We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, nothing special”
Review of Hotel Daniel Graz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Graz
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel has a convenient location, being close to the train and subway stations. The old town and shopping streets are close by at walking distances.
The check in and out speed were efficient. There is a free wifi all around the hotel which increases the satisfaction. The reception is helpful to all your questions.
The room is small but enough for business related stays. The rooms facing the road construction side may disturb the family accomodations.
The bar and restaurant provides enough varities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Laquila,

thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!

Kind regards from Graz
Your team from Hotel Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Daniel Graz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Whilst the hotel is very close to the train station - I have to report I did not feel particularly safe in that area walking around. On entering the hotel it has a very retro type feel with mopeds to rent and I was optimistic about the room, whilst we arrived early and were glad we could just leave our bags I was disappointed that this was the first place on our travels that didn't even offer to check if the room was available and just advised us when we could check-in. When we did get into the room there was a horrible musty smell which was actually worse the following day when the maid had been in. Whilst the room is a bit funky, I wouldn't have wanted to share with anyone other than my husband due to the glass wall where from the bed you can see straight into the shower. Mentioning the bed the hotel need to invest in new / extra pillows - I have had the worst two nights sleep of my whole trip, whilst they look plump the minute your head touches them they become as flat as a pancake. On the first morning the maid came into our room at 8.30am, which we felt was far too early. If you are planning on visiting the old town whilst here ensure you catch the tram as it can take 30 minutes walking. Also you will probably find it cheaper to buy drinks from the supermarket in the train station rather than pay the hotel prices. All in all a pretty poor stay and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo82992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Jojo82992,

thank you very much for taking the time and writing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that you didn’t get a good of night of sleep because of our pillows. It is very important for us to know about our guest’s expectation. We are collecting all of our guest’s suggestions in order to take them into account when planning our next do over of the rooms. That’s why we forwarded your feedback to the hotel management.

Regarding the smell in the room I can tell you that we have fixed the problem. Unfortunately our cleaning staff woke you up at 8.30 a.m. – we are very sorry for that. Please be advised that we have already briefed our staff regarding this matter. Next time please let us know at what time you want your room to be cleaned and we make sure that nobody disturbs you before that.

Sadly the hotel surrounding wasn’t what you expected and because of that you didn’t feel safe. The train station area is known to be a safe area within Graz, so no need to feel unsafe at all. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove to that we can do it better.

Kind Regards,
Your Hotel Daniel Graz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is very close to the old town and opposite hauptbanholf . very conveniently located. there is a big plaza right in front and the station is across. very modernistic hotel and staff is very accommodating. Only problem we had is because of some road work is going on and access is difficult to find. if it was not there the hotel connects nicely to the city.
we are a senior couple ,traveling, the only word of caution is that though this hotel works well for business traveler, the toilets have clear glass wall, so only go with your partners.

Room Tip: try and get the roadside rooms with balconies
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitramitra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear mitramitra22,

thank you for takeing you valuable time to write such a nice review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked your stay at our hotel.

See you soon!

Kind regards from Graz
Your Hotel Daniel Graz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel is convenient for an overnight stay in Graz in order to visit friends and have done so before. We usually travel from Vienna by train so the location is good for us.This time we paid the extra and booked a room with a balcony. This was a big mistake as the room overlooked a big advertising screen on a nearby building so the room was constantly illuminated with changing colours[curtains not providing blackout] which was not good for sleeping.As it was also a very warm time we needed the airconditioning on,but found it not very effective and rather noisy. Also you can't keep it running if you leave the room as the electricity is controlled by the keycard so even if you just go out for a meal the room will not stay cool..
We find the rooms in general comfortable and clean although when we arrived there was a used towel in the corner of the shower room.We are used to the one door system and the see- through shower so it does not present a problem for us.
Breakfast not included in the price we paid ,did not need it as were picked up early by friends.As with many Austrian hotels it is rather pricey especially if you don't want much to eat in the morning,but there are cafes by the station where you can get all you need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagittarian_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is very important for us, that our guests feel comfortable during their stay with us. We understand very well that you are upset because the AC was not working during your stay – we already took your feedback to our maintenance team.
You can get extra key cards at the front desk, so that you can cool your room even if you are not in the room.
If you are not a breakfast person you always have the option to choose whatever you want from the buffet table and we will charge you accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back again in our hotel!

Best regards,
Your Hotel Daniel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We received the accommodation brochure from the tourist office in Graz and found a 3 nights weekend package in Hotel Daniel in Graz that included breakfast , 24 hours museum pass and 2 hours free minibike. With this occasion we want to thank Mrs. Karin Schönberger from the Graz Tourismus Information for her assistance with our reservation in this hotel. Hotel Daniel is located 100 meters from the train station in an old building but fully renovated. Our room was at 6th floor, very clean, quiet and with a beautiful view to the city and hill. The center is about 1 km from the hotel . A 24 hours ticket for all transportation is only 4.5 euro and if you stay more they have a weekly ticket for about 12 euro. Our bigger surprise was the breakfast the next morning! It was the best breakfast buffet we found in all Austria! Of sure it will be our hotel at the next visit in Graz!

Room Tip: Ask for city view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear monel,

thank you very much for writing such an great review about our hotel - we are so happy to see, that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Daniel. I have sent the review also to Karin Schönberger - she will be very happy too.

See you soon and Kind regards from Graz
Your team from Hotel Daniel Graz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very nice place to stay for couple of nights.
Services and room were perfect. I appreciated the stuff and the positive attitude they had.
I booked a room here for two nights and may be not payed attention to the name of the room so wee ended in a double room not family room as I expected. I explained the guy from the reception that the room don't suit us and there was no problem changing it and stay o the booked condition.
The only issue we had was with the heating based on the fact that for this period of the year(June) was quite cold and also in the room. They explained us very politely that the heating is not working in spring-summer time and was just fine for us, what should we do else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dacian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Dacian V,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are glad that you were satisfied with our service and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel!
Best regards, Your Hotel Daniel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were hesitant to stay here after reading all the bad reviews about the cleanliness and construction noise. I'm glad we tried it out. We had a room on the fifth floor facing the train station (Loggia type) and did not hear any construction noise. The room was clean, the design nice. Note - the bathroom door doesn't close all the way, so make sure you're travelling with someone you're close with! The breakfast was delicious and the staff helpful in guiding us to the main part of town. As for location - it was extremely convenient with just a short tram ride into the city. I'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the train station.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickendip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Hello,
thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are really glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service and that you had a nice time in Graz.
We hope we may welcome you again soon in our hotel and wish you all the best.
The Daniel- Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Hotel Wiesler Graz
#4 of 75 in Graz
506 reviews
Hotel Weitzer Graz
#7 of 75 in Graz
572 reviews
Ibis Graz
#9 of 75 in Graz
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#5 of 75 in Graz
774 reviews
Lend
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Graz
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Graz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Graz

Address: Europaplatz 1, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz > Lend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Graz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully taken back to basics, moving away from cumbersome hospitality and towards the uncomplicated and a sense of well-being - this is what Hotel Daniel has specialised in. "Smart Luxury" perfectly caters for today's travellers and their requirements: Intelligently equipped rooms, with a timeless, aesthetic design, 'rain-dance' showers in the daytime and free WiFi all over the building. Check in is looked after in the espresso bar, which is open 24 hours and located in the generously sized hotel loft. With a fireplace in the lounge, it's also the perfect place for relaxation and reading or for business, which is already fun by breakfast time here. After all, the breakfast is the best in the city. The Daniel is within 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre and busses and trams run from next to the train station. Or explore the surroundings with the vespas or the original Piaggio Ape Calessino from the Daniel's own 'vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Daniel Graz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing