We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is better in Graz”
Review of Hotel Bokan

Hotel Bokan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bokan
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Shenzhen, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“There is better in Graz”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Not really 4 stars level. We stayed 2 days there in business trip, then my corner room was noisy with the street activity.
No wifi in the rooms , which is not easy for business travel
staff is OK
I would suggest another choice next time as there is Mercure and Ibis in Graz

Room Tip: avoid the rooms in corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPT1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    22
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
6
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Bokan for a week in May. We may have been lucky but our room was modern, large and airy and everything was working. The hotel website does not accurately describe the facilities and the lack of coffee/tea making facilities and toiletries did not help first impressions. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant (especially the one person on reception who also made coffee and served at the bar!).
The location is rather isolated and although there is a frequent bus service the nearest stop is well away from the hotel. Overall our experience was good and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced south with very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at Bokan while on a business trip. The interior of the hotel is a little old fashioned (esp lobby), however the bathroom seemed to be newly refurbished. Shower head was already broken though.
The breakfast was fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. In general I would say that Bokan was an acceptable choice. I wouldn't mind going if I went to Graz on business again. However, if I for some reason would go there on vacation, I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GoldPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinnitsa, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked this hotel following the recommendations on Booking.com and I'm still curious how they manage to have a good rating there. Suspected bribing :)
The 1st room we were given has no working air conditioning and the room might be considered mostly as a sauna, not a place to sleep. When we tried to tune up the conditioning, there was the printed message saying that in order to change the temperature in the room, please call reception :) It's wasn't a joke but even this weird way didn't help. We were provided by another room where, at least, air conditioning didn't heat.
The next surprises were cable internet (yes, yes - similar as it was at least five year ago!) and absence of the soap close to the wash basin. However, the soap (or something looking as soap) was in the shower; so, to wash your hands you had to perform some gymnastic exercises.
We escaped from this magnificent place without breakfast :) and I can't comment it anyhow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateryna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Graz hotels

Qingdao, China
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Checked in for a business visit stay at Graz. Big room, sparingly equipped wash room, no 24hour restaurant, no fitness room, no toiletries at room (but received on request from front desk later), very poor towels......how come stars are given though I would not find fault with the hotel....it is well swept and maintained though not great enough to be four stars.....
In all I would sum up this as a good budget hotel and if location is not a constraint then it is a choice worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rzeszow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Hotel looks very nice from outside, staff is nice enough, with rather basic english. Rooms are spacious, clean, with balconies. First suprise is bathrom, where you won't find ANY sanitary amenities of any kind, except liquid soap in the shower. I never saw anything like this in 4 stars hotel. Second suprise is WiFi, which despite description on the webpage, simply is not there.
Things gets better during breakfast, which offers plenty of hot and cold choices, fresh fruits and reasonable coffee.
It isn't very close to city centre, but public transport is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet, but upper floors offers better montain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
3.9 mi away
Stoiser's Hotel Garni
Stoiser's Hotel Garni
#28 of 75 in Graz
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Graz
Ibis Graz
#11 of 75 in Graz
484 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sud
Hotel Sud
#5 of 75 in Graz
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Graz City
2.9 mi away
The Star Inn Hotel Graz
2.9 mi away
Roomz Graz Budget Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bokan

Property: Hotel Bokan
Address: Mainersbergstrasse 1, Graz 8051, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bokan 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing