We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cosy room, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Hotel zum Domplatz
Ranked #1 of 26 Klagenfurt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent 3 nights here & though a bit shocked initially at the size of the room, we had a porch with chairs and table outside where could eat spread out in the evening. Not too far to walk from the station & a pleasant walk into the town centre. As we soon found was typical in this part of the world, the pillows which look nice and plump, seem to be filled with fairy floss and collapse as soon as you touch them. I'm tempted to take my own next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joncullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just got back from 9 nights in the City Hotel and can recommend for a stay in Klagenfurt & Worthersee. Admittedly the room was very hot but that was more because of the 36 degree heat outside rather than the hotels fault! An electric fan was soon bought -problem solved. The hotel is very convenient for both train & buses, as well as some lovely bars & restaurants. There are lots of lovely towns & villages to visit nearby. Although not many British people seem to go to this area for holidays, we were made very welcome at the hotel and everywhere we went, A lovely area. Would love to go back in the snow!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alderclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent two nights in this comfortable hotel, close to the main square in Klagenfurt. We were initially offered a room which after spending 15 minutes within found to be too small and claustrophobic. After seeking if an alternative was available the manager showed us a larger more accommodating room, which we took. Apart from this initial setback the remainder of our stay was quite pleasant. The breakfast was adequate and filling. The hotel location is close to the main centre and within walking distance of the old town. The staff are very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: Seek the larger rooms on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We took this hotel as we were running late after seven hours' travel and the photos looked quite reasonable on Booking.com. From the minute I stepped through the door I was disappointed by how grubby it seemed. No lift! The room was a mish mash and what looked pristine in the photos was definitely not in reality, it was clean enough but the wallpaper was coming off and it was just generally shabby. The bad was a concrete block and the two (only ) pillows had no substance, therefore a bad night's sleep. Not a bit of soundproofing and very noise guests in the middle of the night. Next morning I went for my shower to find that the shower head was just drooping on the shower tray and there was nowhere to hang it, the shower door (one half of) fell into my hands - so no shower. What does one expect from an hote - a good sleep and a nice bath or shower in the morning - we had neither. At breakfast (OK) I politely explained to the owner (?) about the bad facilities and he gave me a look of horror! He didn't apologise or offer to go and check and that was the end of it. I then explained to the receptionist when I was checking out and I received the same response. I told her I would write negative reviews, not because of the problem but because of their manner of coping with it and she just shrugged her shoulders and walked off. My husband had to hold me back!!!! We will return to Klagenfurt but I will never set foot in this awful place again. Unfortunately our camera needed charging so I have no photos.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Owner couldn't be nicer, no lift so had to carry luggage up 2 high flights of stairs, thought cosy family run hotel, rooms will be nice, omgg was I wrong! Bed was pushed against one wall, woodchip wallpaper with grubby marks everywhere. Bedding was clean, and it was only a one night so we stayed! Bathroom, well shower room was very compact and. Bijou with a saniflow rather than mains. Would never recommend to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellers_inc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Despite the fact that this is an average Hotel in a small town, we had a surprising level of service from the owner manger and his limited staff. Breakfast room is very nice. Rooms are quity large even if a little more mantainance could help. Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ziocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityhotelklu, Manager at City Hotel zum Domplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Ziocut

Thank you very much for your review and the compliments.
We hope, you had a great trip and hope to welcome you again in the City Hotel.

Regards
Oliver Oth
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My new husband and stayed at this City Hotel zum Domplatz on our honeymoon in Europe in May. We mentioned it was our honeymoon when we booked and when we got there we were treated so well (however I am sure they would treat all guests the same way). The room was lovely and we were given a bottle of champagne. The front office receptionist was so friendly and helpful. The owner came in when we were checking in and he welcomed us like he was awaiting out arrival (which made us feel special) and he knew about us. We wished we could have stayed there longer. I HIGHLY recommend this place to stay. Its very clean and tidy and I loved the decor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityhotelklu, Manager at City Hotel zum Domplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Julie G

Thank you very much for your very very nice review and for awarding our hotel as the best in Europe. Your compliments are very valuable to us and our work and will be passed on to our staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope, that you had a great honeymoon trip and that you came home safely.

Regards
Oliver Oth
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klagenfurt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandwirth
Hotel Sandwirth
#2 of 26 in Klagenfurt
366 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palais Porcia
Hotel Palais Porcia
#4 of 26 in Klagenfurt
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cityhotel Ratheiser
Cityhotel Ratheiser
#4 of 26 in Klagenfurt
30 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
JGH Klagenfurt
#19 of 26 in Klagenfurt
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ATRIGON
Hotel ATRIGON
#15 of 26 in Klagenfurt
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel zum Domplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel zum Domplatz

Address: Karfreitstrasse 20, Klagenfurt 9020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Klagenfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Klagenfurt
Price Range: £69 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel zum Domplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wish to stay in the heart of Klagenfurt and enjoy a pleasant and personal atmosphere?Then you have chosen the right hotel!The location of the City Hotel zum Domplatz, right on Cathedral Square, is the right choice for:your business tripyour visit to an event or a concert in the city or within the province of Carinthiaevents and exhibitions at the nearby located Fair Klagenfurt (Klagenfurter Messe)the Wörthersee and many other attractions and cultural highlights in the surroundingsThe City Hotel is the clear choice for business travelers, leisure travelers alike, sports fans, cyclists, motorcyclists, or event visitors.Start the new day at our hotel with a buffet breakfast and a daily newspaper.Other services offered by us:* Free W-Lan/WiFi* Parking near the hotel* Free bicycle/motorcycle parking at the hotel premises* Cozy spots to relax in the lounge or on the patio* Free apples at the front desk* Rich Breakfast buffet* Multilingual help in English, German, Italian, Spanish or French* Self check in for your later arrival* Baby cots and extra beds for adults* Payment with all major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, AMEX or Diners Club) and Maestro-Cards* Individual research for further travel information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel zum Domplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Klagenfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing