We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit strange”
Review of Hotel Wiesler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wiesler
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a bit strange”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good location not far from the old city center. Very strangely decorated in a way that does not blend well with the old style of the building. Not that accessible for disabled. Seemed to be understaffed at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nibrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear nibrs,

thank you for taking your valuable time writing your review on the Hotel Wiesler. We appreciate it. It is a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

We regret to hear that the design of our property did not come to your satisfaction – our concept is different, but we are sure that it is the right way for us.

Regarding the “understaffed” we kindly ask you to contact us – info@hotelwiesler.com – we are keen speaking to you personally about what exactly happened.

Best regards,
Natascha Weber - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    190
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
49
178
20
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here was satisfactory but no more really.

I liked the quirkiness but it didn't wow me.

First impressions were that the location was great. Near the river however my room was obstructed by tree so couldn't see the river.

When I checked in the hotels computer system was down so they didn't know what room I booked. I booked via hotels.com for a superior double. This doesn't translate for the rooms on offer so I think I got an independent?

The room was nice with some funny features. Binoculars? Fair enough. The shower was great - rain shower type. However there was no real surface to use for a laptop which was fairly essential for me.

I ate in the restaurant in the evening. It was dead but there was no problem with this. I went for the Thai curry which was fine. Could have been spicier but that's personal preference.

Also had breakfast in the morning which was massively overpriced. Had an average selection of fruit, cold meats etc. I wouldn't bother next time.

The staff were great. Helpful at every request so couldn't fault here at all.

Overall I wasn't wowed but only stayed a night so was fine for my needs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glazeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Glazey Boy,

we truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of our hotel. It is a great pleasure reading that you have been pleased with our customer service and that your hotel room and also our restaurant was to your satisfaction.
We regret to read that you had a negative impression of our breakfast, because we always try to provide a various selection of products and normally get a very positive feedback. Regarding the Internet usage, we have to apologize that it was not working well. Whenever we will have the pleasure to welcome you as a guest again, please feel free to contact us directly during your stay – so that we can take immediate actions to improve our service.

Again we want to thank you for your detailed feedback. Knowing this, we will do our outmost to improve to the even better.

We are hoping to see you again

Kind regards
Natascha Weber - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulln, Austria
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After not having been here for years, I have decided to book again, because of the proximity to the city centre.

I was really impressed by the new appearance of the lobby, the bike repair station, restaurant and alike.
Staff has been very friendly and helpful and I was really excited how my room would look like.

This was when reality kicked in.
Unfortunately the room's interior coulnd't keep up with the lobby's fresh design as it was late 80'2/early 90's style and apparently in use since then

so a 4* for lobby, restaurant and staff
but a meagre 2,5' for the room and the not so proper expectation management...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jasys,
it's a great pleasure reading that you've been really impressed by our lobby and our friendly staff. Thanks for this compliment, which I will definitely forward to my colleagues.
In our hotel we offer four different room categories: You can choose our art-nouveau-style „Small“ and „Medium“ – I think this might was your room category - or our "Independent" and "Extra" category, which are in a modern urban style and would definitely impress you the same way our lobby did.
Whenever we will have the pleasure to welcome you as a guest again, please feel free to contact us directly and we'll definitely find the perfect room for you! Looking forward to welcoming you soon!
Kind regards
Natascha Weber – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well when was the last time that you had a bicycle repair shop in the lobby of your hotel?
Or a room with a giant bed on the floor and little else?
Or a a barber shop chair in your room?

Well you can live it all in this hotel.
I had to ask to change my room as I was blessed with a bed, on the floor, and little else. The second room was fine.

So list this hotel as quircky. Don't ask me why.

It appear to be popular and the rest of my stay was fine.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you register
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tytaany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Tytaany,

many thanks vor taking your valuable time, writing this review about your stay. It's a great pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay. And you're right - our hotel is not like many others. We are proud of it!

Best reagards,
Eva and the Wiesler team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice hotel, with a parking located in another building, 100 meters away. Main building located on the river, in center of Graz. Ground floor of the hotel is also a restaurant, good beer served there. Rooms are a little bit old but very big. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukša F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Globe6,

many thank for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. We appreciate it.

The hotel is one of the few remaining original buildings in the area. It is our aim to continuously improve the facilities and design of each room category.

When you'll come back, please aks the reservations clerk for an Independent or Extra room – that´s are our new Desing rooms!

Kind regards,
Natascha Weber – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our experience overall was excellent. This quirky hotel is designed for the young business person who wants cleanliness, efficiency, an understated feel of being looked after without any fuss. Having stayed in the main hotel as well as the annexe next door, I would recommend the main Wiesler without reservation. The reception is very quirky, with a bike workshop, displays of custom made bikes and trendy bike magazines, hardly surprising for a bike mad city like Graz. Our room overlooked the River Mur and was very comfortable. We made use of the sauna (no charge) and were impressed by the attentive service at Reception, for whom nothing was too much trouble. It is easy to tell when a hotel is well looked after and properly cleaned and we could not fault the Wiesler here. The restaurant could be improved with a more skilled chef and lower levels of music, but the glorious golden Klimt breakfast room was a joy to behold.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unatuna4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear unatuna4,

many thanks for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. It’s a great pleasure reading, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our design.

We hope to welcome you soon again in the Hotel Wiesler!

Best regards from Graz,
Eva and the Wiesler team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Welcome, was very professional done by Ms. Andrea, attentive, informative, friendly,
The change of the room type was not a problem at all; we didn’t like the independent room.
We choose the large room classic 317; you should to the same if you stay more than one overnight.
She offered the parking just beyond the Hotel for the well calculate price of Euro 14.- per day.

So far I am running every day, I need the sauna in the morning, up to the Grazer Uhrturm,
Afterwards the sauna was ready to use.

The SPA are is very nice and cozy Tearoom, a small Gym, Sauna and steam bath as well.

The Breakfast you may find in a very extraordinary room, with natural Styria products like at the ecological farmer houses. Great opening time until 11:00am

The a la carte Restaurant named “Speisesaal” is the Hotels first offer for diner, stylish and well booked every day, the kitchen is based on local product and dishes done by I creative Chef.

Our last day check out by Ms. Andrea she is like the soul of the welcome team, a very sweet smile, and the right attitude for receiving and handling customers.

The Chambermaids are well organized and friendly, greeting you at any time, the same for the waiters at the lobby and diner Bar.

We recommend it to those who appreciate it, to stay in a non-standard hotel.

Global-Local-Personalized; thank you well done

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLeisure365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Wiesler, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear JAUrlaub,

wonderful comments like yours bring us great pleasure and gratitude. Thank you for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. It is indeed very important to us that our guests always feel welcome. Of course, your praising words have been forwarded to Andrea.

Kind regards,
Eva and the Hotel Wiesler team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Hotel Das Weitzer
#7 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Hotel Zum Dom
#10 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Innere Stadt
Hotel Gollner
Hotel Gollner
#19 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiesler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiesler

Property: Hotel Wiesler
Address: Grieskai 4-8, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz > Lend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#6 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wiesler 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wiesler, in the heart of Graz, has abandoned splendour and star ratings – but not the good old days. Fresh details such as a traditional shave from our female barber, a Turkish bath or military bikes for hire round off the whole experience. At the ‘Speisesaal’ restaurant (open all day), the day begins with breakfast beneath street art covering an entire wall and is finished off with international dishes and soul vinyl music. Only a few minutes’ walk from Schloßberg and Kunsthaus, the Wiesler is the perfect base for a city tour. And those who still have to work will find free WiFi throughout the hotel. ‘Re-interpreted luxury’ feels comfortingly light at Hotel Wiesler – for all those who expect more than just a good bed and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wiesler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing