We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel & great service”
Review of Hotel Wiesler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wiesler
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel & great service”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

There was a mix-up with our booking, so we were assigned a different room category than the one we had specifically booked. While I would have appreciated being told so upon check-in instead of finding out only after entering the room, I'm amazed at how the hotel staff handled the situation. They went out of their way to make up for the inconvenience caused, i.a. offering complimentary room service from the fabulous kitchens of their restaurant 'Speisesaal' and a treatment at the hotel's very own Turkish barber's shop for the bf.

We loved the shabby chic design of the hotel, the wonderful food from 'Speisesaal' as well as the opulent breakfast (buffet and à la carte), but what made our stay special was the courtesy of the hotel staff. We can definitely recommend this hotel and will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandshoes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    193
    64
    26
    12
See reviews for
49
181
20
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

First off, I should state that I work in the hotel industry, and there were many things I did like about the Hotel Wiesler. The location can't be beat, the rooms have wonderful views overlooking the Mur, the breakfast buffet was excellent (with fresh honey still in the honeycomb), and there is an interesting little tea room adjacent to the small fitness center and sauna. It was probably a grand hotel once upon a time, but has been redone in a shabby chic motif, with plywood used in many interesting ways. A couple of the walls in the rooms are intentionally left unfinished. While I can deal with patched walls and handwritten contractor notes in pencil, the red wine stain dripping down the wall from behind the bed was a bit of a stretch for me. It was not an art statement, it was a food stain. We had a superior room (205) that is located directly above the hotel entrance. At night, the light from the hotel marquis shone directly into the room, even with the shades pulled down. While the hotel was kind enough to accommodate us with our early arrival, I'm sure there was another room they could have assigned to us. We only saw 2 other hotel guests the entire time we stayed there, and we never saw anyone on the 2nd floor other than a staff member. The minimalist design was what attracted me to the hotel, but with the exception of a small mini-bar cabinet at the entrance, and a few hangers, there is no place to store your travel gear. We had our clothing laid out across our bags along the floor, and it never felt like we had settled in. The BBC channel was not available, and all the American movies and TV shows were dubbed in German. There is no coffeemaker in the room, and no place to get coffee in the wee morning hours. Coffee is served by request on a cup by cup basis in the restaurant, and is average at best. The smell of cigarette smoke is quite strong in the public areas. The dirty tea cups we left at the computer station were still there when we checked out 2 days later, which really surprised me. But all in all, it was an OK stay. I would probably not return, nor could I recommend this hotel to mature travelers or anyone staying more than 1 or 2 nights. The hotel is not designed for that market segment.

Room Tip: Consider the sister hotel, Das Weitzer, located one block down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrekker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Globetrekker62, thank you for your feedback! We are pleased, that you like our breaktfast. Relating to our rooms, the rooms are finished. Our rooms and the whole hotel have a new acceptionally style. Unfortunately we cannot undo your bad experience but we are really sorry that your stay was not perfect. Kind Regards, your Wiesler-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

It seems the interior decorator(s) were left unchecked during the recent renovations. The
lobby now looks like an airport check in, the rooms have unfinished plaster walls (intentionally), open shower is a meter from the bed, and plywood furniture / tv frame / accents.

Ganz Cool gone ganz bad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Scott F, thank you for your feedback.
Our Lobby and also a part of the rooms, has since this summer an acceptionally design. We started with a new concept in Graz. The feedback till this day was definitely positiv.
Unfortunately we cannot undo your bad experience but we are really sorry that our new design do come up to your expectations.
Kind regards, your Wiesler-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

In general, the hotel is OK, just be careful about this otel.com, because you cannot know that for a MUCH higher price than e.g. booking.com (where rooms are very nice) you will get a small room on the fifth floor with a tiny and dirty window overlooking the city (the first option, before asking the receptionist to give us another room, was even worse: view at the wall of another buidling). Breakfast is excellent with a very gracious waiter. Graz is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Dreamy H.,
thank you for taking the time to post your comment.
It is certainly not our attempt to confuse our guest.
In the hotel business, like in any other business, the price policy is depending on the demand and capacity. Therefore prices will change according to the demand.
A business will make the decision to offer special in order to attract the guests to fill up the hotel during a slow month.
Kind regards, Your Wiesler-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Weisler is a nice hotel to stay in Graz, but it has some quirks. The budget rooms are on the fifth floor and are excellent in dry weather - but when it rains the noise of the rain beats down onto the roof and stopped some of our party from sleeping. And on our final night there was a party going on downstairs with the sound reverberating throughout the building and a strong smell of smoke seeping into the bedrooms (despite officially being non-smoking). I couldn't get the shower to work properly, but the bathtub was OK.
Having said that, beds are comfortable, and the breakfast buffet is excellent, overseen by an art deco mural, reminiscent of Botticelli's Venus. If you have time, they'll cook to order dishes like scrambled egg with pumpkin seed oil. The hotel is a little self-consciously "hip", but is quite relaxed. And it's a convenient location just a short walk from the city centre and very close to a tram stop.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the fifth floor if it's going to rain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discovering cornwall
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel does in no way correspond to the presumptuous way it presents and describes itself on its website, promising a "great atmosphere", "great people" and much more which we didn't find there. Arrogant texts on signs and posters throughout the hotel try to convince the guests that they are in a "great" hotel - - the management is probably alone with this opinion ...
The lobby has the charm of a bus station - cold, loud, drafty, and very ugly. The receptionists were either all new on the job or completely incompetent. The information on where to park our car we got at check-in, was referred to as "totally wrong" on the next day, topped by "I have no idea where you can leave your car" on the third day.
We had written confirmation of our booking including "view of Schlossberg". When we came into our room on the third floor the "view" was into the inner yard formed by grey walls rising 5 stories high and giving us just a tiny glimpse of the sky. When we complained at the reception we were sent to another, much smaller room, with a view of part of the city, but not the "Schlossberg". Some workers were just repairing the bathroom .... . The helpless receptionist insisted there was no other room. We settled for the first room, which was so dark that we had to turn on the light at any time of the day.
The room was big, but not very functional. In addition, one light wasn't working, the TV (badly situated) didn't respond to the remote control, the safe didn't lock ....
The room key was attached to a huge metal figurine, probably to make it look "special". Handing in the key at the reception when going out was a big mistake. Upon our return we first had to wait for ever as the (only) receptionist was arguing with other guests about their reservation. When we finally asked for our key she couldn't find it ! She ran into a back office to look ... eventually (after about 20 minutes) she "found" the key on the floor behind the reception desk. After that we carried the heavy key around with us ....
Breakfast was ok, but, again, in no way special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbow51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear rainbow51,
thank you for your feedback.
First of all we want to apologize for your negative experience made in our Hotels.
The Hotel Wiesler is an independent hotel since 11th May 2010 and so we had an exeptional concept at our Hotel.
It seems as there was a big misunderstanding at the reception desk for which we would like to say sorry. Unfortunately we cannot undo your bad experience but we are really sorry that your stay wasn’t as wonderful as you have expected.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at the Wiesler in Graz for only 2 nights while attending a conference early in September. I found the hotel had a very fresh and funky feeling which gave the older building an edginess. The room was clean, quite standard but functional as was the bathroom and I had a wonderful view over the old town from my window. Unfortunately the Wifi wasn't very strong in my room on the 5th floor, but there was good connectivity downstairs. They also had a computer and printer for the use of guests and this was incredibly useful for me. The front desk was particularly helpful in a variety of aspects and I appreciated their assistance tremendously. The breakfasts were great, wonderful spread of cheeses and a good variety of other delicious breakfast options. The location of the Wiesler is excellent if you want to be close to the Old Town, it is literally across the street from the main square and within walking distance of many wonderful shopping areas, restaurants and conference centers. There is also a trendy restaurant/bar on the ground floor of the hotel. This is a great hotel option in Graz.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheezela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
552 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
578 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#8 of 75 in Graz
478 reviews
Hotel Zum Dom
#10 of 75 in Graz
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiesler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiesler

Property: Hotel Wiesler
Address: Grieskai 4-8, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz > Lend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#6 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wiesler 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wiesler, in the heart of Graz, has abandoned splendour and star ratings – but not the good old days. Fresh details such as a traditional shave from our female barber, a Turkish bath or military bikes for hire round off the whole experience. At the ‘Speisesaal’ restaurant (open all day), the day begins with breakfast beneath street art covering an entire wall and is finished off with international dishes and soul vinyl music. Only a few minutes’ walk from Schloßberg and Kunsthaus, the Wiesler is the perfect base for a city tour. And those who still have to work will find free WiFi throughout the hotel. ‘Re-interpreted luxury’ feels comfortingly light at Hotel Wiesler – for all those who expect more than just a good bed and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wiesler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing