We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything What We Expected, Even More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Obertauern
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Everything What We Expected, Even More”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Except for the very booking process, everything else was superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just came back from a week at the Kohlmayr with my husband & 3 children. Very good food throughout, omelette/egg counter at breakfast + smoked salmon, soft & hard cheese, roast beef, fruit salad, fresh fruit, different speciality breads each day, croissants, pastries etc. About 8 different juices, again varying each day.

Rooms simple but comfortable, we had a KomfortAppartment which was a 2 bedroom suite with 2 separate single sofa beds in the sitting room, ideal for a family with teenage children.

Pool area large & spacious, good jacuzzi & spa area.

Boot & ski room easy to access from outside, no steps. In house ski etc hire available. Also sells goggles, hats, gloves. Larger shop v close.

Dinner v good each night, 5 courses apart from gala night, 8 courses. Children's menu available. Vegetarian, fish & meat main course choice each night apart from Gala. Self service soft drinks included with dinner - you choose a carafe size, fill it & take back to your table so no waiting for more water or children's drinks.

Substantial après ski snack. Savory, salads and cakes each day. Unlimited tea, hot chocolate & soft drinks.

Staff very friendly & helpful, chambermaid brought robes to fit each child on first day.

Only showergel/shampoo & small bars of soap as toiletries together with small emergency kit - ear buds, shower cap.

We had a great time & would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiflippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've stayed here for a number of years and always find the staff very friendly. Food is fantastic and although you may read that this hotel is not in the centre of town, it really isn't that far and to be honest it's a bit of a god send. Spa is great pool huge.......enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4realWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of food, very pleasant and helpful staff and the amenities of the pool, spa, bar etc were great. Well located in the main town, plus free parking is a bonus. Also easy to arrange ski passes, lessons, hire without having to leave the hotel! The rooms are average but otherwise all excellent and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

3rd Time I have stayed here with family, still a very good choice in Obertauern.

+ main positives: Vicinity to the slopes is very good, about 70m walk. Pool area & the food are real plusses. Service is top notch.

- main negatives: Some rooms face noisy (from 6.30am) parking lots/roads. Smokers bar (this is of course a positive if you do like to puff away to others' detriment...)

Good for:

Families with very young children (small kids play-area with TV, but no games or entertainment for 6 - 12 year olds), Couples looking for peace & relaxation (no evening music or activities), Larger groups who entertain themselves or go out in the evenings.

Not great for:

Older childeren, teenagers, people looking for atmosphere & evening socializing, partygoers, Fitness enthousiasts (no fitness facilities, no real 'health' food)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The Kohlmayr has become more upmarket in recent years with regards to the kitchen & catering - if you like upmarket food & drink then this is the place for you (though for authentic Austrian food and the traditional 'Alps-atmosphere' you may want to look elsewhere at the cheaper * * *-star hotels). Having said that price-value of the place is good in comparison to most other 4-star hotels in the area.
Breakfast has decent choice (not for the super health-concious or 'biological' eater though) and enough food untill 10:15. It's basically full board as you get a tasty set afternoon snack/meal between 15:00-17:00 every day.
Big plus: evening meals are almost 5 star hotel quality & lovely views from the restaurant.

Rooms are decent if unspectacular. Very clean though. Tiny TV, non-cooling fridge but good bathroom. For fresh air I'd leave the window open at night if you are on a quiet side of the Hotel...
Beware that quite a lot of rooms look out onto the parking/roadside area at the front (East) and to the North side of the building so light sleepers may well be woken by noise from 6:30am onwards. Ask for a South or West facing room if you can.

No Wifi/internet access as of 2011.
No evening activities or music, so a peacefull hotel.

All in all I'd say you cannot go wrong for the price/value in Obertauern compared to it's competitors.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mightylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Excellent room with great views of the mountains. The beds are a little too hard but we slept well anyway. Good service and excellent dining! Spa facilities, including pool and sauna are nice and we have used it every day after skiing. To get to and from the ski slope, you need only walk 50 m.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki_Tikki_Tavi_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Myself and a few friends have just returned from a trip to Obertauern snowboarding and skiing. We chose this hotel as it appeared to offer good value. The hotel was simply fantastic! Great décor, gastronomic cuisine with lovely spa and pool facilities. Breakfast and dinner were truly a delight and of a very high quality. All included in the fantastic rate! As a regular to Austria (2-3 times a year) this is the best hotel we have stayed in. The hotel and food were first class, but the star of the show in this hotel were the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, the nicest friendliest staff any of us have come across. From helping me with a lift up town a few times to preparing us pack lunches for free as we departed before breakfast. Will be back. What a gem.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyberChild75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertauern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petersbuhel
Hotel Petersbuhel
#8 of 35 in Obertauern
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigele Royal
Hotel Rigele Royal
#15 of 35 in Obertauern
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Appartement & Suiten Hotel Gloecknerin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#14 of 35 in Obertauern
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cinderella
Hotel Cinderella
#10 of 35 in Obertauern
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seekarhaus
Seekarhaus
#3 of 35 in Obertauern
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kohlmayr Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kohlmayr Royal

Property: Hotel Kohlmayr Royal
Address: Ringstrasse 5, Obertauern 5562, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Obertauern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Obertauern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kohlmayr Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kohlmayr Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohlmayr Hotel Obertauern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing