We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

You get what you pay for

I had very serious reservations about booking a room in this hotel, based mainly on the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Initial concerns were raised even higher when I tried to make a booking online using the hotels own website. The booking went through fine, but it never asked for credit card details (how was the booking secured??) and I didn't get a confirmation email.

The following day I rang the hotel to ensure the booking was made, because I didn't want to find out that I didn't have a reservation, having travelled so far. But the receptionist confirmed the room was booked (phew) and I gave her my credit card details as confirmation from my end.

Fast forward to trip...

I stayed in the Hotel City for 9 nights in June, during a period where Villach was experiencing it's hottest weather in 10 years (35 degrees celsius). I had read reviews about how hot the rooms were, so was very apprehensive. 

I travelled to Villach from Munich on the train so after a long, hot journey, I was pretty over heated and uncomfortable. I knew the hotel was beside the train station and often this means it's going to be in a less than salubrious area, but to be honest it was fine. Clean, quiet and thankfully a stones throw from the train station. So no need for a taxi or a long walk with baggage.

Check in was fine (polite and friendly) but a bit strange again in that they didn't take a swipe (preauthorise) of my credit card and never asked for ID.  Regardless, it was a quick painless checkin and I was shown to the lift.

As I was staying for an extended period, I reserved one of their superior double rooms and after a long, hot train journey (5 hours), I'm so glad I did. The room is up there amongst the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.

Clean, modern, lots of space and bright, with floor to ceiling windows running the whole length of the room. The bathroom was spotless and modern with a whirlpool/jacuzzi bath and a separate stand in power shower with more jets, lights, buttons and colours than I could figure out how to use.

The room was fresh smelling and had air conditioning, which was a blessing. Ok, so the room is more expensive than the standard rooms, but you get what you pay for. There was a sofa, so no need to sit on the bed, a desk/workspace, flat screen TV with limited English channels and free wifi which worked fine (although was slow at times).

To be honest, I have no real complaints about the hotel room at all. OK, so there was no iron in the room, which meant collecting it at reception (small nit pick), but that's about the only problem.

The major problem with the hotel is that it does not have a restaurant or bar. So no drinks or dinners in the evening, you have to go out (city centre is a short 5 minute walk). A pretty wide selection for breakfast (continental) is available and was good each day, so at least you can start the day on a full stomach.

I'd dread to think of how bad my stay could have been if I was cooped up in one of their smaller rooms, with no air conditioning and no where else to spend time in the hotel bar your room. But having invested that little bit more, my room was truly an oasis from the heat and a very comfortable place to be each evening after work.

Would I recommend? Absolutely.... but go for a superior room.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ciaranwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Hotel City guest! Thank you very much for this good statement! The Hotel City team is very , very happy about these good words. We are looking forward to welcom you again and wish all the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    61
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
42
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed here several times, and found it a good place to stay, the staff friendly and helpful, the only negatives being somewhat small bathroom and the WiLAN access not working with my smartphone... Very nice breakfast room staff during my stays.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lohikarhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Hotel City guest "Lohikarhu": Thank you so much for your positive words - we are glad that you felt warm and welcome and that you will do so in future. About the bathrooms please just ask at the reception the next time you check in - we will try our best to provide you a room with a bigger one, which we definitely have. Our WiFi-Station is in a renewing-phase, we hope that next time you come your phone will be working as well. Have a nice time and see you soon in Hotel City in Villach, Karin Strickner and the Hotel City Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed a night during the 2011 Easter holidays. All 6 in the group had only good things to say about the hotel. Great location, just across from the train station and a taxi rank just in front. A hearty Breakfast was included in the price.

The hotel is also a pleasant 10 minute walk into the old town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardong61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest!
Better late than never we say thank you for your feedback! Sorry but we only "discovered" it today...
Nice picture in front of our hotel.
We are delighted to welcome you and your friends again in our Hotel City.
We wish you all the best, Karin Strickner and the Hotel City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

In my opinion, this is an expensive hotel and the service provided is nothing special. The single bedrooms have a very small bed. They only provide a breakfast, not lunch or dinners.
However, the workers are very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello Dear Hotel City guest!
Thank you for your review!
Our hotel offers a superb breakfast buffet. Bars and restaurants are just a few minutes' walk away. We offer full and half board for our coach tour groups.
We wish you all the best, your Hotel City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Hotel City is across from the bus stop and train station. If your room faces the street you can rule out getting a good night's sleep. It was hot, but because the street was so noisy, we had to close the windows to try and get some sleep. The room was very small, really just enough room for a twin bed. The carpeting did not smell clean. They squeezed a fold out bed in there to charge us for a double. They had no other rooms available and since there was a festival in town, we had no other hotels to choose from. The only positive comment I can make about the hotel was that the breakfast buffet was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Hotel City guest "justgotravel": Thank you for your comments. We are very very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay for 100%. The time you were here the largest event in Austria was taking place in Villach, as you already wrote. Maybe the next time you come to Villach please inform us before that you would like to have a double room. We now have renovated all rooms - new carpets, soundproof windows, some bigger rooms, tea-coffee-set, LCD-full HD-flatscreen-TVs with 80 channels - radio and TV. Even our breakfast buffet changed and grew - with fresh, regional and seasonal food. We hope that we can welcome you soon in our Hotel City in Villach again and we will do our best to satisfy your individual convenience. Best regards and have a nice time, Karin Strickner and the Hotel City team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We got stuck by train and had to stay here. The man at the counter was unfriendly, rude and very unhelpful. For being one block from the train station he couldn't even tell us when the ticket booth opened. He just kept saying this was no 1 star hotel, but a 4 star hotel should help you find out the local information you need.
Room was dirty. 1-2 bad tv channels. No A/C. Rude rude rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Mr and family Beachy: your assessment really shocked us! Unbelievable what happened to you in the year 2003 in Hotel City. This is not accuseable and definitely NOT how a guest should be treated in a hotel.
What we found out is that the staff who was working in this period was an alcohol addict. We didn't know. Earlier he has been working for us - then he left for two years - and when he came back he already had this disease. When we found it out he was fired immediately. We are very, very sorry about what happened - thank you for confirming what we were suspecting then - unfortunately too late. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this caused. If you could let us know if your address is still the same we can send you a surprise overseas. Just to excuse your bad experience here in Villach.
By the way - we now have some rooms with air condition as well, flat-screen-TVs everywhere with 80 TV- and radio-channels and everything has been renewed.
Maybe, Mr Beachy, you could give us a chance to prove the opposite of our hospitality and come and visit us again.
We are very, very sorry Mr. Beachy and wish you all the best! Karin Strickner and the Hotel City Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2003

My family of four and my father,sister and brother in law stayed at the city hotel.villach.Austria. for 7 days during October 2003. We occupied 3 bedrooms during our stay. All of our rooms were warm,modern and very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was served from 06.30 - 10.00 am A very good selection at breakfast,both hot and cold buffet. All of the staff were very friendly. Villach is a good base to tour southern Austria. The beautifull county of Carinthia. We had several days of warm sunshine and 2 days of snow. We recomend the City Hotel.Villach

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Hotel City guest, thank you so much for your assessment. We really appreciate the time you spent to write about your stay. Our breakfast buffet for example is still "growing". We serve now seasonal and regional products, some directly from the farmers, really loveable. The next time you will stay in Villach we will make sure that everything is enjoyable, clean, warm and welcome again - just as you are/were used to it. There are so many new things in our Hotel City - just as a panoramic lift, a video-controlled garage, new carpets, walls and rooms. Even the breakfast room is new and bigger now. LCD-Full HD flat screen TVs and tea/coffee-sets are in all rooms. We hope that we can welcome you soon here in Villach - Karin Strickner and the Hotel City Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Villach
Holiday Inn Villach
#1 of 19 in Villach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Post
Romantik Hotel Post
#5 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
#4 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
#17 of 19 in Villach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mosser
Hotel Mosser
#10 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#8 of 19 in Villach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Bahnhofplatz 3, Villach 9500, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel City offers:*central and quiet location in the middle of Villach*close to bus and train stations, and autobahn exits*free PARKING right in front of the hotel (based on availability)*ground-level GARAGE at the hotel with security cameras*our BREAKFAST BUFFET will delight you with its freshness, regional specialties, selection, and organic and dietary products *free high-speed Internet (WLAN ) throughout the hotel*special offers for cyclists, bikers, culture buffs, groups, and sportsmen*seminar rooms with complete technology and positive working environment SAUNA – small, personal, exquisite LCD-FULL HD-Flatscreen-TV Access for USB Stick and Laptop, interface HDMI KANGEN WATER - Regenerate your body! alkaline balancing - delicious! The best for our guests! E-Bikes and helmet for rent (in summertime) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Villach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing