We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, ski right into the boot room!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Reviewed 6 January 2012

(Jan 2009)This is a lovely hotel, with great food and ski facilities! There was a mix up with tables for our evening meal which was not remedied throughout the holiday. 2 goups were going to one table every night, and neither group had a properly assigned table for the duration of the holiday, causing much arguing and confusion. also, a young guy in the ski bar was completely ignorant. We were a group of 5 people having a beer, and when we ordered 5 more, the guy simply refilled the 5 glasses, and gave the same glasses back to different people, wwhich was pretty gross! We just walked out and left the beers. Otherwise, a great place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marchelle2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

We took a half board arrangement as we were staying with their sister Aparthotel Gammspitzl. We had arranged this in advance through Inghams as we felt it was an easier option and paid £18 each for a 4 course meal (soup, salad, main, dessert or cheese). The soups were OK, as was the salad bar, but the mains (2 were inedible) and the deserts (lacked flavour) were poor. Cheese board was good on some nights.

They seated us in the Pizza restaurant and there pizza and pasta dishes did look good (a hundred times better than the food we were given). I would not recommend committing to half board at the hotel. The Hotel Haus Barbara (2 mins walk) served excellent food and the service was great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GerrardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We stayed at Tauernkoenig over half term and had a wonderful time. We had a problem with our rooms on arrival due to Thomsons, but the hotel staff sorted it out quickly. Overall we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful with a large variety of dishes and an excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms were basic but very clean and spacious, housekeeping was excellent. The bar was smoky but they were more than happy for us to sit in the pizza restaurant area after eating. We recommend the Austrian house wine - very good and a great price. It was a trek uphill to the main street, but we weren't looking for nightlife so it wasn't a problem. We did take a taxi one evening and this was easy and cheap. The location for skiing was excellent with easy access to 3 lifts from across the road, but be careful if booking ski schools because some start from the main area of the town and involve a long walk or bus/taxi ride. We loved the ski runs, the mountain restaurants, the snow - in fact everything about Obertauern!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We wanted to go to Obertauern for 3 reasons; 1) Short transfer from Salzburg, 2) Snow Sure 3) Ski In to Hotels. All of these worked perfectly. The Hotel Tauernkonig is in a great location for skiing, right beside 3 lifts, the Sonnenlift, Grunwaldkopf and the Zehnerkar gondola. You can ski back to the hotel on a Blue slope which is great for a all levels. We loved Obertauern, great resort. The hotel is basic but clean and nice. It is lacking in facilities though, there is a basic bar and restaurant, along with an apres ski hut and pizza restaurant. There is no nice lounge to relax in. The main bar is tiny and basically is in the hall of the hotel and is extremely smokey. The food is ok - good overall for starters and deserts and just ok for mains. The hotel is a good 12 Minute walk uphill to the main village so be prepared for that! Bring good walking boots as it's often very snowy too. Overall, a good skiers hotel but basic.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigitta70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Erdmann19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
Tauernhaus Wisenegg
#26 of 35 in Obertauern
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#12 of 35 in Obertauern
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#14 of 35 in Obertauern
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Gamsspitzl
Aparthotel Gamsspitzl
#31 of 35 in Obertauern
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#9 of 35 in Obertauern
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig

Address: Roemerstrasse 15, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Price Range: £134 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpenhotel Tauernkoenig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing