We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Hauserl im Wald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Hauserl im Wald
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
440 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Most have been written already. I am just going to clarify that this hotel consists of three different houses. The Hauserl itself has a massive restaurant and terrace so can get really busy. Then there are other two houses within few minutes walkdistance. We stayed in the main house on acworking day. Restaurant was busy for lunch and reasonably for dinner. Neither we found dusturbing. There is also big playground for kids and lovely park/forest that has different decorations that give it a feel of enchanted forest (intended for kids i assume). Within 10 mins walk down the hill you reach tram no 1 that rakes you directly into the city center (2 eur one way). The climb back up is a bit steep:-)

Very nice breakfast and the restaurant is very good!

No lift in the hotel!

Note: we were with a baby, stayed in the first floor room nr 20 and the walkie talkie reaches the restaurant underneath!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    3
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

In a pleasant location in a leafy suburb of Graz - it's possible to walk down through a park owned by the hotel to a tram stop, avoiding taking a car into the centre of Graz where parking is tricky and/or expensive - but then it's a steep walk uphill on the return.

Very quiet at night, but best to avoid Room 22 which gets the noise from early morning delivery vans etc. Pleasant staff, some of whom though by no means all speak English. Breakfast quite good. Food at other meals is hearty and unsophisticated in the usual Austrian way. Many people prefer to eat on the terrace, but then there are likely to be wafts of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

THE PROS:
The receptionist spoke very good English and was very helpful.
The hotel is small and cosy, an antique piano and lovely antique furniture inside.
The hotel is further (about a couple of houses apart) from the restaurant, so it is really peaceful ant quiet (and the restaurant gets rather busy on weekends). It's in a district of private houses, so it is really calm and quiet.
The reception is about a couple of houses apart from the hotel itself (it's in the restaurant), so you have the hotel almost entirely to yourself.
Our room had a terrace with a view to the mountains.
Lots of nature around - the was bird living near our terrace that sang beautifully, one of us even saw a squirrel in our terrace. There is a lovely garden surrounding both the hotel and the restaurant, there are even some geese in the restaurant territory (fenced) and a nice playground for children.
The interior of the hotel looks like a museum - there must have lived a sculptor, because there are numerous wooden sculptures, pictures and other kinds of artwork both inside and outside. It feels like you are staying not at a hotel, but at someone's home.
Our room was very well equipped: a good TV, a fridge (a normal one, not a minibar), a coffee-maker, sink in the kitchen, a stove, pots, a frying pan, plates, glasses, cups, eating utensils, etc., so you could prepare your own food.
The staff was very helpful and thoughtful - on the second day of our stay, they hung the TV on the wall so that we could watch it both from the room and the terrace. We even didn't ask for that, they were that thoughtful!
For breakfast, there was always a nice selection of several meats (hams, sausages) and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, etc. The buns were amazing - they are baked on the spot.
It is cheap, way cheaper than hotels in the center. We were very happy about our choice, it truly exceeded our expectations!

THE CONS:
The parking is a little steep, though you get used to it.
If you have no transportation of your own, you have to walk a little bit down the hill to the tramway. However, it is a nice, pleasant and not a long walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rimaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a dinner and it was not bad although not the quality we had experienced before - we had lunch (warm meals) here a couple times and always with a larger groups (20+).

But during our latest dinner (8 persons) we had a small confrontation with one of the waittress. When ordering coffee we wanted to make sure that Latte Macchiato is the one we wanted and not Latte or worse: 'Milch Kaffee'. The waitress correctioned us that Latte is the same as Latte Macchiato while we know for sure that it is not. When serving it was luckily as expected but again she lectured us that this is Latte and that there is not any difference. It was okay when it was friendly or with a humor but she wasn't. She was really serious and arrogant.

Well, my wife lived in Italy before and we ordered Latte, Latte Macchiato and Macchiato everywhere around the world before and these are 3 different things. Maybe not in rural Graz and it is for sure not the Sisi era anymore but then again - a waitress shouldn't argue with clients, especially not about these non existential meticulous issue.

Surroundings: pitoresque
Food: average (big portions but the fish was not fresh)
Waitress: -1

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Graz hotels

worcester.england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

we go to graz a lot and i would not stay anywhere eles.the hotel is fantastic the food is great and my host and staff are very very good.we travel all over the world but i love coming back to this one.we brought some friends with us huw are wine experts they could not believe the wine on offerthank you once again for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovljica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

This impressed us as a beautiful restaurant which was constantly full, with hotel rooms. We did not find a lounge to relax in. Food very good - although not as good as we expected from other reviews . The situation of the hotel is picturesque, although extremely difficult to find even with satellite navigation which would not recognise Number 105. Instructions would be good from the hotel on booking confirmation. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayRadovljica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Everytime I visit Austria, I have to have a visit at the Hirschenhof or Haus Sonne at Hauserl im Wald. The hotel has 3 different accommodations and if you want to have a fairy tale experience, ask for one of the suites at Hirschenhof. It is a renovated farm house where the elks and deer run around in the front yard. A 5 minute walk trough the forest will take you to the main house. The drive takes a bit longer, you have to drive around the mountain and I recommend a GPS if you are not loal. But it is worth it if you like solitude.
Haus Sonne , a wonderful villa , nestled in a beautiful garden is up the road from the main hotel. Ask for one of the corner suites. They are bigger. Get the one with the poster bed and the piano
The main hotel is very nice, but nowhere near as special as the other two properties.
All rooms seem to be different in design and size, so ask the reception at time of booking to describe the rooms to you, so you get a special one. The price seems to be the same.
The family Legenstein knows Gastronomy in and out.
the fabulous food - A breakfast for Gods, homebaking, homemade jams and breads. My mouth waters. Great Lunch Menu- a fabulous deal to be had. Exquisite dinners. The restaurant is known among the local foodies for great cuisine.
I always bring friends and colleagues from around the world and everybody says it is one of their favourite places in the world.
The streetcar is very close to the hotel, so leave your car and take the streetcar into the city. Great value for such a wonderful place. The home website is a bit hard to find.
www.legenstein-hiw.at- it is translated in 3 languages.
Look forward to go back again.
Rita B

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Marienhof Hotel
#28 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Stoiser's Hotel Garni
#31 of 75 in Graz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
B&B Graz
B&B Graz
#19 of 75 in Graz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hotel Sud
#5 of 75 in Graz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Gries
Hotel Strasser
Hotel Strasser
#27 of 75 in Graz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hauserl im Wald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hauserl im Wald

Property: Gasthof Hauserl im Wald
Address: Roseggerweg 105, Graz 8044, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hauserl im Wald 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Hauserl im Wald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hauserl Im Wald Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing