We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place of no return”
Review of Hotel Weitzer Graz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Weitzer Graz
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were booked into this hotel as part of a Travelmarvel tour group.
The reception area was very inviting and the receptionist was friendly, but that is where the good part ended. To get to our room we were banished to an attached building having to traverse a Warren of passageways, use a service lift, only to find our cell like room with a large 'economy room' sign on the door. The room was the worst we had experienced on our trip and if you wanted to avoid the unsafe lift you had to negotiate a grubby stairwell. Dinner was terrible and breakfast was basic.
The onlypositive comment isthe location of the hotel to the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mr. Ted D,

thank you very much for reviewing your stay here at the hotel Das Weitzer.

I am very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately you didn’t inform us at the reception desk, that you dislike the room that was allocated to you. As a result we didn’t get the opportunity to relocate you during your stay and find something more to your liking.

Our hotel being almost 104 years of age and a listed building, it is not possible for us to knock down walls and rebuild and facilitate the accessibility of our Economy rooms. We do know that it is not the easiest way to reach them, but unfortunately there is not much we can do about it.

We are surprised that you didn’t enjoy your dinner and breakfast at all, since we get lots of positive comments and praise for both.

Dear Mr. Ted D, please accept our apologies and we hope that you might visit us again when you visit Graz next.

Best regards,
Philipp Baumgartner - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Das Weitzer had pretty good reviews, so we didn't hesitate for long to book their cheapest room. :) We didn't have too much of the info about it as we used one of the booking engine which showed not too much.

Arriving to the hotel we found that it had better days before, meaning that the outside look was a bit worn, but OK. The hall was nicely decorated. And here comes the bad part: The lady at the front desk was pretty mean: there was a couple in the line front of us, who probably asked about the parking. Being polite, we didn't pay too much attention of their conversation. But when I dared to ask about the parking, she said: "As you've heard..." As we didn't...

So. Room: The room was clean and good size with desk and comfortable bed. The bathroom was also nice and clean. But all the features and fittings are more to a nice three star, that a four.

The breakfast was great! Also the breakfast room (restaurant) area is really nice.

And finally the location: The hotel is right next to the river, just off the city center. Perhaps couldn't find any better location in town!

Room Tip: If you book the "economy" room, expect to stay NOT in the main building. You have to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laszlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mr. Laszlo K,

thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay here at the hotel Das Weitzer. It is very nice to read that you've enjoyed your time here in Graz.

It is only sad to read, that the reception clerk was not polite and friendly as you. Let me insure you, that we'll talk about this situation you experienced and use it as a case of: “how not to treat our guests”! Being impolite is absolutely a NO GO! We are truly sorry.

Dear Laszlo K, thank you very much once again for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you again at the hotel Das Weitzer.

Best regards,
Philipp Baumgartner - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A classic building with a modernised interior. Our bedroom was minimalist in style with a light airy feel to it. Good aircon - on a very hot day. Sleep quality was excellent with really comfy beds. Staff we most obliging with great english spoken. Breakfast was superb with loads of choice from the extensive buffet. Top quality secure parking and reasonably priced. excellent location across the river from town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Fotofinder,

we are so thrilled that you like our concept! We are happy that you were satisfied with the staff and the comfort of our beds and have had apparently an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for this great review!

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Das Weitzer!

Best regards,
Eva and the Weitzer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I do not share some of the comments regarding staff in some posts, they were incredibly welcoming, friendly, helpful, this went from reception desk to breakfast, regardless of the time of the day. The location was perfect, the room light, modern and spacious, even if these Italian shower heads don't do it for me, I much prefer a real pressure shower.
Breakfast and food was superb and plentiful, very fresh and you could really top up on your 5 (or 7, for the very healthy) a day. 25 minutes from the airport, 20 Euros a cab or a 35 minute-journey by bus for a mere 2.90 Euros.
The overall hotel atmosphere was boutique hotel, but with some nice quirky, individual touches here and there.
One slightly negative comment: even though the room was very clean, the picky Swiss in me could not help noticing finger marks on the large wardrobe mirror and a couple of marks on the wall (probably left by someone carelessly banging their luggage on it) could be painted over. I would also make tariffs for the drinks in the courtesy bar a little more obvious and a bottle of mineral water free of charge should be the norm in this type of hotel. This did not, however, undermine the overall quality and value of what I got. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredT780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear FredT780,

we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Happily and with great pleasure we have passed on your compliments to the staff. Mr. FredT780, thank you so much for taking your time to rate us here on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Das Weitzer!

Best reagrds from Graz,
Eva and the Weitzer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was really impressed with the Weitzer hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming; the room was spacious, comfortable and clean; and breakfast was excellent. My only complaint was the water pressure in the shower was fairly low but that was pretty minor. Sound insulation was excellent and I was able to sleep really well.
Graz is a beautiful place and the central location made this hotel perfect for my short trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear KCParker,

thank you for taking your valuable time writing this nice review! It's a great pleasure reading, that you enjoyed your stay and that you are pleased with our customer service.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards,
Eva and the Weitzer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice hotel, fine design, perfect sound isolation, value for money and I would almost give it 5 stars, but the rather disgruntled, unfriendly lady at the reception did not make for a pleasant check-in and a close to arrogant waiter at the lobby bar made it a 4... Location is great, parking is reasonably priced (Euro 14 per night), rooms are nice and quiet, shower is good and AC worked well.

The restaurant around the corner, The Steirer, is awesome and not to be missed. Breakfast on the street side (Styrian Omelet or "Eier im Glas") is a fine experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear GFK88,

thank you very much for your great review on your stay. We are delighted, that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and the breakfast.

Please trust that we take your feedback regarding the customer service and staff behavior seriously. Rest assured that we pay special attention to this.

We would love to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Eva and the Weitzer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Check in and welcome: Parking garage closeby, but way to hotel is not roofed; check in took a while, because there were a lot of guests checking in at the same time, but - lucky us - the room was already ready, even around noon, staff could be a bit friendlier and more enthusiastic
Room: Very, very spacious, seems new furnished, great interior design, perfect view over the city, pillow quality could be better
Bathroom: Newly furnished, not very big, but spacious enough, nice amentities
Resume: We will definitely stay there again when we are in Graz the next time!

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor facing the Mur river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Weitzer Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear mitzideluxe,

thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the room and the view over the hstoric town of Graz. We're a little bit surprised that our front office staff hasn't been as friendly as you (and we) expect them to be. We will talk to them about your feedback and will do everything to also improve our servce at the front desk.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Marina and the Weitzer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Hotel Wiesler Graz
#4 of 75 in Graz
517 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
603 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#6 of 75 in Graz
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#10 of 75 in Graz
511 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais-Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weitzer Graz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weitzer Graz

Address: Grieskai 12 - 16, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#7 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weitzer Graz 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel 'Das Weitzer' in Graz is just the right hotel for all those who like personable and easy-going. Located in the middle of the city, within 5 minutes walking distance to the main square of Graz, with splendid views of the 'Schloßberg' (city landmark) and on top of everything, it's still good value. From a sensational breakfast in the breakfast room called 'Engelreich', to a cosy drink in front of the fireplace in the Weitzer lounge, the largest hotel in the city has a lot to offer, which is out of the ordinary: traditional food and wine and a gift shop in the restaurant 'Der Steirer', a florist's, the old cafe 'Kaffee Weitzer' and even a wellness area, with sauna, steam bath and fitness machines for working out. Also: nice details like bikes and free WiFi throughout the entire hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Weitzer Graz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weitzer Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing