We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed in Grand Hotel Wiesler 1 night on my way to Crostia. Had a good meal in the restaurant, which is not fancy but serves good quality.
The room was spacious and noise-free despite being at the front (street) side of the hotel.
However, this is a design hotel. One aspect of this is that they apparently do not believe in curtains. There were only some flimsy Venetian blinds. This meant that I woke up at 6 am with the sun in my face. If you want to avoid this, perhaps a room at the back of the hotel is better, but don't expect that you can make it really dark.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

I was recommend this hotel by a friend and I decided to ignore the rather negative batch of reviews I saw here. I can only say I'm very glad that I did!
The room was exceptional - it was the medium suite for €99 - for which I pretty well got a whole apartment. Everything was clean and tidy, beds comfortable. I think the mattress is a futon type of mattress so maybe a little harder than typical of hotels, but personally I don't mind.
The style of the hotel was great - loved the quirkiness, loved the handwritten stuff, and loved the jokes. Dont understand those below who are whingeing about that - such a relief to find a hotel with personality and not just a corporate clone!
The hotel suits Graz perfectly - an arty and fun city - and only 3 mins walk across the bridge. The hotel is on the river front.
The breakfast is by far the best I've found so far in Austria!
Parking is easy - they have a private garage on the road behind the hotel. You need to get a pass from reception which will allow you to come and go as you please without having to pay extra. I think it was €13 for the day parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcGWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lajos G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had very mixed feelings about my stay here. We stayed in the Romantik suite which was spacious and clean. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. And we enjoyed the convenient location. However, there was an unavoidable creak in the floor. It annoyed me and my husband, and I felt bad for any guests that may have been staying in the room below us. At the same time, I was greatful that there were no creaks in the floor above us. Normally, I don't comment on decor, but this is the exception. My first impression of the lobby is that we may have made a huge mistake choosing this hotel. The lobby does not give you the impression of a "Grand" hotel at all. In fact, it is quite off-putting. I thought perhaps we had somehow come in the back entrace. Again, I had the same impression upon entering our room. The first thing I noticed upon steping into the bedroom was the dirty "white" chaise. This gave me the impression that the room may not be clean. Perhaps white is not a good choice of decor for a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Too trendy, too wacky - staff un-attentive bordering on rude. Trendy shower flooded room. No bar to speak of , no comfortable seating areas - cold and trendy - in my personal view focuses on being trendy over and above the customer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RgePage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The location is nice and practical : right on the river Mur and for the city you only have to cross a short bridge. I'd say the hotel was designed for the young and urban : our room was "unfinished" (by purpose), with lots of plywood, with open shower, with hand-written notes - on the other hand there was absolutely no space for storing our clothing (so I was happy we spent only one night there). The receptionist wasn't extremely friendly, but what I found really annoying was the fact that she didn't mention, or even better didn't hand us the card, needed to activate the electricity in our room (so we had to get down again...).
The breakfast was exceptinally rich and fine though !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The location of the hotel is great, central to shops, restaurants and the museum.

Unfortunately my flight to Graz was cancelled the night before and a 2 night stay turned into a single night - the hotel was notified and only charged my colleague for one night but did not extend the same courtesy to me :shrug:

The room itself was quite good, a little worn but mostly comfortable, (I found the bed a touch too hard for my liking), a few of the features listed in the hotel guide book on the table were not featured in my room - the door was my issue! Old style keys might add to the charm (?) but with only one key and two locks, the top lock slightly snibs as you close the door and I literally had to shoulder charge my way into my room everytime I wanted to get back in. Annoying.

Check in staff weren't overly helpful but not rude either, the person manning the desk when I checked out was much friendlier.

Room Tip: Beds were too hard for me, personal preference however
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blankets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Hotel Weitzer Graz
#7 of 76 in Graz
590 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 76 in Graz
603 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais-Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#6 of 76 in Graz
799 reviews
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#11 of 76 in Graz
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiesler Graz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiesler Graz

Address: Grieskai 4-8, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz > Lend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#6 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wiesler Graz 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wiesler, in the heart of Graz, has abandoned splendour and star ratings – but not the good old days. Fresh details such as a traditional shave from our female barber, a Turkish bath or military bikes for hire round off the whole experience. At the ‘Speisesaal’ restaurant (open all day), the day begins with breakfast beneath street art covering an entire wall and is finished off with international dishes and soul vinyl music. Only a few minutes’ walk from Schloßberg and Kunsthaus, the Wiesler is the perfect base for a city tour. And those who still have to work will find free WiFi throughout the hotel. ‘Re-interpreted luxury’ feels comfortingly light at Hotel Wiesler – for all those who expect more than just a good bed and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Wiesler Graz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing