We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful straff, nice and clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. The rooms was a bit pricey imho. Weird wifi-solution that demanded that you logged back in every 1000Mb and a max quota of 15Gb. We stayed here for 5 nights during European Bike week at Faaker See.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Inhaber at Hotel City, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Google Translation
Danke sehr, lieber Harley Davidson - Hotel City Gast- dass Sie sich die Mühe für die Bewertung unseres Hauses gemacht haben. Das gratis Internet- w-lan ist problemlos zu bedienen, Sie erhalten den Zutrittscode und loggen ein- nach Beendigung Ihrer Arbeit wieder aus. Dann können Sie die gesamte Zeit Ihres Aufenthaltes das Internet benützen- Der Verbrauch der MB ist beinahe unbeschränkt. Herzlichst Ihr Hotel City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    63
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
42
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was an unplanned stay and made a reservation via booking.com. The Hotel has an excellent location outside the station. Its clean and the staff are great. The hotel lacks a bar or communial area so it really is just for sleeping. Where this hotel excels however is the breakfast. Amazing selection of fruit, cheeses, nuts, seeds, organic juices...you name it. The most comprehensive buffet I have ever come across.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Inhaber at Hotel City, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre so gute Bewertung unseres Hauses. Das Hotel City liegt zentral und Cafes, Restaurants, Bars und Nachtlokale sind in wenigen Gehminuten zu erreichen- Getränkeservice und die Zimmer Minibar gibt es rund um die Uhr. Wir freuen uns schon auf ein Wiedersehen. Ihr Hotel City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel so clean and the staff were ever so friendly couldn't do enough for us upgraded us to a bigger room .I would give it a 4star rating so handy to the station would stay here again thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyb817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Inhaber at Hotel City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello to Australia, dear guests. Thank you for the nice praise - you pleased our day! best regards from Hotel City Villach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Best part of the City Hotel in Villach was the outstanding breakfast! They went out of their way to be helpful plus marked the various juices, jams, in English. Sautéed vegetables, fresh vegetables, a wide assortment of everything; bread, meats, juices, fresh and dried fruits. It was located right across from the train station and had an elevator to assist with luggage. The room was quite nice, but VERY small. Great wifi in the room and a terminal in the lobby. Friendly front desk staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LuRhe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für Ihre so gute Bewertung ! Bitte beim nächsten Besuch unsere größeren Zimmer "ansehen" oder/und buchen. Auf ein Wiedersehen im Hotel City freuen wir uns sehr!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I didn't plan to stay in this town at all, but it was late at night, snowing too much, i was exhausted... so I decided to stop in next town and i booked the first hotel i found using my phone.

Hotel is located in small town called Villach which is near the border of Austria with Italy and Slovenia.

I requested a single room. It was not large, but it was clean and well kept. Single bed was on one side, and sofa/bed on the other, with small table in the middle next to the window. There was a large flat-screen plasma TV in the room, but it was placed in such a way that you could watch it from the sofa, but not so easily from the bed.
Room also had a minibar with a usual selection of water/coke/juice/beer/snacks. On top of minibar was a cooker with complementary tea and instant coffee.

Bathroom was clean and equipped with a shower cabin. Everything was in good working order.

I was in room 304. As you can see from attached picture, most of the rooms on this floor are exactly the same, while rooms 303, 311, and 312 seem to be a bit larger.

Breakfast was ok.
Service at the front desk was ok.
Price was ok.
Parking in front of the hotel was free.
WiFi was free.

I wouldn't give it 4 stars, but altogether it is an ok place.

Room Tip: If you care about the view, choose the room looking towards the train station. If you are lite sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkovicMilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Markovic,

haben Sie vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für die Bewertung genommen haben.
Wir haben verschiedene Zimmerkategorien von Einzelzimmer economy bis klassik und superior.
Vielleicht möchten Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt einmal eine andere Kategorie buchen.

Wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen.
Mit herzlichen Grüßen Ihr Hotel City Team
Karin Strickner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The only reason we stayed here was because it was the closest hotel to the train and we didn't have to take a taxi. Our only other option was to sleep on the over night train to Trieste. While the room was clean - it was small and the bathroom was beyond small! They claim to be 4 star but there were no amenities to speak of. The front desk staff seemed to be so busy with themselves, never once did we feel we were guests - more like intruders! As far as I can tell this is a transit hotel and no one would come here otherwise.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Geschäftsführer at Hotel City, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear family, thank you for taking time to leave a review.
With this you helped us and we want to apologize. It is unusual that guests are not treated well and friendly in our hotel and we are so very very sorry that you did not feel comfortable.
If that in the case perhaps our colleagues were busy with our new hotel program and the software staff. For this behaviour is not a justification because in our hotel the most important are the guests. Please forgive us and thank you, for telling us. It will not happen again.
We hope you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and please accept our apologies.
We wish you all the best,
Your repentant Hotel City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was my second stay in Hotel City and comes pretty much exactly a year to the day since my previous stay. Nothing at all has changed - which is a good thing. Down to me even having the same room as last time. Yes, once again I opted for one of their executive rooms, which are worth the extra money - lots of space, lots of light and air conditioning (a necessity for Villach in June).

Hotel provides almost everything you need. Comfortable/clean/bright/modern rooms, free wifi, polite professional staff and a good breakfast to start the day off on the right foot.

All that is missing is a bar/restaurant for the evenings - the lack of one is an inconvenience because it means you have to either leave the hotel or sit in your room.

All in all, another pleasant stay

Room Tip: Definitely choose an executive room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaranwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel City, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear guests- thank you very much for this "super" statement for our hotel and its employers- we are very happy and looking forward to your next stay . Best regards - enjoy your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Villach
Holiday Inn Villach
#1 of 19 in Villach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Post
Romantik Hotel Post
#5 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
#3 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Globo Villach Hotel
Globo Villach Hotel
#17 of 19 in Villach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#9 of 19 in Villach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mosser
Hotel Mosser
#12 of 19 in Villach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Bahnhofplatz 3, Villach 9500, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel City offers:*central and quiet location in the middle of Villach*close to bus and train stations, and autobahn exits*free PARKING right in front of the hotel (based on availability)*ground-level GARAGE at the hotel with security cameras*our BREAKFAST BUFFET will delight you with its freshness, regional specialties, selection, and organic and dietary products *free high-speed Internet (WLAN ) throughout the hotel*special offers for cyclists, bikers, culture buffs, groups, and sportsmen*seminar rooms with complete technology and positive working environment SAUNA – small, personal, exquisite LCD-FULL HD-Flatscreen-TV Access for USB Stick and Laptop, interface HDMI KANGEN WATER - Regenerate your body! alkaline balancing - delicious! The best for our guests! E-Bikes and helmet for rent (in summertime) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Villach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing