We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accessible and friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Lido

Villa Lido
Ranked #29 of 193 Restaurants in Klagenfurt
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gex, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Accessible and friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

If you end up there during peak hour, expect to wait a little longer. However, once service is given... They are friendly, fast and efficient! Food is good but not to die for. The major downside is the overwhelming number of smokers ( though not the fault of the restaurant's) that has smoke filtering into the non smoking area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodgruppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    79
    35
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“great italian restaurant in a beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

In spite of the location this is a quite normal priced restaurant. They offer many food, but can have a meal for an average price too. We had pasta and lasagne, these were not the best we've ever eaten, but good, nothing to complain about. The location is just perfect, beside the wonderful Wörthersee in Klagenfurt. We met here a hunarian speaking waiter too. They offer ice, created bear garden too, so great not just like a restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Too many kids running around and the train almost runs right through the place

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank kiaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaLido, General Manager at Villa Lido, responded to this review, 27 July 2015
Dear Kiaat,

Wow, a visitor from so far abroad! How exciting! Thank you for visiting Villa Lido!

However, as much as we are thrilled to have had you as our guest, we of course are sorry to year you did not enjoy your visit.

One thing that struck us in your comment was that you felt too many kids are running around. Well, the thing is, we are a very family friendly restaurant and actually try our best to make families – with their kids! – come to our place. We have special kids dishes, a large playground, children-friendly staff and throughout the year we regularly plan special family and kids events. So to us, the fact that kids are running around, feeling comfortable enough to play and just be themselves, actually is a compliment and we’d never want to change it. Considering the fact that families – local as well as visiting ones – are one of our main target group, we hope you understand.

As far as your second point, the noise due to the near-by train rails is concerned, we absolutely agree: yes, from time to time, a train is running past the lane behind our restaurant. Unfortunately, this is nothing we can change, however, we can explain. Carinthia is a very popular and well-visited region, especially as Lake Wörthersee is one of the top-rated lakes in Austria – well, Europe, actually. The region hence is famous for its nature: lakes, mountains, pastures. Taking the train is a rather environmental friendly way to come and visit us – and rather affordable. So even if we sometimes have to keep up with the noise which to most of the guests is no disturbance as it is rather infrequent, we are happy, there is a convenient alternative to driving. Also, since the rails are behind our restaurant, all our tables actually face the beautiful lake, so we feel the view and atmosphere certainly can make up for the noise.

Also, meanwhile, we have built an extra seating area which is less noisy and further off the children's playground, so guest who prefer a bit less of a lively experience can enjoy themselves.

We are sorry, you felt our restaurant is too noisy for you to enjoy your time at Villa Lido, however, we certainly hope the great food made it up to you!

Kindest regards,
Your Villa Lido Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Unfriendly staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

the location is perfect, right by the lake with a perfect view. unfortunately the staff is probably the worst and unfriendliest one in the whole city. if you want to get treated like a 3rd class person while drinking your espresso or having a pizza, this is your spot. the whole story started when we sat down on one table without a reserved sign on it, the waiter came and said: "table reserved." no hello, no "i'm sorry but the table is reserved." just an unfriendly "table reserved." and this just the beginning of an evening of rude experiences with the waiters..

If you want to get the best Pizza in Klagenfurt and be entertained by a super friendly, charming and nice staff visit Pizzaria Trattoria in the centre of Klagenfurt. You might not get the views over the lake but nothing can compare with this place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Pizza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Lido also viewed

Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 

Been to Villa Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing