We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Post
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

In the middle of town and a little worn around the edges but. ,if you have been a hotel five hundred years and hosted royalty, you're entitled. Service is good. The real plus is the very good restaurant. Continental, Austrian cuisine is excellent, service superb. Wolfgang Puck started his career here so what else could you want.

Room Tip: Ask to face The Hauplatz. Not noisy and you get fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottoreTomasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    158
    64
    25
    16
See reviews for
66
180
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We came for a family visit and stayed in this traditional and famous Hotel Post that I have admired since I was a child. It was a treat to stay at this hotel! The history of its walls is speaking for itself. Emperors and relatives of emperors were partly living or staying at this hotel. You can feel the superiority of its rooms. Our historic room was very impressive, we slept like royals! All is top clean and renovated. Some room renovations are just taking place. The front desk service is excellent, the breakfast room elegant, variety of food more than sufficient and service very helpful. The location is opposite the municipality and main church of Villach, you cannot be more central. Train station 7 minutes walk. The hotel is located in a pedestrian street with lots of shops.
All in all our stay in Hotel Post is an unforgettable experience and we would love to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmakedonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed there with my two children and, even though booked for a double-room, got upgraded to a suite. The hotel is right in the city centre, which around the time of travel was very charming because of the christmas market right in front of the hotel. Excellent service too and definitely good food. Worth staying! I was sorry to leave and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunflower36823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our stay at the Romantik Hotel Post was the third stop in a 4-centre holiday.
In keeping with previous reviews we also found that when we arrived around 1pm that our room was not ready, although we were given the key and found the evidence of the previous occupants still present. When we mentioned this to the staff we were told that 'the system' showed that the room was ready! Very apologetic and by the time we returned later after taking the river trip, all was well with the room.
We dined in the hotel restaurant both nights and found it excellent! We would recommend the 3-course menu. When we asked what it was we were told that it was a 'surprise'! So, not knowing what to expect we proceeded to be very pleasantly surprised - the food was outstanding.
The hotel itself is quite charming and although our room was somewhat basic, it was adequate and overall we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sackbut58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel was the third stop of 2 nights on a four centre rail tour. It was the worst of the hotels we visited by a long way. Superficially the location in the town looked lovely as did the vaulted entrance and courtyard. We were checked in and given a room key. The room had not been prepared and when I asked about this was told that check in was usually 3pm. We arrived at 1pm. The room was sorted but was basic - no safe, no coffee/tea facilities. The room and hotel was hot (the weather was nice) and the lack of ventilation even with windows open and a fan running was a problem. I can appreciate that fitting air con in a building such as this would be a challenge. The bathroom needed an overhaul - the sink was cracked, the plug mechanism broken. Breakfast was ok but marred by other guests allowing their children to handle croissants and other food then put it back - something the hotel cannot control. The staff were a mixture of reasonably helpful to rude - not experienced directly by me but I did see a German speaking lady totally ignored by a staff member. In our case we found them not fortcoming at all - we did not know that we had to arrange with the hotel the time we needed a taxi for a transfer to the station for the next stage of our tour as this had been organised for us at previous hotels by Inghams. I did not find out about this until I asked them if I had any messages on the night before our departure. The hotel seemd to live off history however I suspect with no evidence that there are very nice rooms in this hotel and at a price that may have received better service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Starting with the positives, the breakfast was good and the hotel is right in the centre of Villach. Otherwise this most certainly is not a "Romantik Post" and we wouldn't recommend staying here.

The reception staff were rude and incompetent and seriously in need of customer service training. Our room was not ready on arrival after a long train journey as part of an Inghams tour of Austria. There was no apology - we were just asked when we'd been told to arrive and then told to have drink in the bar and the room would be ready in 15 minutes...45 mins later we asked again at reception, were given a key, but not shown to our room and charged for the drinks we hadn't wanted in the first place!

We asked later for extra pillows and were questioned when we needed them by! In surprise we said 10pm... at 10.15pm we had to call down to chase for them.

Our room was fairly basic, with no safe, nor fridge - a cupboard where one or other perhaps should have been just had a couple of plastic cups in it?!

There were two lifts, one we understood to be a service lift but this not clear? The stairs near lift were roped off and a notice advised to enter at your own peril. We didn't find an alternative staircase and there was no fire safety notice on room door. The rug in main reception was a trip hazard too.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of an Inghams railway holiday. The hotel is 600 years old and looks it in parts.
The reception area was nicely furnished but our room resembled a dormitory. It was small and sparsely furnished. The corridor leading up to it was resembled a prison corridor.
Breakfast was average..

Room Tip: Get a room upgrade. Judging by the photos there were better rooms on the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Villach
Holiday Inn Villach
#1 of 19 in Villach
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
#3 of 19 in Villach
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#6 of 19 in Villach
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#8 of 19 in Villach
101 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ferienhotel Schonruh
Ferienhotel Schonruh
#7 of 19 in Villach
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Seestuben
Hotel Seestuben
#9 of 19 in Villach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Post

Property: Romantik Hotel Post
Address: Hauptplatz 26 | 9500 Villach, Villach 9500, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Villach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Villach
#4 Family Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Hotel Post is a historical building built around the year 1500 with splendid cross vaulta and a Renassaince facade. It is located in the centre of the pedestrian zone and therefore ideal starting point for private and business travellers. The hotel has 63 rooms On the 3rd floor - above the rooftops of Villach - a wellness area with the following equipment is at your disposal. The hotel has 63 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Romantik Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Villach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing