We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Basic Base but with 5 star service!”
Review of Hotel Sandwirth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sandwirth
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Klagenfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As a family of seven we used Hotel Sandwirth as our base for the Austria Ironman away from the Worthersee which is just a10 minutes' drive, but perfectly and conveniently located for the town centre.
Yes the rooms and bathrooms are very basic and dated with irritating air conditioning which goes off in a hip-hazard manner and the free wi-fi is for the most part irritatingly slow, but what saves this hotel is that it is immaculately clean and has terrific staff who couldn't have done more to help us with all our logistical arrangements and because of our dietary requirements were not only prepared to allow us to bring our own food into the hotel but served us quite happily and efficiently in their own restaurant area.
Our thanks and appreciation to the hotel's management and their obliging staff for adding to our wonderful Ironman experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for Ironman Austria. The hotel is very nice, very clean and very well located (grocery store across the street was extremely convenient). But above all, the staff were amazing! We had two kids and lots of luggage. They were so helpful in setting room up with baby crib, extra sheets, whatever we needed. A girl at the front desk even sourced out an extra stroller for us when my 5 year old got tired of walking around. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank twoyoungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After an initial mix up with my room reservations which shouldn't happen when all was straightforward, our stay at this hotel was first class. Centrally located and only a few minutes walk to both the new and old squares, restaurants, coffee houses,bars, shops and bus station and a short bus or car ride to the Lake Worthersee, this hotel is just the right place to be. The rooms are comfortable, bathrooms have either bath or shower and the lighting above the mirrors for ladies who like to make up, is far better than most I have stayed in. Breakfast was superb offering several choices so able to cater for everyone (including gluten free) and the coffee was excellent, all served in a light airy room. Parts of the hotel suffer from creaky floorboards which can be tricky at night (2nd floor especially), and the rooms do differ but on the whole all of a good standard. I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the delights of Klagenfurt, it's beautiful lake, and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms only have a shower so those of you who prefer a bath (with overhead shower) it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had two adequate nights' stay in a soulless, cramped, hot room. It did have air con which wasn't working. Good efforts were made to fix it but it always stopped working at night when we needed it most and no-one was around to fix it.
The food at breakfast was was OK but served in a (bigger) hot, soulless room, staffed by people who clearly would have preferred to be elsewhere.
The hotel features a lot of glass in its communal areas and not a lot of air con - hence the stuffy/hot interiors.
Facilities are not what we've enjoyed in other business hotels. We tried to get a cup of tea, for example, at 23:00,having had a lovely evening out in Klagenfurt. The staff couldn't provide any tea as they had "now shut down the machine" so had no boiling water.
Take your own kettle and fan!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LogieBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has 2 wings. First they gave us small triple room with useles extra bed. After complaint they gave us normal triple room in another wing which is obviously renovated. Although both wings are 4*, there is a difference.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vojin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel Sandwirt is vey well located in the city center of Klagenfurt.Computer service is available near the bar.I did appreciate that some employees were french speaking.They were very helpful in all fields:good welcome at the reception desk,efficient luggage service,appropriate advices for wine selecting at the restaurant.Rooms are cozily furnished and offer good bedding.Breakfast buffet on the first floor is somptuous.
In short an hotel of tradition with modern management

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSandwirth, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sandwirth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us!

We are pleased to read that you felt very comfortable in our historical house and appreciated our service level, breakfast buffet and furnishment in our guest rooms. Your positive write-up motivates us a lot and strengthens us in our strategic and operative work.

Best regards to France,

Helvig Kanduth/
Managing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very comfortable hotel, nice room, clean bathrom
Varied breakfast, very nice staff
Good location, close to the centre and only 5 minutes walk to the exhibition centre (I was there on a business trip)
Unfortunately I couldn't use the relaxing area because of lack of time and consequently I can't give any advice

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolinha_210166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektionSandwirth, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sandwirth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback and spending your time to describe your experiences made in our house!

It is very important for us to know if our services & offer meet expectations.
We are happy that we met your expecations and you enjoyed your stay with us!


Sunny regards from Klagenfurt to Turin,

Helvig Kanduth/
Managing director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klagenfurt hotels
2.1 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Porcia
Hotel Palais Porcia
#4 of 26 in Klagenfurt
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ATRIGON
Hotel ATRIGON
#15 of 26 in Klagenfurt
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
#8 of 26 in Klagenfurt
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Plattenwirt
Hotel Plattenwirt
#6 of 26 in Klagenfurt
117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rosch
Hotel Rosch
#5 of 26 in Klagenfurt
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandwirth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandwirth

Address: Pernhartgasse 9, Klagenfurt 9020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Klagenfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Klagenfurt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Klagenfurt
Price Range: £82 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sandwirth 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"der SANDWIRTH" is a privately and therefore individually run hotel. It is this special ambience which gives our hotel its special flair. The hotel is the meeting point for the business world as well as the culture scene and society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sandwirth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwirth Hotel Klagenfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing