We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Zur Steirerstub'n
Ranked #1 of 26 Graz B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very small room!”
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed in room 13 of this small pension, on the top floor. The room was quaint and nicely-decorated, but very small (especially with its sloping ceilings). The bathroom was extremely small, and the shower was so small that it was almost un-useable. It's impossible to turn around in the shower, and the only solution is to put the shower curtain on the outside of the shower floor and allow water to get all over the bathroom floor. We found this all pretty amusing, but it could certainly be a deal-breaker for some people. The room does have a TV (no English channels) and the room is kept at a good temperature at night. The hallway lights are kept off to conserve electricity, but can be turned on when you enter the hallway and will stay on for a short time. The breakfast was decent and is served in their cute country-style dining area (sit in one of the back rooms to avoid the smoke coming from diners in the bar area). Staff was generally nice and helpful, although some speak English better than others. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from most attractions in Graz. (Recommended eating in Graz - Stainzerbauer, a cute little restaurant that serves great Styrian pumpkinseed-oil-laden specialties and has great staff).

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eef23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    56
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
35
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We travelled out to Graz on Saturday 25th November for our daughter's 21st (she is currently living in a place called Furstenfeld as part of her degree). There were 6 in our party - requiring 3 rooms between us (but a total of 13 of us stayed at the Gasthof.

Our room (for me, my wife and our daughter) was the apartment which has 2 double bedrooms each with colour tv (no English speaking channels though) and another small living room which has a double bed settee - so this room sleeps up to 6 people. On top of this it has a large bathroom with a wc, corner bath with overhead shower and a wash basin. There is a kitchen diner with a fridge and two hotplates. From the kitchen diner you can access a large balcony which overlooks the market square.

The other two rooms for our party were a double room and what should have been a single but ended up being a twin. These rooms were of the same standard but on a smaller scale.

All the rooms are beautifully clean and the maid service is very efficient in deed - each day our room was serviced by the time we had had breakfast.

Downstairs in the Gasthof is a restaurant which serves very good food at reasonable prices - our meal for 13 including 3 bottles of wine came to 236 euros!! The portion sizes are very good too!!! Drinks at the bar are inexpensive too.

The location of the Gasthof on Lenplatz is ideal, it is only a 5 minute walk into the very centre of Graz. The view from the Gasthof is overlooking the Lendplatz market square with a view of the Schlossberg fortifications and clocktower.

Graz is a lovely place, especially at this time of year as it is very atmospheric with lovely little Christmas markets serving hot mulled wine and Lebekerschen amongst other Austrian delights.

The Gasthof itself is extremely good value for money, very clean, with good food and hospitality. I think some times when people have referred to staff as rude or impolite (which I have read in quite a few Austrian hotel reviews) this is more down to misunderstandings with language translation rather than rudeness - our experience was a lovely one and we were made to feel very welcome - we would go back tomorrow!!!!!

  • Liked — Rooms, cleanliness, food, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Just go!!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Airbusa380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

We have just had two weeks' holiday in Austria, of which we spent one night at the Gasthof Pension zur Steirerstub'n in Graz, having discovered it on the web and checked out reviews on Trip Advisor.

It was excellent for the price - ie budget! But the staff were friendly, everything was totally spick and span and clean, the room was spacious, the bed comfortable, we had a view of the Schlossberg from our window and we were no more than ten minutes' walk from the centre. Above all, the food was excellent - really delicious Styrian food. And the breakfast, too, was excellent.

The only slight drawback was that the basin in the en-suite shower room didn't have a plug and the water ran out VERY slowly. We reported this as we left, so hopefully they've sorted it!

But really, for the price, exceptional value and the place had character: a small, old building with a market opposite.

  • Liked — The excellent restaurant, the convenient location and the price!
  • Disliked — Could be slightly noisy, but wasn't for us
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 December 2005

Our week stay here was perfect. Beautiful dining room decorated with antiques and flowers and inexpensive prices. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. Our 3rd floor backside room was neat, clean and modern. Cleaning staff was friendly and kept our room immaculate. Our only concern was some serving staff could be more friendly; but they were always busy. Location was just Super, walking access to the city. Having the market across the street was wonderful, such marvelous flowers, fruits and vegatables. Our unexpected departing gift of preserves was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2005

Excellent value, comfortable small hotel. Room ensuite, comfortable and clean iwht a small courtyard. Breakfast typically Austrian and pleasant. Restaurant very good value Very central location. Ground floor room was a bit noisy, but I soon found that shutting the connecting door cut out the noise almost completely.

Helpful?
3 Thank f2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2005

The location cannot be beat. Great Value for money with a homely feel. The staff were friendly. Would stay here again recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on tripadvisor and because it was more reasonably priced than a lot of the hotels in Graz. We just needed somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep after 18 hours travelling from Vancouver and this seemed like a good place. The room was okay, it was clean, we had a view of a roof. I fell into a deep sleep immediately, but was woken after several hours because the hallways and stairwells have so many echoes that someone climbing the stairs and putting their keys in the door makes an incredible amount of noise. Putting down some carpets might have enabled the guests of this hotel to sleep through the night (which I tend to think should be a hotel's priority). And then, around 10pm, the person across the hall started blasting her tv so that it was much louder in our room than if we had put our own tv on! It was so loud partly because she had it up so ridiculously loud and partly because of the echoes in the hallway. After an hour of this, I went downstairs to tell reception, but they were closed. So, I finally knocked on the door myself and asked her to turn it down. Lovely. We also noticed a lingering bad smell coming from the bathroom - we think it might have been that the seal of the toilet was broken or something. Needless to say, we have stayed in much nicer hotels for less than the 70euros a night they charge for a double room. And, there wasn't even a hairdryer in the room. We didn't manage to borrow the bikes they keep on hand for guests. The employee couldn't quite figure out which bikes belonged to the hotel and then said there were only 2 and one was out with someone else (at least I think that's what she said). The breakfast was good, though. I'm giving it two circles because it was clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
737 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
575 reviews
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Das Weitzer
#6 of 75 in Graz
551 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Lend
Feichtinger Graz Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Zur Steirerstub'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Zur Steirerstub'n

Property: Pension Zur Steirerstub'n
Address: Lendplatz 8, Graz 8020, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Zur Steirerstub'n 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Pension Zur Steirerstub'n reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing