We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice view, nice breakfast -what more do you want?”
Review of Hotel Wiesler Graz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wiesler Graz
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel was a recommendation by a local friend so I was very sceptical.
Finding the hotel and the garage was easy, the satellite navigation and hotel website instructions are more than adequate.
Room was large, I liked the wooden floor.
As I was on my own I did not mind the open shower and washing area in the room.
Fifth floor view onto the old town over the river was a nice bonus.

The only negative was the door stopper in front of the minibar and the only table where you can logically put any stuff off your hands when arriving into the room. I kicked it twice.

Some people here have been critical of the variety and cost of the breakfast.
I found that very much more than the normal central European standard breakfast.
Could not find anything really missing, perhaps the boiled eggs that were to be had at extra cost. Scrambled eggs were not good, overcooked and luke warm.
Bircher müsli was excellent.

Service was very nice and polite at all departments.
The sauna is a bit too German for my Scandinavian liking.

The Venezuelan girl who das the shaving is worth a trip alone here!

Would I come back? Definitely!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear jari L,

many thanks for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. It is a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed our customer service and that your hotel room was to your satisfaction. Happily we have passed on your compliments to the staff.
Thanks for your feedback regarding the breakfast buffet, we will pay extra attention to this kind of situation in the future. We are also glad that you informed us about the door stopper - it is very important for us to know about our guests’s expectations, only this way we can improve and deliver services meet them.

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,
Andrea from the Hotel Wiesler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wiesler Graz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nice location, view, food, services. Till 2008 they didn't have internet in the rooms, but it was solved the problem. The hotel has a sauna in the new rooms are nicer than the old ones. Tradition is the flag of this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Leonardo R,

thank you for your positive comments about our property and we are very pleased that you felt comfortable staying with us.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel soon again.

Kind reards,
the Hotel Wiesler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

General very good hotel in excellent central location. Rooms are a nice size with good linens and warm duvets. Internet works well and is free. Breakfast is Euro 15 which is a little steep for what you get. Hotel restaurant is casual with a good but limited menu. The restaurant is always busy with locals which is a good sign.

The gym has only 3 machines: a treadmill, a bicycle and a weight machine. Sauna and steam room are good.

The hotel tries hard to be hip, with cute sayings on the walls and an unusual room layout and furnishings. But it all works and is comfortable.

Only negatives are that the service is kind of non-existent, not bad, but they don't make you feel welcome. Also the restaurant is not open for lunch, although there are choices within walking distance.

I've stayed there twice and will stay again. Compared to the Augarten it is similar in quality and price but in a much better location. The Augarten is in the middle of nowhere, about 20 or 25 minute walk from the city center

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Corey M,

thank you for your detailed feedback and helpful information. With your assessment, we can improve our strategy. Your detailed note about our rooms and the spa area are great!

It´s a pity, that our breakfast does not meet your expectations. Because we think, it’s different from other hotels and normally we get positives feedback on that.
Please forgive us and the poor behaviour of the service staff. This is normally not the case, and we are sorry that it has happened to you this time! We will make sure that all employees are aware of these point!

We hope to welcome you to our hotel soon again!

Kind regards
Natascha Weber – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

at first the hotel seems a bit hip and trendy. then you realize we are in graz, so that is not a bad thing. the rooms were exactly as they appeared online, the staff was wonderful and the place was clever, comfortable, chic. central to the city and a short walk from the train lines, i would highly recommend a comfortable night's sleep at this boutique hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear steve d,

thank you so much for your nice review at Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you liked our special style and your room.

Hope to see you again soon in Graz
Your team from Hotel Wiesler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had never been to Graz prior to this trip and other than another hotel in town that was sold out I had no recommendations. My corporate travel website had this hotel listed with an approved rate and I am so glad I chose the Wiesler. It is about a 20 minute / euro cab ride from the airport and the location is fantastic. While it's not on the same side of the river as the historical old town, it is an easy walk and the view of the river can't be beat. I walked all over Graz in my few days in town and the hotel was a great home base.

I really liked the eclectic mix of the modern remodel and classic/period elements. It made for a unique hotel experience. My room was large for a European hotel and was comfortable. I had both a free standing tub and shower. My room had a lot of windows which was nice, and while the street below could be busy the noise was pretty much not noticeable.

The breakfast buffet was a real treat. Most hotel buffets, including in Europe in my experience, are limited in selection and the food is tasteless and not fresh. This was not the case at the Wiesler. There was a large assortment of breads, cheeses, meats, yogurt, cereals, etc. You could even cut your own ham and block cheese. The coffee was good and served by waiters not from a pot at the buffet.

I had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant - which ever night was quite busy contrary to most hotel restaurants. I got the sense that even locals eat here. I had a burger which they claimed was the best in Austria. I can say it was the closest thing to an American style burger that I've ever had in Europe - so kudos.

In summary, I would gladly stay at the Wiesler should I have the occasion to return some day. It also would be good for both business travelers and those on vacation.

By the way, Graz is a fantastic little city so if you haven't been and are not sure and are looking at Trip Advisor it is well worth it. The scale is perfect - big enough to not be boring but small enough to be on a human scale.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room that faces the river, the view is quite nice. I had a suite on the 4th fl...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Jon H,

thank you very much for your nice review and that you desribe your stay at our hotel so detailed - we are very happy about that :)

As we can see on your description you stayed in one of our big and new Extra rooms - what a great decision!
As we are in the city center we have sound-proof windows in all rooms to not be disturbed from the traffic.
We are pleased to read that you liked our buffet breakfast too - and yes in our restaurant vis-á-vis there are many locals coming every evening - by the way: thank you for your praise our burgers - we are very proud that you compare our burgers with american ones :)

So we hope to see you soon again to discover more about our city and its secrets!

Warm regards to Washington
Your Hotel Wiesler Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed in Graz 5 times over the years and by far this quality Hotel is the best find. The hotel is on the river and 10 minutes walking to the main shopping street. Parking is no problem because they give 24 hrs at a city garage 5 minute walk away for 3 euro. Buffet breakfast was more than anyone could ask. The hotel, although classic in every way, has just been totally renovated. Even the smallest rooms have very large twin beds and perfectly redone bathrooms. You really do not have to have a larger room, unless you want to splurge.
Wifi throughout is free.

Room Tip: Corridors are short so I would ask for a room farthest from an elevator. The location is quiet in an...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear flipvip,

thank you so much for your nice and extensive review on tripadvisor - we are very happy about it. We are very pleased that you liked your stay and that the rooms and the breakfast where to your taste.

Kind regards from Graz
Your Hotel Wiesler team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you remember this hotel from the time when it was the leading, 5 star hotel in Graz, you will be quite confused. Nowadays, it is non-categorized hotel that differ a lot from other hotels because they do all the things differently and give a special personal touch. There is a wide variety of sizes and styles of the rooms, so be careful during the booking. Some rooms are classical (as they were before, but a bit worn) and the others are non-conventional with different details like old typing machine placed on the working table, a guitar, binocular, etc. There are also some rooms that, instead of classical bed, have only mattresses placed on the podium that covers almost the whole room... So, choose what you prefer. The rooms facing the river have good view, others not that good at all (look at the small side streets or roofs - nothing to see).
The breakfast was good, staff ok.
The disadvantage is the fact that they do not have the parking places, so you need to park at the public city garage (placed close to the other hotel from the group - Weitzer). You pay the parking at the hotel and they give a discount.
The best thing is definitely the location. The hotel is just a few steps from the main sights in Graz.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have great view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler Graz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Issa1,

first of all we would like to say thank you for your effort writing such a nice and detailed review on Tripadvisor about our Hotel Wiesler. We are pleased that you like our new concept - that gives us courage to continue to be diffenrent from the other Hotels.

We hope seeing you soon again at your next Graz stop! :)

Kind regards to beautiful Croatia
Your team from Hotel Wiesler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Hotel Weitzer Graz
#7 of 75 in Graz
571 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
591 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#5 of 75 in Graz
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#11 of 75 in Graz
497 reviews
Hotel Zum Dom
#10 of 75 in Graz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiesler Graz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiesler Graz

Address: Grieskai 4-8, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz > Lend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#6 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range: £83 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wiesler Graz 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wiesler, in the heart of Graz, has abandoned splendour and star ratings – but not the good old days. Fresh details such as a traditional shave from our female barber, a Turkish bath or military bikes for hire round off the whole experience. At the ‘Speisesaal’ restaurant (open all day), the day begins with breakfast beneath street art covering an entire wall and is finished off with international dishes and soul vinyl music. Only a few minutes’ walk from Schloßberg and Kunsthaus, the Wiesler is the perfect base for a city tour. And those who still have to work will find free WiFi throughout the hotel. ‘Re-interpreted luxury’ feels comfortingly light at Hotel Wiesler – for all those who expect more than just a good bed and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Wiesler Graz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing