We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric, friendly and traditional hotel.”
Review of Schlossberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schlossberg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, friendly and traditional hotel.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a reliable hotel, with comfortable rooms and a great location for both the city centre (a stroll along the road) and the Schlossberg itself (100m from the train-car station.)
Friendly and helpful staff - and there is an excellent breakfast buffet available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGreatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    111
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
246
35
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The first contact with the hotel was friendly and easy. The doorman who took care of our car and brought our luggage to our room, was very friendly and service minded. The reception and the staff at the hotel was very kind and professional. At last the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyemmons .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 5 times in 2013/14 and I have to reckon one thing clearly stands out: quality of service. The staff is very attentive to your needs, always ready to help, polite, and most importantly effective: the service is delivered in time and with quality.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the front, too susceptible to street noise, especially early morning when the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedmoroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Love the building and interior decoration of this hotel. We come every year and so far each room we've seen has been different - and lovely! The rooms are elegant, one-of a kind and super cleanly. There is not a hint of typical hotel-decor anywhere. I love the mini-pool and small hotel gardens which provide a splendid view over the old part of the city plus the feeling of privacy outdoors. Very friendly staff.
For us, Schlossberg hotel is its own "sight." This is not an accommodation, this is a place to hang out.

Room Tip: doesn't matter much, all have been fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Simone L.,

we are deeply honored that you consider our hotel as a sight on its own and we thank you for the lovely words of praise you found. The individuality and extravagance of our rooms and our hotel is our greatest pride and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much again.

We always enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Until then we send you sunny wishes from Graz,

Your Schlossberghotel – Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel has its own identity, that is true. However I did not find it a very special or particularly appealing identity. It was fine. The pool and terrace area are really very nice. The location is extremely central. We had an issue with using the garage offered by the hotel and dont recommend using it. First, the staff needed to retrieve your car from the garage are not around always so you may wait for half an hour or longer for them to appear. Another thing, the garage is an automated garage, not a garage where you drive the car in and then walk out. The system operating the garage often has fall outs, which adds to the time you have to wait for your car. I advise asking the hotel for other close by parking options, since access to ones car is really not something one can wait for so long, if the stay is just a short few days. The breakfast was good. The rooms vary in size and generally, so if you dont like the one you get, ask if they have something different available. We received a recommendation for a restaurant Hofkeller by the hotel and i can see in the reviews of said restaurant that its often recommended by this hotel. However, we were treated quite rudely at this restaurant. Apparently the restaurant has changed owners recently, so that may be the reason. So, if you eschew the recommendations and the garage, you should have a nice but in no way spectacular stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlossberghotelGraz, Manager at Schlossberg Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kleitos,

thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinion and your experiences. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties with our underground garage. As this is a quite complicated technical system we do have some issues from time to time. But be assured, we are working on it and the whole system will be revised and brought up-to-date in the next months. We have also taken some measures concerning our staff to make sure that there is someone available to help with the parking at any time. If our guests do not wish to wait for their car being brought from the garage to the entrance of the hotel, we do offer the possibility for them to pick it up at the garage themselves.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, as well as our roof top terrace and our rooms. Especially the roof top garden is a hidden gem in Graz and always worth a visit.

I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your dinner in the Hofkeller. As you mentioned, there has been a change in management and we will check the restaurant ourselves now before making another recommendation for it.

We do hope to welcome you again though to make sure that next time, we will be able to make your stay a spectacular one.

Best regards from Graz,

Your Schlossberghotel - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great central location right in the heart of Graz, beautiful old building. But the best of all is their staff who are real hosts rather than just employees. The team at the reception was particularly helpful with restaurant recommendations and generally made us feel "at home". Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful, traditional 5 star hotel with a history, located near the centre of Graz. The staff at the reception was very helpful and understanding. Breakfast in the conservatory was really nice place to sit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a step, I prefer the room without a step.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
478 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
737 reviews
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#9 of 75 in Graz
478 reviews
Hotel Zum Dom
#10 of 75 in Graz
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlossberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlossberg Hotel

Property: Schlossberg Hotel
Address: Kaiser-Franz-Josef-Kai 30, Graz 8010, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Graz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#1 Spa Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlossberg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Schlossberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlossberg Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing