We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay only”
Review of Hotel Geyer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Geyer
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Klagenfurt
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Short stay only”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The location was central to the town,20 minutes walk or 7euros taxi ride from the railway station.
The staff were friendly and the early breakfast selection was good.Hot drinks were self service from a machine,but fine.The bedroom was compact and the ensuite shower and loo tiny although the shower was very efficient.Beds were comfortable ,bedroom decor was dated.We were fine for 2 nights only. Klagenfurt is delightful as is Worthersee which is only a 10 minute bus ride away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
18
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Hotel Geyer is close to the Old Town and it is very clean, but that is all that this hotel has going for it. It is, what I would describe as, very basic. We expected much much more for the price of our stay.

Our room was located right on the top floor, which was a real struggle with two suitcases each. My husband was recovering from a hand injury which made things even more difficult. The attic room was very small and furnished with new, but poor quality, furniture. There was not enough room to hang clothes and the hangers were a mixed bunch of freebies from local stores. We arrived during the evening and the central light bulb was not working. There was no remote control for the TV. One small bottle of water plus one glass was provided in a double room. The bathroom facilities were, again, very basic. No toileteries were provided apart from the soap dispenser on the wall.

We decided to ask for a room change, which was agreed by the receptionist, but on viewing the alternative, decided we might as well stay where we were as there was very little difference in size - there did not seem to be much point in packing and unpacking our things again.

The hotel does not have a bar or any comfortable seating area for guests - just two sofas in reception, so guests are really confined to their rooms if not out and about. This may be OK for an overnight stay, but not for any longer. The much advertised gym and sauna facilities are not solely for guests of the hotel; for a few euros, people off the street can enjoy this small downstairs area.

As for the breakfast, well - forget it! We certainly did after the first few days. It is a basic continental breakfast with no hot food at all. There was not enough food to go around and croissants were brought out two at at time (there was an almighty rush for these). The fruit in the fruit bowl was going black by the end of our stay. Meat and cheese was also in very short supply.

The female owners of the hotel were polite, but did not seem to be very concerned when we approached them about our concerns. They offered very little in the way of advice about Klagenfurt and the reception and front door were sometimes locked during the day - leaving guests to fumble with the security code/lock to get back in (in fact, this was the case on our arrival).

Overall, not a holiday to remember. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel to other travellers. We only stayed one night but would have been happy to stay longer. Yes, there is no lift, so you need to be a little athletic to get your luggage up the stairs but as we have travelled around Europe this is not uncommon in the smaller hotels. We had an attic room on the top floor. The private parking next to the hotel, although outdoors, is very convenient. Astrid is a very engaging hostess and is eager to please.
The breakfast was great. I loved the way everone said "good morning" when they walked into the room.
Other than that I canot comment on the restaurant or the children's activities so please disregard the ratings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASIC20121127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Clean and comfortable beds; basic toiletries; rather impersonal interior decoration; generally just a decent kind of accommodation, especially when too tired.
Wi-fi does not work in the rooms; not recommended for business people!
Rather expensive for the services rendered.
If as a traveller you have a handy option, you'd better give yourselves something more for the same charge (100 euro /night/double bedroom)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evi788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Looking for a nice Hotel with parking facilities in the center of Klagenfurt (not easy to find!) we luckily found Hotel Geyer.
A perfect hotel with a beautiful lobby and very nice lady at the reception desk. She turned out to be the owner and she made our stay worthwhile !
Nice rooms and perfect service at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter5643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trieste
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

very nice place! thanks! great location and very good reception. Friendly atmosphere and clean rooms. You can go for sure! It's a very nice place in wich host if you stay in Klagenfurt. Probably rooms and breakfast are not so big like somone would, but in the complex is all absolutely good!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank luisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FUNCHAL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I highly recommend this hotel for the charming ambiance as well as the kind staff that made us feel so welcome. Our room was clean and it was very peaceful at night. We were in town to visit family but we stayed for breakfast and we will definitely be making this a routine in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLYSON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klagenfurt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlami
Hotel Zlami
#12 of 26 in Klagenfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palais Porcia
Hotel Palais Porcia
#3 of 26 in Klagenfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sandwirth
Hotel Sandwirth
#2 of 26 in Klagenfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
Hotel Goldener Brunnen
#6 of 26 in Klagenfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel ATRIGON
Hotel ATRIGON
#15 of 26 in Klagenfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geyer

Property: Hotel Geyer
Address: Priesterhausgasse 5, Klagenfurt 9020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Klagenfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Klagenfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geyer 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Geyer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing