews. The Schlossberg Hotel is one of those ancient buildings in Graz that has been fully restored and maintained, protecting this wonderful city's heritage. We easily found the hotel using a car navigator and we parked on the street curb as there was no other place for unloading luggage. An efficient and friendly bellhop assisted us with the luggage and then parked my car in the hotel's parking area. While there was a garage available, I noted that my car remained parked outside of the garage.

We were warmly greeted upon checking into the hotel and the check-in process was smooth a flawless. I'd like to point out that throughout the duration of our stay; the entire hotel staff was most friendly and helpful.

Public areas were nicely decorated and there were wall-to-wall paintings and artwork everywhere. It seemed to be almost like a museum rather than a hotel. Don't get me wrong, I love art; however there was no rhyme or reason to this display. Another, what I believe to be artistic statement, is the lobby seating furniture that was all mismatched. The seating was comfortable and abundant, however, nothing matched. I just found this to be odd. There was also a lobby bar open 24/7, though I didn't wake up at 3:30 a.m. to confirm the bar was still open.

Our room located on the third floor was quiet and overlooked the tramway and river. With old-world charm, one must anticipate surrendering modern day comforts. The room was decorated with rustic antique furniture that was pleasing to look at, though not very functional. Everything creaked and squeaked as you opened wardrobe doors and dressers. Seating, a padded bench under a mansard low ceiling was not suitable to sit on as I hit my head several times on the ceiling. This mansard ceiling was a problem throughout our stay at Schlossberg Hotel. The writing desk and chair were the only suitable place to sit. The parquet flooring also made a great deal of squeaking noise and I hope we didn't disturb guests staying on the second floor.

The bathroom was small and also had the mansard ceiling so I could not stand up straight while taking a shower, Limited bathroom amenities were available (shampoo, shower gel and body lotion). The towels were big and comfortable. Bathroom plumbing fixtures could also be modernized.

The worst part of our stay at Schlossberg was the bed mattress as we both woke every morning with sore backs. The low bed is almost at floor level which made getting up and down a pain for a big guy like me. Bed linens were very good and the bed comforter, comforted! We also had turn-down service that nice in the evenings.

While the service was exceptional and most kind, I don't anticipate returning to Schlossberg Hotel simply for the poor sleep quality and lack of seating in our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Schlossberg Hotel for 2 nights recently and had a great experience. It is close enough to town so you can walk in easily. It is a nice blend of traditional hotel rooms but renovated to be sleek and contemporary. The staff were excellent and really friendly. We started in a room on the groundfloor near to the dining room, but asked to be moved. We then had a great room at the front, 2 floors up with a great view over the river and nice and light. The staff were concerned about the noise from the trams but we hardly noticed them. Great breakfast which might be included in your room rate and the parking is really easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ns679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Hotel Zum Dom
#10 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Innere Stadt
Hotel Gollner
Hotel Gollner
#19 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossberg Hotel

Property: Schlossberg Hotel
Address: Kaiser-Franz-Josef-Kai 30, Graz 8010, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#1 Business Hotel in Graz
#1 Spa Hotel in Graz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlossberg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Schlossberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossberg Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing