We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience in Villach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Villach
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Certificate of Excellence
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in Villach”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

What a contrast to the Holiday Inn in Salzburg. From the moment we entered we felt welcomed - and greatly relieved. Viktoria the receptionist was more than just professional. Throughout our short stay she was friendly, helpful and pleasant; an asset to the hotel. The hotel was in beautiful condition - like new. It was a short and pleasant walk from the station and, just across the nearbye bridge to the old town (an attractive place). Breakfast was excellent if slightly expensive. Our room was attractive with a superb view across the river. It was in great condition and we liked the modern decor.
All in all this was a very pleasant experience - top of the Holiday Inn pile! Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river was very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDonSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    132
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
106
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel may well be the nicest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in. My room was nicely furnished and stylish, the bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby every night with no noise from my neighbors or the hallway. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was excellent and the dining area had a beautiful view of river. The location is just steps from the pedestrian area in the heart of Villach. I am looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stylish hotel and rooms, great breakfast, very clean, very friendly staff, fair prices for a hotel of that category.... simply 5*

They also have a fitness area and spa, but I have never used it. Location is good, only a 5 minutes walk from the city center away. Some rooms have a river-view - especially on a snowy night very recommended!

Room Tip: Room with river-view recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarumNichtHier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Oh No ! Another Holiday Inn, I've stayed in over 100 different ones. BUT,
This one is the best value for money HI by far.. From the efficient and friendly check in. Quality of food. Choice of wine. Ambiance of the restaurant and bars. Location-riverside setting.Fresh breakfast with someone to cook you eggs as you like. More like a boutique hotel. A refreshing change from the vast majority of Holiday Inns. Value for money 110 Euro's inc breakfast. Superb. Stayed 9 April 13.

Room Tip: Ask for riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireGlobalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

During an international work assignment, I lived in the Holiday Inn, Villach for over a month. This hotel exceeded my expectations with its clean and comfortable rooms, friendly service, delicious breakfast, and hospitality. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Villach and my room overlooked the river and quaint Villach town. It was stunning to look outside and see rivers, interesting architecture and a mountain range in the background.

Given my extended stay in the hotel, I was fortunate enough to experience how wonderful the staff is. They did everything: hire a cab for me every morning, handled my laundry, and gave me recommendations around town. They were very pleasant and helpful at all times. I arrived in a cab from Slovenia in the middle of the night. Once I was checked in, I realized I left my work computer in the cab heading back to Slovenia. Due to my jet lag, lack of sleep, and inability to speak German, I was in a full panic. The front desk gentleman calmed me down and miraculously tracked down my cab… I seriously have no idea how he did it (given the cab was from a different country). He refused to accept my tip to thank him for his help. I am forever grateful!

The breakfast at the hotel was something I looked forward to everyday. It was amazing and one of the best breakfast places I have experienced… and it was in a hotel!

The gym had a great variety of clean and new equipment to use. I used the gym facilities everyday and thought it was one of the best hotel gyms I have ever used.

The rooms are clean and modern and comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Villach. It was a wonderful experience and the hotel and staff made my long work trip much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTravelSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Located in the hart of Villach, hotel is modern, refined and comfortable, perfect for a relaxing weekend. Everything is a one minute distance! Spa is clean and very smooth, there are gym and massage too. At the bar you have a large choise of wines and drinks, and you can taste them sitting right in front of the Drava river. Restaurant is pretty good and not that expensive, although city offers several good options.
Wish you a great week end!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGI80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed there for a week, and everything was fine - hotel is fresh, bright coloured, clean and very pleasant. The lady at check in, Beatrix, was very efficient, we were greeted in a professional manner, and she even tried upselling :) When she found out we came for skiing, she mentioned the hotel's discount for ski pass, which was very to the point, and we used the opportunity. We only did not try out the hotel's restaurant so, cannot say anything about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_di_cartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
#3 of 19 in Villach
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Post
Romantik Hotel Post
#5 of 19 in Villach
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#6 of 19 in Villach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globo Villach Hotel
Globo Villach Hotel
#17 of 19 in Villach
170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ferienhotel Schonruh
Ferienhotel Schonruh
#7 of 19 in Villach
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#9 of 19 in Villach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Villach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Villach

Property: Holiday Inn Villach
Address: Europaplatz 2, Villach 9500, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Villach
#2 Family Hotel in Villach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Villach 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new design-hotel the hotel Holiday Inn Villach is the first internatl. businesshotel in the south of Austria. Villach, famous for its Mediterrean flair and its extensive festivals like the carneval Villacher Fasching or the traditional folkloric festival Villacher Kirchtag, is located in the tripoint of the 3 countries Austria, Italy and Slovenia. The area with its many lakes - Faaker See, Ossiacher See or Wörthersee, and mountains provides countless opportunities for sports or cultural events. 10 golf courses within a 10 to 30 min. drive (incl. courses in I/SLO). Famous spots like Triest (1,5h), Ljubjlana (1h) or Venice (2h) are worth a trip! The modern hotel offers high-tech equipment like W-LAN and highspeed internet access in all rooms, flatscreen SAT TV and air condition, aswell as an exclusive vitality club with sauna, sanarium, steambath, gym and massages. Located in the heart of town(major companies like Infineon or SEZ only a few min.away), by the river Drau (jogging), the hotel is the ideal location for business and leisure. It provides 12 conference rooms, all with daylight, air condition and latest technology, for up to 280 people. Furthermore the hotel is directly connected to the congress center of town (up to 2000 delegates).Public underground car parking available directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Villach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Villach Hotel Villach
Villach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing