We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for families exploring Graz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Zur Steirerstub'n
Ranked #1 of 25 Graz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good place for families exploring Graz”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We (two adults and two kids five and seven) stayed here for two night when we where driving to Croatia from Warszawa.

We stayed in rooms seven and eight and our kids could have one of the rooms and me my wife the other room. The hotel restaurant is very nice and with good food so we could sit there while our kids where playing in the room after dinner.

I can however for families recommend to rent the apartment only one available. The apartment had a very nice balcony and two bed rooms. It was occupied when we where there.

There is no aircon in the hotel if this is important to you...

Great location close to all nice things to explore in Graz.

Room Tip: For families choose the apartment with nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Bergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    56
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
35
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed a week for my first visit to Graz, following reviews on this website. This proved an ideal place to stay, handily placed between station and main sites. As a hotel, it is solidly 3 star - utterly spotless, but with the facilities of a good 3 star. The restaurant is very good indeed, and excellent for both plentiful and varied breakfast and some interesting Styrian dishes in the evening. Service throughout was careful and friendly. It isn't grand, but I felt wonderfully at home.

Room Tip: I booked a double for single use, and had pleanty of space - as well as a very cofortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The pension is a 10 minute walk from the train station down the main street. My mom, daughter (one year old) and I stayed here for three nights and thought that is was very clean, with a decent breakfast. We had a nice size room at the end of the hall, that was quiet (except for the dog barking one night). It was close to all the sights and the Christmas market. The staff was friendly and willing to answer questions; however, they could be hard to find at times. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayday19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The location of this pension is very convenient: close to Schloßberg, which is a must, and the centre of Graz, just on the other side of the river. There are not a lot of options in this area. Room was decent size, and clean. Breakfast were very good, and had atmosphere! Please ignore the lobby, which is a turn off, making the place look like a hostel. Overall, a nice stay!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The location of this hotel/ pension is very convenient: close to Schloßberg and the centre of Graz, just on the other side of the river. Five minutes walk from the centre, 10 minutes walk from the central train station. It's a cute old building right on a market square.

The rooms (my friends and myself had several rooms) were fine. Not very big, but ok. Good mattress, which always makes a difference. Clean. Not noisy in my experience - the hotel sits on a square which though not pedestrianised tends to be quite quiet.

We were a bit disappointed with the overall service attitude, mainly in the restaurant part of the hotel. At lunchtimes we twice waited 15 minutes in vain at a table for a waitress to become interested in us. When we asked for service at the bar the response was pretty cavalier to say the least. When lunch finally got there the food was good though!

During breakfast (which was pretty good as such) things regularly ran out with few attempts by staff to refill. On both mornings my order for a boiled egg was taken by the waitress but the egg never arrived.

Don't try to eat indoors if you're a non-smoker. It's still very much the 20th century attitude of entitlement to smoke and if you don't like it, tough. Not a problem during the summer since they have a nice area outside on the square, but still somewhat unpleasant.

There don't seem to be a great deal of other places in this price range in such a convenient location, which on the one hand means this is probably the place to go, and at the same time may explain why they don't seem to need to try too hard as regards customer service...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hackfix21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Located close to the river within walking / climbing distance of Schlossburg and the old city. It is attached to a pub type restuarant with good meals. The office person was quite distracted during our check-in - kept answering the phone while we waited. Our booking request for a quiet room had been ignored however we were moved to a quiet room which opened onto a tiny walled courtyard. The room and bathroom were of adequate size and very clean. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Booking a hotel is like playing the lottery, sometimes you win, often not. If you book this lovely little hotel you will certainly be a winner!

Having read the reviews on this site, I booked 2 nights and from the moment we entered the bar felt the warmth and homeliness of this inn. The room was immaculate, simple but comfortable with a large modern en-suite shower room.

Breakfast was exceptional!! Home-made breads, local jams, even home bottled fruits were set out each morning buffet style. We stayed for dinner and were very impressed with the range of local dishes cooked perfectly, in fact we loved it so much we stayed an extra night in our own apartment!

The staff were warm and welcoming with an excellent command of English. It is within easy walking distance of Graz and handy for public transport..

We will be staying here next time we visit Graz!

  • Liked — The warmth of the welcome, friendliness and value for money.
  • Disliked — Outside of the building looks uninviting.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottiegaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Lend
Feichtinger Graz Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Zur Steirerstub'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Zur Steirerstub'n

Property: Pension Zur Steirerstub'n
Address: Lendplatz 8, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Zur Steirerstub'n 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Pension Zur Steirerstub'n reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing