We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Graz Great!”
Review of Hotel Zum Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zum Dom
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Graz
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Made Graz Great!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I’ll be honest, I was put off by the 1990’s looking advertisements of the hotel and rooms, plus considering the reasonable price and perfect location I was sure I would get an old crappy room. So i went and viewed it in person and was so glad I did. Our room was enormous with tall white and gold baroque decorated ceilings, a beautiful black modern desk, interesting massive modern wall art, clean wooden floors (though a little squeaky) and a history.The Lobby offers a great self-serve espresso machine along with smiling faces ready to help. The location just can’t get better. You walk out and you’re just a few steps from the Clock Tower, the best shopping streets, St. Katherine’s Church, the Mausoleum, and a giant beautiful park filled with ancient trees and picnickers. Below the hotel is an always bustling Steakhouse, which surprisingly held a benefit for vegetarians like us - the generous and kind staff was always willing to pack away prime A T-bones for the dog for the cost of a smile. Perk!

And breakfast, well it was Fantastic. They pamper you with local organic specialities such as chestnut honey and pumpkin oil, the breads are various and piping hot, the soft boiled eggs met the test of Gordon Ramsey - everytime, teas were fit for the Queen of England, the coffee machine made everything including special lattes, their homemade cereals were tasty and wholesome, numerous healthy options (crazy I know in this region of ham and cheese), fresh fruits and special desserts. Plus you dine in a sun-lit glass ceiling french bistro patio setting. The staff made you as comfortable as possible, never rushing you and always refilling each dish to look untouched as if you were the first to arrive.

We have a service dog .The management, staff and settings made us not only feel welcome, but certainly at home. I would come back to Graz just to stay at this hotel again. It met my high expectations in service and gave me more quality that I have experienced in Europe in a long time.

Room Tip: room 4, inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    128
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
46
119
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

i recommend everyone to stay at this hotel. cozy rooms, friendly staff, excellent service and great location right in the center of the town near Altstadt. the place is really cozy. the parking lot is very close to the hotel. you can walk everywhere!

Room Tip: the forth floor rooms has a lot of character !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Oxana!
Thank you very much for your kind recommendation of our hotel!
Such nice words mean a lot - they boost the motivation for the entire team! Thanks again and all the best, hope to see you again in Hotel zum Dom!
Charlotte Estberger, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great breakfast, comfortable rooms, lots of character. It is just a few steps from the central walking district, the cathedral, and the castle. The upper floors have exposed beams from the 14th century construction of the hotel, some which come right through the middle of the room. The only sore point is the internet speeds. It was very slow when we visited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fqtflyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest! On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for your recommendation - it is our best reward to get such positive feedback from our guests. We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again in Hotel zum Dom!
Charlotte Kaltschmidt, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had an extended stay for 2 ½ months in one of the apartment rooms of this hotel (# 22). In the center of the old city, hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping (including groceries), restaurants, parks and everything Graz. Rooms are spacious, full of light and well appointed. Comfortable beds. Full kitchen. Private, roof top terrace with Jacuzzi tub. Hotel staff is super friendly and very hospitable. Everything in the hotel is perfectly kept. Convenient location for running routes, and highly recommended is the 3 minute walk to the Kaiser-Josef Market (6 days per week open air farmer’s market). Only complaint was the Internet was sketchy and sometimes rather slow. Highly recommend this beautiful, historic hotel! Thank you for a lovely visit! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Lisa!
Thank you so much for you kind words - it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We all hope to see you soon again in Graz! Best wishes to your family! On behalf all the team,
Charlotte Kaltschmidt, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel Zum Dom is centrally located in Graz near the main cathedral and the main city square, Hauptplatz. The hotel has a quirky charm as it is located in a former palace with the central courtyard now a restaurant, bar and breakfast room. The rooms are well appointed and the marble bathrooms luxurious. There rooms are marked by custom ceramics which are found decorating other areas in the hotel.The windows which open are a treat although the air conditioning also worked well. Wifi was free and available in the rooms. The included breakfast offers a huge buffet and eggs cooked to order.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us on Tripadvisor! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back to Graz and Hotel zum Dom!
All the best to you and your family,
Charlotte Kaltschmidt, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Although we stayed for only one night, we had a beautiful stay. Gorgeous hotel, with a soul of its own, very unique. The room we occupied was very spacious and incredibly charming. It had sort of a vintage feeling. Bathroom was also beautiful and very spacious. Everything was very neat and tidy, very clean. We arrived at around 11:30 and everything was already prepared.The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect as it is 5-10 minutes by foot from the most important streets of Graz. It is easy to find as our navigation led us right to the front door. The fact that the parking is not within the hotel (it is 2-3 minutes by foot), only gives you a couple more minutes to enjoy and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful town. The staff was very pleasant, very precise and were very fluent English speakers. Miss/Mrs with whom we communicated regarding the reservations gave us advice on which room is best suited for us. Her choice was excellent as we enjoyed it immensely. In the end, all I can say is that I am itching to organize a longer stay in the beautiful city of Graz and this picturesque hotel will be my first choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you so much for your kind words! Be sure that we will convey your nice review to all the staff - it's the best motivation ever. We look forward to welcome you back to Graz and especially to Hotel zum Dom! In the meantime, all the best for you and your family!
Charlotte Kaltschmidt, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located near the city center, with lots of restaurants and shopping a very easy walk away. The tram is also nearby, an easy walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband left a pair of shoes in the room and when he realized 2 weeks later and contacted the hotel, they not only had the shoes, but offered to mail them! We had a very large "room" for our family of five - it was more like an apartment. It had a living area, kitchen area, and dining room table, as well as a nice terrace with a table and chairs, lounge chair and hot tub. There was a bedroom upstairs and one downstairs near the entry. The only drawback was that the downstairs bedroom didn't have its own air conditioning and it was very warm while were in Graz. The upstairs bathroom didn't have air conditioning either, although the bedroom did. Breakfast was included in our room rate. The food was very good and the servers were friendly. They made my kids a pot of homemade REAL hot chocolate every morning. We were very happy with the hotel, its staff and its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdvSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Manager at Hotel Zum Dom, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for recommending us! I will convey personally your kind words to your staff. We hope to see you again in Hotel zum Dom!
With best wishes to you and your family,
Charlotte Kaltschmidt, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graz hotels
Schlossberg Hotel
#1 of 75 in Graz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Innere Stadt
Palais Hotel Erzherzog Johann
Lend
Hotel Wiesler
Hotel Wiesler
#3 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lend
Mercure Graz City
Mercure Graz City
#4 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Hotel Das Weitzer
#7 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Innere Stadt
Hotel Gollner
Hotel Gollner
#19 of 75 in Graz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Dom

Property: Hotel Zum Dom
Address: Buergergasse 14, Graz 8010, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Graz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Graz
#3 Business Hotel in Graz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Graz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, stylish, and anything but conventional: at Graz’s Dom Hotel the guest resides in the colourful, artistic ambience of a time-honoured city palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zum Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Dom Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing