We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than just right”
Review of Hotel Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sud
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Better than just right”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here again on a drive back from Croatia.
Last time I said it was just right, this time it was far better, we asked for a room we had on a previous occassion however this wasn't available so we were given room 6.
It is on the right side of the building and on the 2nd floor in fact it is the only room on the floor so is very quiet and private which suited us fine.
Good breakfast good parking and I think for around 80 euro, couldn't really asked for any more.
Thank you

Room Tip: Number 6 is on 2nd floor, there is a lift and it is the only room on this floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    52
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
42
11
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Someone else wrote "Just Right" and that fits for us, too. We were traveling through Austria and wanted to see Graz on our way to Slovenia. Having a bike rack on the back of an SUV can create parking and theft problems in many cities. Hotel Sud had a pay parking garage, but the ample above-ground parking directly in front of the building was perfect (and free). Exterior/interior doors were protected by card-activated locks. The hotel location was not a bad part of town, but you are still in the city, so the precautions were reassuring.

The room ("trend" class) was spotless, had AC, and tons of space. Very modern and comfortable. Everything in the room felt and looked brand new. Breakfast was, while not inspired, certainly all that one would expect, and well served by the staff. Check-out was efficient and pleasant.

The hotel is a good 20-min bus ride from downtown. The bus/tram system is very well run and a bargain at 4.50 euro for a 24-hr pass. Public transit is very popular in Graz, and we felt very comfortable using it.

We felt just slightly ripped off that the hotel charged us 15 euro for our 4 y.o. to share a pull-out bed with our 8 y.o. The hotel listed an option a 7 euro for a child to sleep in the same bed w/parents, but we (amazingly) could not get our point across to the otherwise extremely fluent hotel staff. That was a disappointing and short-sighted decision on the staff's part.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for one night before driving to Croatia. We booked one of the business rooms which was very good, a nice size and quiet.
Good breakfast and friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hotel was superb with its facilities, gorgeously decorated rooms, ample and tasty breakfast, wellness center with swimming pool, sauna, physioterm, free parking and helpful staff. I would highly recommend taking this hotel because even if its on the outskirts of Graz, the bus system is very good and convenient and the hotel is worth the small hassle of going till the bus station :]

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evapik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hotel is freshly renovated. Nice rooms, very friendly personnel, free WLAN. It offers breakfast only. Since the hotel is far away from about everything a car is helpful. There are a couple of restaurants in the vicinity though. I tried one of them, it's OK.
Breakfast is good.
Free parking outside, garage is available against upcharge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchmanCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here 2 nights on business trip. Free parking, Free WiFi (15 Mbps Download!) in Room, average breakfast, very helpful staff. We were there Sunday evening after a long day of sightseeing and although they did not have restaurant open they helped us ordering a pizza and were very friendly. (www.pizzataxi.at by the way)

Great stay! They have flats for rent from 35-40 Eur/night for longer term stays. If I'm back for a week plus I'd go for that...they looked very nice as well!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spparkervt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel shows what a difference attention to detail and staff attitude can make. The rooms are good, the facilities all work well and the breakfast was varied and ample. The bus service to the city centre is reliable and prompt and Graz itself is a wonderful surprise. COOL!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
Hotel Daniel Graz
Hotel Daniel Graz
#9 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sud

Property: Hotel Sud
Address: Stemmerweg 10, Graz 8054, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Graz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Graz
#9 Business Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where we are: Our Hotel SUD is situated in an excellent quiet location only 2 km far from the motorway exits Graz-Webling and Graz-Seiersberg. Placed close to a bus connection leading directly to the centre of the city, the hotel is an ideal starting point for visits to the old town (20 minutes). What we offer: Opened in 1973 and enlarged in several development stages the hotel offers 68 comfortable guest rooms (wheelchair accessible guest room included), a Boardinghouse with 12 long-stay apartments, a modern multi-functional conference room, a little spa area and a cosy hotel bar. Free W-LAN and broadband internet as well as good parking possibilities around the hotel or favourable parking spaces in the garage with a charging station for electric cars available. Nice restaurants in the neighbourhood serve delicious food and complete our range of offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sud Hotel Graz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing