We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, big rooms, clean & modern”
Review of Hotel Drei Raben

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drei Raben
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, big rooms, clean & modern”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago for a long weekend, me and my Fiancée had a very good experience and would definately go back & use the BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben. The rooms are big and airy, have good size bathroom and all the fixtures and fitting were in very good condition; all in all a great room.The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable We also had an evening meal in the Greek restaurant built into the side of the hotel, this was also top class.
The Hotel is only 10min walk into town passing lots of shops and cafes along the way! Book here, don’t waste your money going elsewhere

Room Tip: We had a non smoking room?? maybe there better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Speedo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
33
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel is typic average city hotel in one of old buildings with a very central location, close to the Old Town and on waliking distance to the train station. The tram stop directly outside the hotel. The room was quite big, decorated in warm colours, and clean. The bathroom was not modern but ok for short stay. The receptionists were helpfull and friendly in all cases. The breakfaste was ok, but the choice of the food was limited and nothing special. Generally good option to stay 1 or 2 nights in Graz.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I really liked the location, we walked to the center, we walked to the trains, everthing you would wish for.
I would suugest to avoid the smokers rooms, no carpet, weird smells but our bedroom was large and so was the bathroom.

Room Tip: As I said avoid the smockers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel does not look like anything special from the outside. It is rather close to the train station, so easily accessible, however, a bit far if you like to spend time in the 'downtown' area of Graz. The hotel has a tiny little reception area and a lift or steps to get to the rooms on the various floors. I had a very lovely room, high ceilings, spacious, very large bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea supplies; however, there is no air conditioning and it was rather hot. When I openned the windows, there was quite a bit of street noise (during the early morning and daytime) and the people living in the building on the opposite side of the street can look directly into the room. Additionally, there was no safe in the room, nor refrigerator. While I really liked the room, I think I would have preferred to stay closer to downtown, and would have at least liked the option of having a fan in my room.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 110 - had really high ceilings; was a very large room but unfortunately faced a rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blitz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Hotel Drei Raben (Best Western) is a modestly nice, though fairly ordinary hotel close to the train station in Graz, perhaps a 15 minute walk from the old town. The hotel is on a busy street, with cars, scooters, and trams making plenty of noise (far less at night, though). Some rooms face the street, others face the courtyard, so you'd probably want one facing the courtyard, if possible; there isn't exactly a sweet view of the street – at least, there wasn't much of a view from my room. I checked in at about 15:00 but the hotel was already booked, and I was told all the “courtyard-facing rooms” were already taken.

You can close the windows in your room if you want to keep out the noise, but the hotel is not air conditioned, so if it's hot outside, your room may be unpleasantly hot at night. (There was a fan in my room, however.) It wasn't that hot during my brief stay, so I kept the windows open until I went to bed and the room was fine – noise wasn't an issue. However, I wouldn't risk staying here in the summer.

Some rooms at the Drei Raben are apparently pretty small. I had a “King room” (discount via Costco Travel) which was quite spacious. The room was modern and clean, with a good bathroom, good water pressure, etc. (standard tiny shower for a European hotel room).

The hotel has wireless internet that worked well for me – in fact, it was completely open. No password or even room number was required.

Breakfast was routine but tasty: the usual meats/cheeses/rolls plus pastries, fruits, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. There is a Greek restaurant in the hotel you could try for lunch/dinner, but I did not eat there.

As noted, it's an easy walk from the train station to the hotel, but the hotel is right on several tram lines, and you might find it convenient to buy a 24 hour tram pass (buy onboard the tram from a machine) to use to take the trams to take you from the train station to the hotel and then into the old town and beyond. I was carrying camera equipment and found the tram very convenient and time-saving for my brief stay.

I'd recommend the hotel conditionally: only if not hot outside (summer). I found it convenient because I was staying only a single night, but for a multi-night stay I might look for a different place that cost a bit less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

It has been chosen thinking that beeing a best western and in graz could be a guaranty but the hotel is really bad. The room was small, sad and old. There is no air conditioning and Windows cannot be kept opened since the hotel is located on the corner of two noisy streets. The breakfast is poor and coffee is awful!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Graz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrosani
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Drei Raben. It is located at about five minute walk from the centre of Graz, in a nice location, the receptionist was very helpful and friendly, the room where we stayed was conformtable, spacious and clean, the breakfast was good and the atmosphere from the breakfast room was great with nice music on the background. We will choose again this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda_Soni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Feichtinger Graz Hotel
Lend
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Graz
Ibis Graz
#11 of 75 in Graz
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
B&B Graz
B&B Graz
#19 of 75 in Graz
177 reviews
Gries
Hotel Strasser
Hotel Strasser
#30 of 75 in Graz
153 reviews
Lend
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Hotel Wiesler Graz
#3 of 75 in Graz
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Raben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Raben

Property: Hotel Drei Raben
Address: Annenstrasse 43, Graz 8020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Drei Raben)
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz > Gries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drei Raben 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location & well suited for business or holiday travellers; 10 minute walk to train station and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Drei Raben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Graz
Graz Best Western
Best Western Drei Raben

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing