We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Villach
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Villach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a very convenient location for the train station and less than a five minute walk across the bridge to the charming town center. There are lots of little cafes in the area and a brew pub almost directly across the street. The room was perfect for our needs with very comfortable beds and plenty of hot water for showers. The included buffet breakfast had lots of choices and was more than adequate. The free WiFi was a welcome addition to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    138
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
40
109
35
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

There is little I can say here but that its a great hotel. It's located close to the train station right along the river. The staff service is wonderful and they have a very good breakfast. Rooms are well equipped, but there is no tub. Great hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My Fiance and i stayed here in July for a couple of days as we were attending an event at the Villach Stadion, which was a pleasant walk alongside the river,
Hotel was lovely in a beautiful town. Everything is typically well organised , very good for parking (discounted rate for hotel residents) in underground car park which leads directly into the hotel via lift. At first we couldnt understand where the car park was , but were directed by the vey helpful hotel receptionist - it is right across the road and clearly signposted (was a long flight!).
Hotel is very new, we stayed on executive floor and had a lovely view of the river and the town. Rooms very well appointed and modern design.
Excellent Features - free unlimited wifi in the room, free international calls again unlimited.
Food - Only experienced on one night was very good, and suprisingly cheap. Holiday Inn's in the UK dont tend to offer the best quality of food, but do offer high charges , this is not the case at Villach.
Breakfast - We found a little limited, although there was a fairly large variety of 'continental' items, cooked breakfast seemed to be limited to omlettes . It is worth pointing out that the food was of a high quality and the service friendly. One criticism was that nobody greeted us on arrival at breakfast , and we werent sure whether to find our own seat and sit straight down (which we did on both days).
Hotel has a modern spa and gym area on the ground floor overlooking river, would have liked a whirlpool / jacuzzi , please add this and this area would be perfect.
Location - riverside and 2 minutes walk into the beautiful town centre of Villach.

To Sum up, cant wait to stay there again, would love to visit in winter. Good well organised , modern and clean hotel, with all the facilities you need and very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go for an executive river view room , the view is beautiful and you wont want to shut the curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tris_tris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn locations across the US in my life. Most of the time they are nothing spectacular. However, the Holiday Inn in Villach, Austria is outstanding. Great restaurant, location and rooms with really nice views of the Alps and a wonderful river. Breakfast was excellent and the outside seating next to the river was amazing. The bar is really cool as well as the design of rooms. I was very impressed with my stay. The only bummer was that I only stayed for one night....but I will be sure to arrange another visit and stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Villach, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Mr. Perry!

Thank you for your stay in our house and for your nice review.
We would be glad to welcoming you soon for more than 1 night!
Your René Sulzberger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for one night at a decent price while transferring from train to bus for trip to Venice. Typical Holiday Inn except a few things struck me as quite nice. The front desk staff were very kind and accommodating. Also the gym is really nice. Not just a converted hotel room. Looks out over the river and the equipment was modern and well maintained. Pity the sauna is only open starting from 4:00 PM, so missed that bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

stayed here in mid june 2013. we made a last minute booking and then extended our stay. the hotel sits on the Drau river with great views of the snow capped alps and beautiful old buildings. service here was great and the breakfast had a great selection the rooms were well appointed,clean and we would definetly stay here again. location of this hotel is only 3min walk from rail station and bus station

Room Tip: take time to sit and have drink on the terrace over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René S, Manager at Holiday Inn Villach, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear guests!

In the name of all employees of the Holiday Inn & Congress Center Villach I would like to thank you for staying with us as well as for taking time to leave your impressions on this website.
We are glad if we could make a contribution to your pleasant stay.
I would be very glad to welcoming you again in the Holiday Inn Villach!

Your host
René Sulzberger (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis,Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel was in a good location for seeing a lot of the town of Villach. I was there to visit a friend and this was a great location for doing so. Staff was professional and courteous and the room was clean. Bathroom was a bit awkward if you are sharing the room. The walls of the toilet and shower are made of an opaque glass ,so you need to be pretty comfortable with your traveling partner. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable. Neither I, nor my friend slept very well. The room was also uncomfortably hot and no matter what we did with the a/c it didn't help. View from the room of the river and mountains was beautiful. The breakfast buffet which was included in our rate was outstanding. Everything you could possibly want and more. All in all-a decent stay even with the hard as a rock mattress.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the river and ask to feel the mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank educatedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Villach, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear educatedtravels,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our location, hospitality of our staff and the breakfast were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with your room accommodation. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#6 of 19 in Villach
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Post
Romantik Hotel Post
#5 of 19 in Villach
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
#3 of 19 in Villach
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Globo Villach Hotel
Globo Villach Hotel
#16 of 19 in Villach
173 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ferienhotel Schonruh
Ferienhotel Schonruh
#7 of 19 in Villach
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kramer Hotel
Kramer Hotel
#9 of 19 in Villach
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Villach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Villach

Property: Holiday Inn Villach
Address: Europaplatz 2, Villach 9500, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Villach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Villach
#2 Family Hotel in Villach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Villach 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As new design-hotel the hotel Holiday Inn Villach is the first internatl. businesshotel in the south of Austria. Villach, famous for its Mediterrean flair and its extensive festivals like the carneval Villacher Fasching or the traditional folkloric festival Villacher Kirchtag, is located in the tripoint of the 3 countries Austria, Italy and Slovenia. The area with its many lakes - Faaker See, Ossiacher See or Wörthersee, and mountains provides countless opportunities for sports or cultural events. 10 golf courses within a 10 to 30 min. drive (incl. courses in I/SLO). Famous spots like Triest (1,5h), Ljubjlana (1h) or Venice (2h) are worth a trip! The modern hotel offers high-tech equipment like W-LAN and highspeed internet access in all rooms, flatscreen SAT TV and air condition, aswell as an exclusive vitality club with sauna, sanarium, steambath, gym and massages. Located in the heart of town(major companies like Infineon or SEZ only a few min.away), by the river Drau (jogging), the hotel is the ideal location for business and leisure. It provides 12 conference rooms, all with daylight, air condition and latest technology, for up to 280 people. Furthermore the hotel is directly connected to the congress center of town (up to 2000 delegates).Public underground car parking available directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Villach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Villach Hotel Villach
Villach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing