We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint place”
Review of Welscher Stub'n

Welscher Stub'n
Ranked #8 of 651 Restaurants in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Innere Stadt
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint place”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I love how when you go here that you're given cranberry sauce with your Schnitzel. One of my favourite restaurants in Graz!

Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamPhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    59
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top class Styrian cuisine”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The cuisine of Styria is an interesting mixture of Austrian, Italian i Slovenian influences. Everything at its best can be found at Welscher Stub'n. Nicely located in the Old Town of Graz Stub'n serves excellent meals: everything is fresh, tasty and prepared according to the Styrian style. They have nice selection of the wines from the region. Service is very friendly and English-speaking. That was our favorite place to eat in Graz. The ambiance in nicer that at the restaurants close to the Glockenspiel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Radek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Traditional austrian food in a homey setting”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hearty austrian food on display. Do not miss the local Gosser beer vom fuss, nice, slightly bitter and very tasty. Fast service by the girls. Good hearty food, excellent deserts. Beware of the schnapps at the end of the dinner, they can easily send you to bed earlier..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delightful Austrian dining”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Attended a conference at the Congress Graz in the historic part of town and this restaurant was recommended and only about 20 steps away.

We had an enjoyable experience, with good service that helpfully provided suggestions when asked and had English menus on hand. It has a red and white, nice, traditional looking interior and all the patrons we saw seemed to be Austrian.

One fun aspect was that our guidebook had said "...seasonality is still important to Austrians. This is truest of all for the nations favorite vegetable, asparagus...Austrians use asparagus in every way imaginable this time of year." This turned out to be completely true and were found a list of specials, in addition to the regular menu, of many and various asparagus dishes. My husband had the salmon with asparagus risotto. I had the more tradiitional wiener schnitzel, they offer both a veal and a pork cutlet version.

They have a nice variety of desserts and we ordered their assortment to share -- it had four smaller desserts and all were different and well enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoBusyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the center”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

If you are looking for traditional Austrian cuisine, the Welscher Stubn is definitely worth a visit. Great food, reasonably priced; friendly service.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisT152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welscher Stub'n also viewed

 

Been to Welscher Stub'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing