We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
13
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
13
3
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Although a little retro in style, the hotel is in a great location, with very attentive staff. We had a roomy suite with beautiful mountain views.
We were able to get a change of bedding straight away as my son is allergic to feathers. The restaurant staff were friendly, especially Angie, and Alex in the bar. The amenities are great such as spa area with a large pool, and the pool and table tennis rooms especially useful for our two families with 4 children.
We would definitely go back to the Montana.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Magda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

The best thing about the hotel is its location: directly at the ski runs so you can put on your skis outside the hotel and ski down to the lift. When returning, you ski directly to the hotel back entrance. Great!
I also appreciated an indoor parking space underneath the hotel--comes quite handy when it is snowing a lot (which happens occasionally in Obertauern).
Everything else is more or less average: the rooms are not too small and clean, although they feel somehow outdated.The Spa is a little too small for a rather large hotel but you finde everything you expect (sauna, steam, small indoor pool).
The dinning hall is huge and feels also a little bit like back in the 80's, food is good and the chef delivers excellent quality.
The service is friendly but sometimes overstrained, esp. when the hotel is fully booked.
Putting everything together I'd probably come back to Hotel Montana--although there are better hotels in Obertauern.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olaf Hamburg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Great location, excellent meal, friendly staff..there was a wide range of food, big spa with beautiful view to slope...
Rooms were quite big and really clean.
we cannot complain about anything. Absolutely fantastic holiday :)

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Me and my family we already go to this hotel for more than 10 years.
Now it was taken over by the daughter and her husband and nothing is like before.
The people are unfriendly and the service is bad.
We booked a non-smoker room and it really smelled of smoke -> nothing was done by the hotel crew.
The food was not good and there was no special food for children at all.

Everything is really old and the daughter and her husband do not invest in new things, therefore it looks the worse for wear.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvi-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Arrived Wed 2/01/13 to Wed 9/01/13
Travelled as two family’s 4 adults 4 children ages 13/9/9/4.5.
Booked direct and flew BA to Salzburg.

It was a choice between this hotel and the Riegel Royal. The deciding factors before we went where, it was ski in ski out and the rooms offered where suites. It was also 500.00 pounds cheaper but this was not the deciding factor.

I think firstly the outstanding thing about this hotel is the ski in ski out. You literally walk out of the boot room and put your ski’s on and ski down to the lift. Its easy to ski right back to the same point from anywhere on the mountain. Ideal with children.

The hotel is 4* and lives up to its reputation. All facilities are their including large spa area with large pool ideal for children.
We had a suite (2 adults 2 children), which consisted of entrance hall with bathroom and toilet off. Two very large bedrooms. Plenty of storage. Our room was 222 and faced the rear towards the pistes. No balcony but no shame about that. We where offered one two day later but decided to stay were we where.

Breakfast was great all you could want. Evening meal was four courses and whilst not fine dinning at its best there was nothing you could complain about.
Restaurant is large and looks over the slopes. Whilst we where there it was only half full at most during meal times.

There is an arcade area, which again is fantastic for the children. Pool table, tennis table and a few machines.
Bar area is pleasant but a little stuffy. Lots of smokers in this area which was not uncommon to see in the rest of the resort.

Only gripes are beds are hard (nothing new there) and if I was the manager I’d stop smoking in the bar area, he would get more people using it. It was quite obvious that only the smokers used it and no one else.

Skiing. Our group was mixed ability from beginner’s to expert. It was pretty much perfect. My daughter who has only skied once before could ski down to the lift unaided and ski back down to the hotel on a nice blue run.
The weather was cloudy and snowy whilst there so limited long adventures. On the last day the weather cleared so we could see the whole valley. I think it may be a bit limited for people who want to ski miles and miles without doing the same run.

Ski School Frui Holli : Again ideal location right outside front door of the hotel.
Very little English there whilst we where there. Our children were the only English in the ski school but this didn’t seam to upset them.

To sum up this is a 4* hotel ideally suited to family’s and large groups.
I express its not a 4* Superior and lacks the little finesses you might expect from such.
Easy transfer from Salzburg 1 hour. Snow sure resort. I have been to many resorts and I may contemplate returning here next year.
Cost 2700 Euro half board for 2 adults 2 children (hotel only).

Feel free to contact if any questions.

Room Tip: To the rear as they face the slopes. Rooms with balconies are to the side (not bad) and to the front facing the road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iforgothowgoodiwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews